Customer Reviews for

The God of Small Things

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Raising children in a changing India

This book is skillfully written showing how difficult life can become for children and their parents when traditions and familiar things are changed forever as the influence of a great nation brings its own forms of education and traditions to bear on another great but ...
This book is skillfully written showing how difficult life can become for children and their parents when traditions and familiar things are changed forever as the influence of a great nation brings its own forms of education and traditions to bear on another great but politically weaker nation. The needs of the young and helpless must not be overlooked and dealt with harshly and indifferently in these circumstances, as the authoress cleverly and clearly portrays.

posted by SandyID on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

Wasnt too crazy about this read. While the stucture is widely praised I found it to be quite confusing and distracted me from the story by needing to figure iut if it was past and present. There were also a few plot lines that went underdevoped and unresolved. I know...
Wasnt too crazy about this read. While the stucture is widely praised I found it to be quite confusing and distracted me from the story by needing to figure iut if it was past and present. There were also a few plot lines that went underdevoped and unresolved. I know this is a successful book but I was left underwhelmed

posted by Qui0330 on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Tries Too Hard

    I think Roy had an interesting plot, but while I thought her prose to be beautiful at first, soon became tiresome and dull. By the time I finished it, I genuinely hated this book. She tries too hard to make the book 'deep' by using a poetic style, and it just comes of forced and trite. I also disliked all the characters and had a hard time caring what happened to any of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    One of the few books I've reread more than twice

    Read this book! You will fall in love! I am an avid reader and rarely reread books. But this book is haunting in its beauty and at least once every year or two, I find myself drawn to read it again. And each time I fall more in love with Arundhati's poetic story telling. This remains my all time favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Touched my soul with her words

    It really doesn't surprise me that so many readers thought this book was awful. In many ways, it was like reading an artistic collage but oh the beauty within the words is indescribable. I found myself reading paragraphs aloud to my husband so that he could share in the joy. Touching on real life and not the play acting that passes for life, Roy (who is a she not a he) speaks to the spark of the eternal in all of us and makes us contemplate that for human beings the boundaries, prejudices, beliefs, norms are all self imposed prisons and the bars can and need to be broken open and exposed. I am 67 years old and this is now my favorite book of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    ahh so good....

    its funny because i lived in india for four years from fourth through seventh grade and i lived in the area she talks about. about an hour from kottayam... so its like im living the entire story in a way. because ive experienced almost everything that she talks about. and the words i understand the words! but apart from that connection, its a really moving book and it gives you a LOT to think about...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is one of those rare books that grows and obtains new nuances every time it is pondered. I fell in love with the characters and felt their emotions along with them. Breathtaking is the only word I can use to describe it. The manner in which a single event shapes the lives of the characters is astounding. The writing style is endearing and made me fall in love with the characters on a much deeper level. The ending made me weep with sadness and awe at the beauty of all of it. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to read a thought-provoking and poignant novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Painful to Read

    I am not intellectual enough to appreciate the confusion the author deliberately creates with this book, nor am I artistic enough to stop myself from cringing at her abuse of the English language.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    Babs, an avid reader

    I just couldn't follow this book. I was unable to get the names of the people in my head which made the reading difficult. There were too many foreign phrases that I couldn't figure out. All in all I found it impossible to follow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    Didn't meet my expectations

    I thought Arundhati Roy was supposed to be good but this book really is making me think again. The book has so many different characters, the story keeps going back and forth that its so hard to keep track. I don't think I will finish reading this book - it's just not what I had expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    The detail and nuances of this novel are amazing. If you want a deep, rich, symbol-laden text, look no futher. This is IT. On the surface this book is enjoyable to read because the words and quirks Roy creates the characters' worlds with are beautiful and endearing. On a significantly deeper level, this book becomes even more amazing. Descriptions are lush with symbolism and yet beautiful and read-able. An absolute joy. The narration is pieced and switches between two time periods in the same set of characters' lives. Some people may not like this because yes, it may be a bit confusing, but there is a reason to all the madness. Roy forces the reader to piece it all together by hinting here and there. You've got to read it all to understand. And read it diligently. Overall, this book is just an absolute gem. Just right. Very satisfying read. Inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Absolutely Amazing!!!

    This has become one of my favorite books! This is a novel with incredible imagery and I could see the characters right before my eyes. Full-bodied descriptions force the reader to slow down to the pace of the small-town setting. I plan on re-reading it and have told my friends about it. This book is a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    Not good

    I couldn't get into this at all - after about 80 pages I turned to the reviews here to see if I was in good company. It's an original writing style, all right -- but not a good one, per se. I'm glad I put it down when I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Excellent!

    I thought this book was phenomenal. It was beautifully told and the imagery was amazing. Her way of writing may not be conventional and she seems to spiral into the heart of the story instead of the traditional beginning, middle, and end format, but I never lost the central meaning of the story. This book was almost poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    i thought it was just me...

    I was half way through the book, and it took me only 3 weeks. I usually cant put down a book when i start it, but i actually had problems PICKN IT UP. i thought it was just me, but after reading the reviews, i noticed it was a shared optinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Amazing

    I'm shocked that this book got so may poor reviews! I read this years ago, and it's still on my bookshelf. I thought the atmosphere Roy set up was beautiful and cozy. Yes, it took me about a chapter or so to get used to the writing style, but it was well worth my time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Can't believe I finished it!

    This is one of the worst books I've ever read, and having majored in English Lit and being in numerous book clubs, believe me, I've read quite a few books. To the author's credit, the story finally got good about three pages before it ended. Too late, too bad. Her writing style was hard to follow and thus made the story annoying. A lot of jumping around from the present to the past, without the talent to do so, and too many unanswered questions in the end. I will never read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    It must have been a slow year for the Booker Prize

    Too bad there is no possibilitiy of rating this truly awful book with zero stars. I've read that she didn't have an editor, and it really shows. Although individual sentences might be considered beautiful, the story never goes anywhere. In my bookclub, only two people finished it. The rest gave up. There was no sympathy for the characters and it was very hard to follow. We understand it's some what based on the author's life. Our only hope is that someone else writes her biography! Don't waste your time with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Worst book I've ever read

    This book was terrible. It was a slow and confusing read. Her individual sentences were fragments. Some English profs may be awed at her 'creating a new literary style' but it's really just a regression to pre-school days when children didn't understand the function of punctuation. Also, the pedophile aspect is gross, useless, and contributes NOTHING to the story. Also, she left some loose threads. Why doesn't Estha talk anymore? There has to be a better reason than trauma. And does he start talking again? This was a depressing book. ALso, I'm still not clear as to all the cause and effect relationships. Why did all the trouble start with Sophie Mol?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    So far, nothing compares to this!!

    Absolutely Lovely! Roy's use of words will give you goosebumps. THIS IS the most beautiful story of LOVE ever told. I was literally heartbroken the book ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    STUNNING

    Read this for a psychology/lit. class but it ended up being one of my absolute favorite books. It is intriguing, intelligent and ultimately enlightening. A must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    Absolutely terrible

    Only the hoity-toity avant garde literary critics would like this book. The writing style may be beautiful but I don't see the other reviews mentioning that it includes graphic descriptions of pedophilia. Not worth the investment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8