Customer Reviews for

The God of the Hive (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Delicious.

Deliciously creepy. Seriously delicious. I love several things about Ms. King's style. I love the mix of 1st person (Mary Russell's chapters) and the 3rd (everyone else). I love that the memoirish intimacy of the 1st person chapters does not prevent, but enhances th...
Deliciously creepy. Seriously delicious. I love several things about Ms. King's style. I love the mix of 1st person (Mary Russell's chapters) and the 3rd (everyone else). I love that the memoirish intimacy of the 1st person chapters does not prevent, but enhances the story-telling intimacy of the 3rd person chapters. I love that she introduces new characters that make you sorry that you haven't met them before now. This book, in particular, introduces several intriguing new characters. (Especially one!) I love that her characters are as smart as they are made out to be. Obviously Ms. King is wickedly clever and intelligent herself or her stories and characters couldn't hold up to their promise. I am always a little wary of new entries in a series based at least in part on the partnership/relationship between a pair in which the partners are separated, but as always, Ms. King finds a way. Russell and Holmes find ways to communicate and their enforced separation merely heightens the sense that they are at opposite ends of a gradually stretching rubber band, and when, as must happen, the rubber band snaps back to its regular position in the final chapters of the book, it gives the ending a new snap and energy. As I said, Ms. King is smart, and has heart. Great mystery. A great week for me, teaching teenagers, raising daughters, making dinners, helping neighbors...but going home to a...really. good. read.

posted by Michele-from-Maine on March 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shame on the publishers

The publishers are charging $5 more for the e-book than the member price of the hardback. Another book that I would have once have bought for for the pleasure of reading straight away but now I will either wait for a library copy or spend my time finding an author from ...
The publishers are charging $5 more for the e-book than the member price of the hardback. Another book that I would have once have bought for for the pleasure of reading straight away but now I will either wait for a library copy or spend my time finding an author from a non agency publishing house. These prices have made me realise that my spending on books needed to be reigned in and that I dont get pleasure from reading a book if I feel ripped off by the price.. How does loosing sales (and readers) like this make sense?

posted by Hypatia1 on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Delicious.

    Deliciously creepy. Seriously delicious. I love several things about Ms. King's style. I love the mix of 1st person (Mary Russell's chapters) and the 3rd (everyone else). I love that the memoirish intimacy of the 1st person chapters does not prevent, but enhances the story-telling intimacy of the 3rd person chapters. I love that she introduces new characters that make you sorry that you haven't met them before now. This book, in particular, introduces several intriguing new characters. (Especially one!) I love that her characters are as smart as they are made out to be. Obviously Ms. King is wickedly clever and intelligent herself or her stories and characters couldn't hold up to their promise. I am always a little wary of new entries in a series based at least in part on the partnership/relationship between a pair in which the partners are separated, but as always, Ms. King finds a way. Russell and Holmes find ways to communicate and their enforced separation merely heightens the sense that they are at opposite ends of a gradually stretching rubber band, and when, as must happen, the rubber band snaps back to its regular position in the final chapters of the book, it gives the ending a new snap and energy. As I said, Ms. King is smart, and has heart. Great mystery. A great week for me, teaching teenagers, raising daughters, making dinners, helping neighbors...but going home to a...really. good. read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    God of the Hive: Laurie King Does it Again

    I've read all of Laurie King's novels and await each new one with a combination of anticipation and trepidation. All have enthralled me and the God of the Hive is no exception. Her previous Russell/Holmes novel ended in a cliffhanger which this novel completes. Set post World War I, as are so many contemporary mystery novels, God of the Hive presents us with a remarkable new character, a shell shocked veteran who has metamorphosed into someone very like the Green Man of legend who dances and tootles his way through the grim events as Holmes and Russell are forced to split up each operating alone as they face their most diabolical foe yet. Holmes, Russell and Mycroft must fight for their own lives as those of Holmes' new found son and elfin grandchild. As always the suspense is ladled out in rich literate prose. I am a professor of literature and King is an author that I binge on and recommend to students.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    An exciting finale to this story

    As usual, Laurie R King brings an informative and dramatic ending to her latest tale of Holmes and Russell. I find that Ms King's stories are both exciting and educational and every book brings a different perspective to religious studies, in this case the role that cults may take in our society. Russell, as always, is the strong adventurous woman who is also aware of her weaknesses and Holmes still bears all the characteristics with which we have become familiar through Conan Doyle. I like the way that Mycroft has developed and the relationship that they all have with Lestrade of Scotland Yard.
    As a British citizen, living in the San Francisco Bay area for the past nine years I have found Ms. Kings novels particularly close to my heart and look forward to the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining Russell-Holmes 1920s thriller.

    In 1924, married couple Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes survived the murderous cult that they got involved with as they resolved the mysterious Language of Bees. Both hope the terror is over, but they will soon learn it has just begun.

    Reverend Thomas Brothers believes he can harness psychic energies through human sacrifice. As such he shoots Holmes's son, Damian Adler. With his offspring dying, Holmes' rushes off to Holland for specialized medical care to save the life of his son. At the same time Mary tries to protect her husband's granddaughter Estelle from Brothers and his fanatical cohorts. Nothing seems to go right for either one of the couple as danger is everywhere in England and on the continent.

    This direct sequel to the Language of the Bees is a tense historical suspense thriller in which the couple separated and learns that the sum is greater than the two parts. The story line is fast-paced from start to finish with plenty of danger assaulting the lead couple in their separate subplots. Although each obtains too much help expediting them from on peril after another, The God of the Hive is an entertaining Russell-Holmes 1920s thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Addition To A Fantastic Series

    This book is another amazing Mary Russell series from author Laurie R. King. Each one has a rich plot. Each one takes you deeper into the main characters and each one seems to have been given as much time and care in the research and writing as the previous books in the series.

    I particularly liked learning more about Sherlock's brother Mycroft and his world in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    This author is just well, BRILLIANT

    I am a Mary Russell/Holmes addict for sure. Lauri R. King is so gifted as a writer. This current book did not leave me disappointed. After so many exceptionally good books in this series, you would think it would be difficult for Ms. King to come up with ideas. However, I was gripped from the first chapter. As always, King's descriptive style makes you feel like you are there. Russell and Holmes entertain another adventure that is extremely personal in this book. A lot of their detecting is done separately (physically apart). The introduction of a Puckish character makes this read all the more enigmatic and lends some much-needed humor, at times. Of course, there are some dastardly people that you love to hate. This book is a continuation of her last Russell/Holmes adventure. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2014

    Very good.

    It was so clever of Mycroft to fake his death the way he did to take the pressure off the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    I have not finished it yet but.....

    I really am enjoying this 10 book in the series. It seems to read smoother and is still interesting and suspenseful. If you liked her others, youwill definitely enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Bring on the Next One!

    This was one of the best books in Laurie King's series of Sherlock Holmes. Bring on the next book, and the sooner the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I found this book immensely satisfying! It held my interest from beginning to end. And, the ending was incredible! I love it when endings turn out like that (I hate to give it away, but it tied all aspects of this book and the previous book together: modern society, mythology, crime, ambition, and compassion). Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    More, please!

    Laurie R. King continues to go from strength to strength. To get the full depth and flavor of this second part of what is essentially a two-part work (with "The Language of Bees"), one may have to revisit the previous volume, which only adds to the pleasure. After viewing the silliness that is the recent "Sherlock Holmes" film, I wondered yet again why filmmakers do not attempt these incredibly rich stories and characters instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3