Customer Reviews for

A God Who Hates: The Courageous Woman Who Inflamed the Muslim World Speaks Out Against the Evils of Islam

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cultural Power

Keen awareness of the affects cultural beliefs have on individuals & how the person behaves, moves and interacts within the world. A must read for everyone.

posted by Shakesphere on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A god who hates

Informative and a good read!

posted by 1691846 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Cultural Power

    Keen awareness of the affects cultural beliefs have on individuals & how the person behaves, moves and interacts within the world. A must read for everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Wafa Sultan's Book Provides Insights into Radical Islamic Terrorism

    As we try to wrestle with and understand the recent tragedy at Fort Hood, might I recommend a book that I just completed last night. The title is: "A God Who Hates," authored by a female psychiatrist who was born and raised a Muslim - her name is Wafa Sultan. I devote much of my time to reading about terrorism and those nation-states, organizations, and individuals who commit themselves to supporting and/or carrying out acts of terrorism - particularly the radical Islamic variety - and our efforts to counter it. Of all the books I have read on the subject recently, hers is one of the more enlightening and truthful that I have come across. The book is available at any Barnes and Noble bookstore, online, etc. She was born and raised in Syria, educated as a medical doctor, and emigrated to the United States in 1988. Her book gives reader's an insider's view of the Islamic culture that she was raised in and her professional training as a psychiatrist provides her observations as to why she believes terrorism has been embraced by so many adherents of that culture. She does not downplay the real danger that we are facing from these adherents. She does not engage in political correctness.

    Here is a quote from her book:
    "The Koran says: 'Allah has purchased of the faithful their lives and worldly goods and in return has promised them the Garden. They will fight for His cause, slay and be slain.' (9:111) And so it is the Muslim's objective in war either to kill his enemy or to be killed by him, and he considers himself to have won whichever turns out to be the case. If the Muslim kills the enemy he has won, but if his enemy kills him, the Muslim's victory is even greater, as this action on his enemy's part has served only to allow the Muslim to meet his God all the sooner."

    As you might imagine, she has placed her very life in danger by speaking out as she has. Her book is a story of personal courage in the face of evil. By writing this book, she decided to do something about it.

    "The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it"
    -Albert Einstein

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    Absolutely Amazing

    This provocative memoir is a must read of the year. I couldn't put it down until I had finished. Simply amazing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Wish I could buy this for required reading for all.

    Thank You Wafa for writing this book. Your first hand experience validates your writing. I have already passed on my book and plan to not only buy additional copies, but to email and recommend to my Pastor as well as famiy, friends and acquaintances. I must also recommend the new revised addition by Hal Lindsey's, "The Everlasting Hatred,The Roots of Jihad", (just released) which gives deep historical understanding why the Muslims want to build a mosque by ground zero. It traces the history, from the beginning. The most significant thing Wafa says in the last couple of chapters is that there is a difference between what the Arab version of Islam reads compared to the West's interpretation, which is why everyone should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    The God Who Hates

    I found this book to be extremely enlightening. It is very difficult for the Western mind to wrap itself around the philosophy found in Arabic Islam. This book clearly paints the picture of the thought process and its ramafications. It is fascinating, sad and unsettling but very informative and I think all of Western thought should read this book. I also feel that Wafa Sultan is a very brave woman and I wish her well and that the good Lord would protect her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1