Customer Reviews for

God: The Failed Hypothesis: How Science Shows That God Does Not Exist

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

About to Read....

I have heard so much feedback on this book and I can't wait to finish reading it (I am in the process). I was reading one of the reviews and someone brought up that Darwin's ideas were a theory. I have read everything that Darwin has ever written- every book, every acco...
I have heard so much feedback on this book and I can't wait to finish reading it (I am in the process). I was reading one of the reviews and someone brought up that Darwin's ideas were a theory. I have read everything that Darwin has ever written- every book, every account, every 'theory'. Well, let me tell everyone something, the only reason evolution is still deemed a theory rather than a law (and let me tell you it is a law) is because of the fear of the backlash from the Christian church. What kind of religious institute only survives on fear? What does that say of its followers? And the Bible, I read it and I found it full of myths and children stories. It's sad that people actually worship that book and believe their god to be so immature. Flooding the world because of a few naughty people? Saving the Jews from Egypt? Where is god now? In Darfur, where is god? In the streets of New York, where is god? No where. God, if there every was one, is gone. He ran away or rather, he never was. There are few holes in evolution. The ones that are spoken of are created by Christian fanatics. If you don't believe in evolution, then explain to an AID's patient why their virus keeps evolving to combat every drug known to man. Explain why whales have long finger-like structures in their fins. When a Christian can explain why everything that science and evolution PROOVES is false, then I might give them a second thought. Blind faith is ignorance or the absence of knowledge.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

ALL Bad...

I read the book, but it doesn't change the way I think or feel.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    About to Read....

    I have heard so much feedback on this book and I can't wait to finish reading it (I am in the process). I was reading one of the reviews and someone brought up that Darwin's ideas were a theory. I have read everything that Darwin has ever written- every book, every account, every 'theory'. Well, let me tell everyone something, the only reason evolution is still deemed a theory rather than a law (and let me tell you it is a law) is because of the fear of the backlash from the Christian church. What kind of religious institute only survives on fear? What does that say of its followers? And the Bible, I read it and I found it full of myths and children stories. It's sad that people actually worship that book and believe their god to be so immature. Flooding the world because of a few naughty people? Saving the Jews from Egypt? Where is god now? In Darfur, where is god? In the streets of New York, where is god? No where. God, if there every was one, is gone. He ran away or rather, he never was. There are few holes in evolution. The ones that are spoken of are created by Christian fanatics. If you don't believe in evolution, then explain to an AID's patient why their virus keeps evolving to combat every drug known to man. Explain why whales have long finger-like structures in their fins. When a Christian can explain why everything that science and evolution PROOVES is false, then I might give them a second thought. Blind faith is ignorance or the absence of knowledge.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Excellent!

    A fantastic read and one that may have finally pushed me over the edge from agnostic to atheist. And for the reviewer Jonathen...viruses contain both DNA and RNA and indeed evolve by natural selection, sorry. Can't let propaganda like that get out there without challenging it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    a physicist shows why God doesn't compute

    A very detailed account of the problems with the God concept from the point of view of physics. The fine-tuning argument, in particular, is well explained. A great job of marshalling the evidence of physics.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just bought this book and I haven't even finished it yet so I'm not going to fully commit to it being absolutely fantastic, but so far it's been very enlightening, offering a refreshingly systematic and scientific approach to 'THE' question 'one of many 'answers' offered over centuries by the way, why pick on this author?'. That being said, I just wanted to comment on the idiotic postings against this book. Did you religious 'believers' even read it? Ignorance is only bliss if you admit that you have it... if you arrogantly proclaim to know something that can't be 'proven', you should do some research before you argue against ANY proposed hypothesis or 'answer'. The best way to defend your position is to see the other side of the issue 'did Socrates and Plato teach us nothing?' Try reading a scientifically factual and intelligently written book 'instead of the mythology of the Bible written in a time/society COMPLETELY different then the one we find ourselves in now' THEN 'and ONLY then' will you have any right to even form an opinion about the depth of our lives (our being atheists/agnostics/uncommitted... basically some of the highest intellectuals in history, and in the world today - look it up if you don't believe me).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Excellent book evaluating the God hypothesis

    In his earlier book, Has science found God? American physicist Victor Stenger refuted contentions that science had found God. In this brilliant new book, he completes his case by presenting the scientific arguments against the existence of God. He shows that all proposed supernatural processes are testable, but tests have found no reliable evidence for any `life force¿, `bioenergy¿, Qi, Extra Sensory Perception, prayer or `psychic powers¿. There are no miracles, independently verified, no lives after death and no souls. The lack of evidence for the efficacy of prayer proves that there is not a God who answers prayers. Many believers have put forward scientific arguments for God, based on observation, not authority they have made factual claims about the world, like Archdeacon William Paley¿s argument from design. But the more that scientists discover about nature, the more we see that every natural process can be explained in terms of evolution. Nor is God needed for morality we define values for ourselves. In doing so, we find that the fact of unnecessary suffering is incompatible with the existence of a God who is omniscient, omnipotent and omnibenevolent. Some have argued that science is merely relative, from which they illogically deduce that God is the only reliable absolute. This derives from a misunderstanding of scientific progress. As Stenger writes, ¿the models of Newtonian mechanics were hardly rendered useless by the twin twentieth-century developments of relativity and quantum mechanics. Newtonian physics continue to find major applications in contemporary science and technology. It is still what most students learn in physics classes and what most engineers and others use when they apply physics in their professions. ¿ The conservation principles and Newton¿s laws of motion still appear in relativity and quantum mechanics. Newton¿s law of gravity is still used to calculate the orbits of spacecraft.¿ Science does give us reliable knowledge of the real world and it has found no evidence at all for God¿s existence. Stenger has proven that God is an unnecessary and failed hypothesis. As he writes, ¿A God with no observable effect is indistinguishable from one who is nonexistent.¿ So, there is no God.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    ALL Bad...

    I read the book, but it doesn't change the way I think or feel.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Great

    Great book. I loved reading it because of all the evidence and clearity. God believers- its called a review, dont think you're all powerful because you believe in something. rate the book, not other people's beliefs

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    On Higher Ground

    We must remember that science is the discovering of the world around us,whether it be in the field of biology,physics,astronomy,chemistry,etc.Science and religion truely are not at odds with each other but rather the interpretation of those results.I see [as well as most]the marvels of God's creation all around us.It would be very silly to tell someone that something that has complexity to it[the human cell-the earth itself- a computer]doesn't hsvea designer.The atheist feels that the answer can be found in naturalism-blind chance.This answer in itself is based on faith,for it challenges what we know in science.The theist feels the answer can be found in God-a being above nature.This view also is based on faith ,but is in harmony with common sense.It does indeed take greater faith to believe in atheism than it does theism.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book for rational skeptics.

    Stephen Jay Gould once referred to science and religion as Non-overlapping magisteria (NOMA). However, religious texts make claims about the universe that are subject to the same scrutiny as similar claims for other sources. This book treats those claims the same as any other, subjecting them to rational skepticism. They don't hold up (nor do they for even most religious people, unless we're talking about young earth creationist fundamentalists). Victor Stenger takes it a step further and treats the Judeo-Christian-Islamic god as a hypothesis of how the universe works, and then (through various arguments) sees how that hypothesis holds up when tested (as every good scientist does). His arguments range from logical expressions (for instance, logically deducing that omnipotence is impossible...either god can create a rock he cannot lift or can't create a rock he cannot lift, both options demonstrating omnipotence is impossible), to more practical arguments (the overwhelming lack of evidence that SHOULD be there...where we can take absence of evidence as evidence of absence in the same way we can about other claims, such as the Loch Ness Monster). All of his arguments are well reasoned and well cited. Like other authors have, he brings up the "God of the Gaps" argument used by some to justify their beliefs, and completely defeats it. He doesn't just limit himself to abstract arguments, but shows (dogmatically speaking) the Judeo-Christian-Islamic god most certainly does not exist, but that it is possible for other gods to exist. But that isn't an open invitation to the paranormal, as he shows how any such god must go out of his/her/its way to not be detected, never interfering in the universe, which makes such a deity as good as useless. Basically, the only hope left for any kind of god is given to the deist god. However, even that god is challenged, as Stenger successfully demonstrates how the universe could (and did) come about on its own without any outside creator (by using the laws of thermodynamics, countering the misunderstandings of those laws that have been used to try to prove a god's existence). I was particularly fascinated to find out that the total energy of the universe equals 0 (therefore no violation of the 1st law), and that maximum possibly entropy is increasing (via dark energy) faster than maximum total entropy (meaning the universe started out at total entropy, by the expansion has created more and more room for order, and therefore no violation of the 2nd law). Like the writings of other New Atheists (a term properly described in his other book, appropriately titled "New Atheism"), he is firm in his position, but well reasoned and more than willing (unlike fundamentalists) to being proved wrong. While I find his position appropriately confrontational (he's not going to let logical fallacies off the hook, or give any position automatic deference), he's at all times respectful in the way he goes about it (unless you consider "respect" to be giving equal weight to all arguments, in which case he's not...because not all arguments DO have equal weighting...like with the flat Earthers, for instance. A person is to be respected, but an argument is afforded no such right automatically...it actually has to hold up under scrutiny). Whereas Richard Dawkins is an evolutionary biologist, Stenger is a particle physicist, so he gives a bit of a different perspective on the argument.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Wow....

    It's amazing how ignorant people on both sides of this argument can be. For one thing, viruses don't evolve, they mutate. You can hardly call it evolution the way a virus mutates. Secondly, yes, a lot of intellectuals in history weren't religious, but there have been a lot. Da Vinci and Galileo are among them. You people go too far into the extremes.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    The Limits of Science

    Stenger uses science to his utmost to show only that his ideas about God were probably aquired in Sunday School at an early age and never developed further. Science offers theories that require as much faith as Religon does. The big bang theory, the string theory etc. On the other hand, proven laws of physics such as the 2nd law of Thermodynamics,'energy cannot be created or destroyed, but only changes forms' point to a common substance in the Universe underlying all material things, a common concept of most religions. This book jumps on the recent bandwagon of Atheist books that tries to ignore the wonder of this incredible existence, and the universe we live in that even science cannot explain. Why not just believe, it is God!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    bias propaganda

    Dont bother. Just a guy who refuses to account to a Maker. You cannot disproove a God and there are more tips out there pointing to a God then no God. How much evidence is there for no God:none. I put this in the same catagory as ' The finches beak'. What great storys and lengths well go to to not follow the rules of God.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Stenger Argues ┬┐ The Clothes Have No Emperor┬┐

    Having first read ¿The God Delusion¿ and liking it as much as I did, I really thought that I was going to be disappointed with this book. I didn¿t think that it would be able to measure up to what I had just read. I was wrong. While both books cover many of the same topics, the main differences stem from their fields of study. Dawkins, the evolutionary biologist, spends more time on the evolution versus intelligent design topic while Stenger, the physicist, spends more time on the big bang and quantum mechanics. Although not quite a Carl Sagan, Stenger does more than an admirable job bringing some of the more difficult concepts (Planck time and vacuum energy for instance) to the layperson. Stenger is abundantly clear that the definitions of God for this book are the ones put forth by the three Abrahamitic religions of Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. The argument against any other type of god (the uninvolved observer god for instance) he leaves for another day. This is a wise choice which helps tighten the arguments and focus the book. Even with the emphasis on physics, Stenger still spends enough time on other interesting topics like: the illusion of design, brain science, prayer, the seat of the soul, miracles, order and chaos, beginning and cause, something vs. nothingness, life in the universe, bible prophecy, scripture and science, the origin of morals, good and evil, and living in a godless universe. I found the book to be structured very well. I particularly liked how the notes were at the end of each chapter rather than all together at the end of the book. It made finding the reference much easier while reading. While 1 star often means ¿I don¿t agree with you¿ instead of a poorly written book, I give this book 5 stars for being well written and well argued. The number of ¿agreement stars¿ you want to give it are entirely up to you¿ the reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    What is this???

    I cant believe someone has wrote a book trying to give proof that God doesn't exist. There is no way someone can prove nor disprove that God exists. People point to the theory of evolution. The problem is there are many holes in it. Even Darwin stated that he was not sure if the theory of evolution was completly acurate, maybe thats why it is stll called a theory. But still, why does God have to be completly out of the picture, he can still exist even with the theory of evolution. Sure the universe is big and we probly aren't the only ones out there. God never stated that we were, people did. I also don't see how there could be any order in the universe if everything happened by chance. Try and explain the laws of physics or mathematics. Im only 15 and I respect free speech and the right to believe in God or not. But you can't just dish out one side of the story.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    God? No!

    Billions of the faithful tell us that the omniscient, omnipotent, benevolent god of the Judaic-Christian-Islamic religions designed and created the universe for humans. It defined our moral code, subjects us to a lifetime of testing our faith, and promises our immortality in either heaven or hell. Such sweeping claims about such a mighty creator ought to be testable for their validity. A god that powerful and pervasive ought to leave abundant non-contradictory evidence of its accomplishments, just as a thundering herd of bison stampeding through camp ought to leave hoof prints, tattered tents, and unhappy campers. Finding no such indications, we can conclude beyond a reasonable doubt that no such bison ever ran through. Surely, failure to find the 'hoof prints' of the god, establishes beyond a reasonable doubt the nonexistence of that god. Professor Stenger uses the methods of science to look for those predictable hoof prints. Time after time, he finds that the expected evidence of the posited god does not appear. Earth was not created a few thousand years ago. Animals do evolve without benefit of a designer. Stars are not fixed within a static firmament. Prayers do not heal supplicants. Gratuitous pain and suffering does permeate the benevolent god's creation. The colossal vastness of the universe is punctuated with giant exploding stars and all-consuming black holes separated by light years of frigid emptiness, hardly the optimal creation one would expect for human life. Reality fails to confirm the attributes of the god. Moreover, in Professor Stenger's words, 'The universe and life look exactly as they can be expected to look if there is no God.' The universe looks like the one physicists explain with the Standard Model. Animals evolve according to the natural processes first described by Darwin. Humans devised moral standards without divine inspiration. We can discard the shackles imposed by imaginary gods, and live satisfying and meaningful lives. Buy this book. Read Professor Stenger's disproof of the Judaic-Christian-Islamic god. Disregard superstition.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    I highly recommend this book! The facts are there, and Dr. Steng

    I highly recommend this book! The facts are there, and Dr. Stenger lays them out in a clear, comprehensive fashion. His sources and notes are thoroughly detailed and Stenger is a skilled writer. This is overall a great book! I would also recommend: anything by Richard Dawkins, esp The God Delusion as well as God or Godless by John W Loftus and Randal Rauser.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    How dare this author

    How dare you people toy with God leave these things alone before You put your foot in your mouth Have a nice day.......

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Finally clear reasoning that disproves the existence of an omnipotent god

    From the pont of view of logic, physics, biology and every other discipline that investigates the Universe the existence of a 3Os god (omnipotent, omniscient and omnibenevolent) is easily proved to be impossible. However, for those who have to have a god, no matter what, this book does not deny the possible existence of a god with deficiencies or other limitations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Another great book to be ignored by the wishful thinkers

    This book talks about what is known to humans through the use of thinking and experimentation whether or not their conclusions place us in the center of this Universe. Wishful thinkers refuse to think anything that contradicts their ideas of being the best of what can exist. Wishful thinkers write books like the bible to call themselves the tip of the creation even if they can not tolerate thinking more than a few minutes a day, while the rest of the time they choose to continuosly listen to music, watch TV, or listen to fairy tales to avoid thinking. Unfortunately, if survival is a measure of biological success, according to the lenght of time of their existence on earth microbes and insects have been more succesful than humans. At this time it is still unclear if smarter logic-guided humans or dumber emotions-guided wishful thinkers will survive longer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2