Customer Reviews for

The God of Animals

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I loved it

My Latin teacher recommended this book to me, and I finally read it this summer. I wasn't sure about how much I would like it, but I figured he knows a good book when he reads one. It turns out, he definitely does. I never wanted to put it down. It is not a thri...
My Latin teacher recommended this book to me, and I finally read it this summer. I wasn't sure about how much I would like it, but I figured he knows a good book when he reads one. It turns out, he definitely does. I never wanted to put it down. It is not a thriller, but the story still keeps you hooked without needing a whole lot of twisting action shoot em up plot. I loved the authors style of writing. I can't believe it is her first book. This book is mainly about the relationships between people, not just horses and people, but I am a rider and I loved how she brought horses into the story. It is a thought provoking read that basically everyone over the age of about 12 or so (depending on how mature they are) would love.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sad, sad, sad

I have raised, ridden, and shown horses all my life, and I have read many books and articles about them over the years. Never have I read so much garbage and mis-information in one book. The author may know a lot about writing and her choice of location, but she knows ...
I have raised, ridden, and shown horses all my life, and I have read many books and articles about them over the years. Never have I read so much garbage and mis-information in one book. The author may know a lot about writing and her choice of location, but she knows very little about horses. I am sure she was trying to make a point regarding love, loss, etc., but she really should get her facts straight. I would not recommend this book to anyone, especially a horseperson. It would make them sick, and they would think the writer totally clueless.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    I loved it

    My Latin teacher recommended this book to me, and I finally read it this summer. I wasn't sure about how much I would like it, but I figured he knows a good book when he reads one. It turns out, he definitely does. I never wanted to put it down. It is not a thriller, but the story still keeps you hooked without needing a whole lot of twisting action shoot em up plot. I loved the authors style of writing. I can't believe it is her first book. This book is mainly about the relationships between people, not just horses and people, but I am a rider and I loved how she brought horses into the story. It is a thought provoking read that basically everyone over the age of about 12 or so (depending on how mature they are) would love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    One of the most original, well-crafted stories I have read in decades!

    I was drawn into this story immediately and could barely put it down.
    Shed some tears and will read it again.

    This author has a NEW BOOK due in April 2010. I can hardly wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Haunting

    From the blub on the dust jacket I expected to like this book. What I didn't expect was to absolutely love it and not be able to put it down. No, it's not a 'feel good' book, but I was mesmerized nonetheless. The story is often bleak, and at times even cruel, but it felt like a very authentic picture of the world of horse ranching in a small town in Colorado, something I was interested to learn about. The world of horse ranching the book depicts is in no way romantic. The horses are not pets, they are commodities. And their needs always take second place to those of the ranchers, even in heart-wrenching ways. The characters in the story are real people...complete with real flaws. They hurt each other unintentionally--and occasionally purposefully--while they nurse their wounds, both fresh and deep-seated, mainly in private. Aryn Kyle is a very talented writer and her ability to reveal dark truths slowly, almost begrudgingly, was amazing. Key plot elements are left unsaid until they absolutely must emerge, almost of their own sheer magnitude. Her timing, in a word, is impeccable. And yet, for all of that, the book also has several moments of sheer beauty and tenderness. The characters are not evil, only flawed, and they are still very human, with the very human capacity to seek and give genuine love and compassion. The world of horse ranching, like life in general, may be a rocky road, but from time to time the path does cross smooth, level ground. And the thorns growing along the path do produce some wonderful roses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    How you will know you like this book ( 5 easy steps)

    1. Look at all rewies 2.Think about the book 3.get the sample 4.read it 5.if you like it buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Cu Susan lick

    Very cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I have not read a debut novel as amazing as this one. Aryn Kyle is amazing with words. She paints the picture so clearly that one feels like they were looking on from the rafters. I could not put this book down. She made an ordinary coming of age story into so much more! Much much more! I hope she continues to write. This book deserves awards!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Enjoyed This Book

    Yes, it's a bit dark and depressing but it was about real life. If you have a dark and depressing life, I don't recommend you read this book! The author is so right on about the young girls and their love of horses and the middle-aged women trying to be or do something in the horse world before it's too late. This was a book I found myself taking wherever I went to read it any chance I got!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Could not put this one down

    A beautifully written and poignant piece. As a lover of horses and competition I found it true and a bit heartbreaking as can be in reality. The characters were vivid. This would make a great film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    The writer has truly captured the voice of 6th grader Alice Winston. The reader is completely immersed in the often heartbreaking world of this little girl as she introduces us to her world - her family and their lives on a horse ranch. Rates right up there with 'A Tree Grows in Brooklyn' in its ability to capture the moving voice of a troubled child. Fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    The book was wonderful

    This book was wonderful i couldn't put it down it made be cry and laugh and put me in good moods and bad ones i am 13 years old but i do not recomend the book to my age more for teens and audlts, I love to read and again i thought this book was wonderful! :'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    A sensitive, touching tale

    I loved this book -- and am grateful to B&N for discovering this author as she has a real a talent. At poignant and at time brutal story, her sense of character and story line are lyric. This is not a book about horses and ranching -- it is a book about love, life and loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    I LOVE animals

    This book was just the answer to my love for animals...no other book outlined it so clearly! Way to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Not Just For Horse Lovers!

    What a wonderful book..I couldn't put it down. The author describes the farm and characters so vivdly. I could picture every character and details of the stables. I look forward to more books by Aryn Kyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Highly recommended!

    Everyone has that special shortlist of novels that they consider their favorites. They're not just good books or enjoyable reads, they are the BEST books--the ones you can't stop reading whilst also dreading that you are going to reach the last page. The ones you recommend again and again. THE GOD OF ANIMALS is now on my list. Set in present-day Colorado and featuring some of the truest characters I've read in a long time, this novel is full of subtly powerful scenes. I should have been working (and later sleeping) but I just couldn't stop reading. Aryn Kyle is an extraordinarly gifted and perceptive writer and storyteller, and I loved every word of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Although not the most challenging read, thought this was a great story. Enjoyed the characters, could visualize the farm, situations, etc. I laughed, I cried, I loved that the title fit so well with the story, but in a subtle way. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1