Customer Reviews for

Goddess Interrupted

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

Wonderful series. Of course, it had to end in a cliffhanger because its the second book in a trilogy. Trust me. You will read this book. You will love this book. You will be desperate for the last book to come out, so much that you will stalk the author until its p...
Wonderful series. Of course, it had to end in a cliffhanger because its the second book in a trilogy. Trust me. You will read this book. You will love this book. You will be desperate for the last book to come out, so much that you will stalk the author until its published.

Its a really good book.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

pretty good book

** spoiler alert ** I received an ARC of Goddess Interrupted and was super excited. I had not read Goddess test yet, but I had the book and just hadn’t gotten around to reading it yet. Since I received Goddess Interrupted, I thought I should get reading Goddess Test. I ...
** spoiler alert ** I received an ARC of Goddess Interrupted and was super excited. I had not read Goddess test yet, but I had the book and just hadn’t gotten around to reading it yet. Since I received Goddess Interrupted, I thought I should get reading Goddess Test. I LOVED Goddess Test. I laughed, I cried, I couldn’t put it down. I stayed up to finish it. In the morning I add Goddess Interrupted to my nook and started reading. I was SOOOO excited, then just annoyed. I still cried, a lot, in this book, but by then end of the book I didn’t have a fondness for any of the characters. Diana, Kate’s mom, basically admits Kate was only born as a replacement for her sister, Persephone, and that she was raised to be Henry’s wife. Nice mom, but I guess very goddess like, only caring about herself. Ava- wow such a slut- and the end- wow- slept with everyone but her father and Henry, not kewl at all. But Kate seems ok with it. She’s not mad or upset with Ava, but she is with James. ........ READ MORE OF THIS REVIEW AT MY BLOG: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com .............................. So in conclusion, this book was ok. A TON happened, there was a bunch of action and adventure, but the book has the dreaded no ending, otherwise known as a cliffhanger. I hate these kinds of cliffhangers; you’ll see when you read the book. It just kinda angers me. There is no ending. I really felt like the author just didn’t know what to do, so she left it midsentence. Not kewl. I am not sure this series has much substance to keep going for a long time. They need to wrap up this Calliope/ titans thing like ASAP. It is getting old fast and I really am not sure I like the direction the series is going with this ending. It seems like it could go really bad, and not in a makes a good story kinda way. I can’t say more without giving the ending away. I will read the next book, but if things are still left so open, it may go into the pile of “series I never finished” because they just got really bad. I hope this doesn’t happen, but you never know. For parents and teachers, this book has a large focus on sex so I would consider that before recommending this to younger kids. I would say more like 9th grade through adult. At least in this one it is married sex between Kate and Henry, but that is not the case for all the characters. The story does make cheating on your spouse seem an ok thing to do. It is obviously up to you what you allow your kids to read, I just wanted you to be aware. I received this book as an ARC, but I am not paid to review books. I do so in order to help teachers and parents find books for their kids to read that are appropriate.

Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

posted by mrsinserra1 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My review: Let me rush ahead a little and say, that I liked God

    My review:

    Let me rush ahead a little and say, that I liked Goddess Interrupted much more than the Goddess Test. Goddess Interrupted by Aimée Carter was a very good book and it is a perfect summer read. I enjoyed the characters and I also think that in Goddess Interrupted the author manages to create some similarities with Greek gods.

    Regarding the plot:

    After Kate Winters passes the tests for becoming a queen of the Underworld, it’s time for her to have her 6 months away from Henry. After she returns from Greece she is hoping, that Henry is gladly welcoming her back, but the reality is very different. There are extreme dangers waiting all the gods, because Calliope has been planning a perfect revenge for the fellow gods and goddesses. Calliope has released Cronus, one of the Titans who is seeking his freedom. Cronus was captured by the Greek gods after the war between Titans and Greek gods.

    When Henry and some other gods are imprisoned, Kate is the only one standing up for them. When other remaining people in Eden Manor are convinced that it is a lost cause, she takes action and seeks help from Henry’s ex-wife – Persephone. This is where things get complicated, because Henry hasn’t gotten over Persephone and Kate is struggling with her feeling towards Henry.

    There were lots of things I liked in the plot. First of all, the gods were more god-like in the novel. There are more similarities to the Greek gods and you can easier separate who is which god. There is still a way to go, but as it goes for Ava and James and especially Calliope the similarities are visible.

    I also liked that Persephone was brought into the book; it made the plot more interesting and tense. The relationships between Persephone, Henry and Kate were interesting.

    I think the author should also get praise for describing Kate’s feelings. Even though I did not understand everything about Kate and her actions in this book, I could relate to her.

    There was also enough action and some twists and turns in the book. I think that the author did an excellent job with the end of Goddess Interrupted. Just when you thought that the tension is disappearing, something new and unexpected happens and the beginning to the sequel to Goddess Interrupted is created. I think the ending of the book was brilliant and I wanted more!

    Regarding the characters:

    Kate created quite mixed feelings to me. I did not understand her until the mid of the book. Why would she put herself through all that pain because of her feelings? She seemed like a weak woman who stayed with a man who does not seem to love her. And then it happened! She stood up for herself! I loved that! The scene where she is telling Henry what she thinks about him in front of all the gods was perfect. This was the Kate I wanted to see! Brave, strong, with some self-respect. She grew on me.

    More or less the same goes for Henry. He was so annoyingly distant, weak, not being able to express himself and his feelings to Kate… until Kate flipped and decided to leave the Underworld. This was the turning point for him and also for me as a reader. Before that he was a flat character and after that he was the god I could like. I loved the dramatic end of the book and I truly hope that the author will show more of his masculinity as a god and as a man in the next book.

    I loved Persephone! Persephone created the basis for stronger relationship between Kate and Henry. She was feisty and lovable.

    I think Calliope was the closest to the goddess she is supposed to represent in the novel. Since Calliope is Hera – a goddess of marriage and childbirth, she is powerful, capable of doing anything what it takes to win the love of Henry or to destroy everything dear to Henry. She was vindictive, determined and ruthless and still vulnerable.

    The other character who was similar to the goddess she presented, was Ava – Aphrodite – a goddess of love, beauty, pleasure and procreation. She lived up to all of that in Goddess Interrupted.

    Generally:

    Goddess Interrupted is an interesting book after you have gotten through the first third of it. When the pace is taking up and leaves you breathless until you turn the last page. The end of the book is very good and dramatic, so it compensates the beginning of the book fully. I really liked Goddess Interrupted and definitely recommend the book and the Goddess Test series!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Second book in the series... I absolutely loved The Goddess Tes

    Second book in the series...

    I absolutely loved The Goddess Test and couldn’t wait for book two, Goddess Interrupted, to come out. In the end, I both enjoyed it and was really frustrated by it.

    I still love the characters and the world that Aimee Carter has built with the Greek gods and goddesses trying to survive in the modern world. I love Henry and Kate together, even though you know that it isn’t going to be an easy relationship by half. Like Kate, I was a bit concerned when I heard that Henry’s first wife, Persephone, was going to be a big part of the book. Who likes to run into your current’s ex, after all?

    Book two’s biggest problem is…it’s the second book in the trilogy. Sigh. Whatever is going to happen here, you know you’re not going to get a satisfying ending just yet—there’s one more book yet to come, after all. And oh boy, is there ever a cliffhanger ending here! So if you’re looking for a good, satisfying ending, this isn’t going to be it.

    There also isn’t nearly enough Kate and Henry time in this book—they’re separated for way too much of it, especially as it is right after Kate’s six month stint in the "real world". I had really been hoping for a big welcome home scene, but alas, it was not to be. Because of their separation and the addition of Persephone to the mix, Kate spends far too much time obsessing about whether or not he really loves her—which was unfortunate shades of Harry Potter 5 for me (Why is everyone having fun at the Order of the Phoenix HQ without me? Why don’t my friends care about me anymore? Life is so unfair! And so on and so on and so on…). Henry then adds to the fun by being overly secretive and non-communicative. Argh.

    Ultimately, I still gave it a four-star rating because I love the characters and the universe and have high hopes for the final book in the series. Hopefully this is just growing pains and the second-book-in-the-trilogy syndrome, and all will be fixed come fall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    pretty good sequel

    I really enjoyed the first book in this series so I was glad to finally get a chance to read this one. It was a real fast paced read for me, though at times it felt a little repetitive.

    In the first book Kate passed the test and becomes a Goddess and Henry's wife. Then she leaves on her six months away from the underworld, so she really hasn't had a chance to get to know Henry much. She also spent her six months with James and she soon finds out that James had once had relations with Persephone and he is not one of Henry's favorite Gods.

    I like Kate but at the same time I really thought she was a little bit whiny in this book which is probably why it didn't get a 5 star. I seem to read it over and over again how she felt sorry for herself because Henry was still in love with Persephone, even when everyone told her that Henry was in love with her. I mean come on when the Goddess of love tells you that the guy love you then I think you should believe it. I do understand where her doubts are coming from, Henry hasn't been the loving husband she wants when she comes back to the Underworld. He also has a lot on his mind because the King of the Titans is reeking havoc on everyone and tries to kill Kate. I like Kate I just thought she was to whiny in this novel.

    Kate brings Persephone back into Henry's life when she goes and gets her to learn how to open the gate. Kate seeks out her help to help Henry and the other Gods with battling Cronus and it is because of Kate that Henry almost opens the gate which would let Cronus reek havoc all over the human race. Henry though doesn't really do anything to make Kate feel like she is better than Persephone which leaves Kate with a lot of doubt about Henry. Henry is just not very good with his feelings, he is Hades after all. He spends all of his time with dead people, and he has been alone for thousands of years. I really like Henry, he is just so lovable. Who would have thought I would ever like Hades!

    The end of this book leaves you with a cliffhanger as usual and I was looking for it but I was a little bit surprised, even though I had my suspicions on how it would end. In a way I knew something like that was going to happen but I was really hoping for a nice ending an not a cliffhanger. :( I really can't wait to read the next one to see what happens!

    If you love books about mythology then I think you should really give this series a try! I would recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Something about this book... I got really emotionally invested i

    Something about this book... I got really emotionally invested in this book, in a good way. I loved the dynamic that was built up between Kate and Henry and the conversations between them were real. The character development was great so that by the end the reader could accept the relationship changes.

    I've read a lot of reviews saying that Kate was kind of annoying always wondering whether Henry loved her or not and how she was not a strong female character. I just wanted to defend her for a second and say that while she is no strong, independent Katniss, I think Kate is a very true portrayal of a typical teenage girl. She wonders whether the one she loves, loves her as much as she loves him and fears that he doesn't.

    Some of the conversations seemed a bit repetitive, but on the whole I think this book was a very god read and a wonderful series overall. Though I may be biased because I love Greek mythology based books :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Goddess Interrupted is a good sequel. It didn't fall into that &

    Goddess Interrupted is a good sequel. It didn't fall into that "middle book" syndrome that some do, where it just doesn't hold up to the first. It added new storylines, and interesting ideas to an already fun plot. The characters (for the most part stayed true to who they were from the first book, and I'm glad to see that the danger that came up in the first book hasn't dissipated even after we found out who was causing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kate Winters passed “The Goddess Test”, became Henry

    Kate Winters passed “The Goddess Test”, became Henry’s (Hades) wife and is now returning to the Underworld from her required six month stay on the surface. She’s hoping to reignite the fires that burned between she and Henry and hoping against hope that she can be the wife and Queen he needs to rule beside him, she’s also hoping against hope that the doubts she’s had before disappear and that Henry will give her some sign that he’s over his first wife, the one who left him for a mortal, her sister Persephone.
    Upon returning she finds the realm in chaos when she learns that Cronus, the titan the Gods imprisoned is in the process of escaping with the help of one very unforgiving and unhappy Goddess, Calliope (Hera) and that Henry has been captured by them when he and the others tried to prevent his escape. Kate takes it upon herself to help and while the others prepare for the battle to save the world she goes in search of the one person who’s knowledge will help stop the war and find and rescue Henry, the same sister that abandoned him. The war has begun in earnest but Kate and Henry are still in a battle of their own, does he love her, does she love him enough to stay even knowing that his love may still be a prisoner to a love lost. Will she leave, will she stay what will happen to “Goddess Interrupted”.
    Aimée Carter in her second novel in this series continues to give a brand new look to the Olympian Gods, to what role they have in humanity and how they pick and choose new Gods so where her storyline is as old as time, it’s her perspective that is refreshingly new, inventive and enchanting. Her dialogue is a mixture that well represents each character’s personality. Her characters will also win the test of time in that they are Godlike and human together. Her hero and heroine Henry and Kate are not exactly what I had in mind for the King and Queen of the Underworld but they quickly grew on me and in addition Aimée gives me a multitude of co-stars to fill her pages and to fill in the blanks for me and to explain how they all came to be. Her love story is fraught with heartache, heartbreak, yearning and hope and I empathized with each sob and each feeling of joy. Her love scenes are well clouded behind innuendoes contain nothing that would offend any aged reader.
    This series is shelved with the YA and is published under Harlequin Teen but this very adult reader could not put either the first novel or this one down long enough to forget the previous sentence.
    This is the second in the series and I would recommend reading them in order.
    Aimée Carter thank you for my second look at Kate and Henry and all the other Gods that rule Olympus and I can’t wait for my next visit to see where you take them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Review: Goddess Interrupted picks up right after The Goddess H


    Review:

    Goddess Interrupted picks up right after The Goddess Hunt ends. Kate has returned from her vacation in Greece and prepares to officially become Queen of the Underworld. Unfortunately fate has other plans and now Kate and Henry are in a fight not only for their lives but that of every man, woman, and child on the planet.

    I really love this series, the character progression is something that keeps me coming back. Kate on the other hand *sigh* she just frustrates me to no end. On the surface, I love Kate, she is smart, strong,brave, and has an infectious personality. What is frustrating is her insecurities about her relationship with Henry. Her behavior in regards to Henry is downright pathetic and is a serious character flaw. Henry at least has an excuse to be distant, Persephone screwed him up badly. You'd think Kate would be doing everything in her power to make him forget about Persephone but nooo..... she'd rather brood around the castle like a spoiled child. Kate even throws James in Henry's face knowing damn well she has no romantic feelings towards him. It made me really dislike her. On the upside at least her character is consistent in her behavior between books.

    On the flip side Ava, James, and Henry were highly enjoyable. Even with Henry disappearing for chapters at a time you still felt his presence in the pages which was nice. Ava also remains close to Kate in Goddess Interrupted. I liked that there relationship remained close despite everything going on. Even the "bad guys" were enjoyable. Calliope and Cronus are certainly a twisted pair. Yet, in a way I find Calliope worse than Cronus. Her hatred runs deep and knows no bounds. I am also convinced she is off her rocker nuts. Calliope made Persephone look like a saint compared to her.

    Overall the romance, action, and character development makes Goddess Interrupted a worthy addition to the series. After the OMG cliffhanger ending, I cannot wait to see where the characters are headed in the next book. In the end I will be rating Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter ¿¿¿¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Can i plz

    Rp hollykit? Thats my favorite name and ive been waiting a long time for this chance!!!!!!!!!!! Also im extremly active and flexible to whatever you want.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Some sophomore novels have a tendency to fall flat after the fir

    Some sophomore novels have a tendency to fall flat after the first book in the series, but that is not the case with Goddess Interrupted. If anything, this novel is even better than the first, complete with more action, more insight into the characters, and an engrossing story.

    Goddess Interrupted begins six months after The Goddess Test. Kate has been tested, but it seems that the tests were nothing compared to what is waiting for her now. Her homecoming is not what she expected. Henry seems less than enthusiastic to see her again, and then her coronation is interrupted by none other than the King of the Titans. After he abducts Henry, Kate is determined to save him. With the help of James and Ava, she begins a journey through the Underworld to find Henry. To help her - or perhaps haunt her - she is also having visions of Henry and his imprisonment, each one only pushing her to search harder. But with her life in danger and no concrete plan of how to save Henry, Kate has to turn to the one person she never wanted to see: Persephone. But Persephone's presence will do more than help Kate on her quest; it will send Kate on a quest for Henry's heart.

    Having recently read The Goddess Test, I was eager to dive into this book and see what else was in store for Kate. Now that I knew the characters and secrets from the first book, I found that I could really invest in them and in the world Aimee Carter created. Not only does this book have more action than The Goddess Test, but also it has so much more emotion. The King of the Titans is certainly a force to be reckoned with, and his power is pervasive throughout the novel. The battles Kate and the others face with him are mental as well as physical, making for an exciting read. In addition to this, the relationship between Kate and Henry is truly put to the test. I have to admit that Henry frustrated me to no end for most of the novel, and my heart broke for Kate. Henry's dark, brooding nature was intriguing in the first book, but now it was almost off-putting. Kate's emotions throughout this were honest and real, and I suffered along with her.

    In addition to the King of the Titans, the other new character we spend a lot of time with is Persephone. I had mixed feelings about her, but by the end of the book I really came to like her. Speaking of the ending...I think Aimee Carter must enjoy being evil. I can't believe there is another year to wait after that last page! Kate and all of the gods are preparing for an epic battle, and I am eager to see how it plays out.

    Goddess Interrupted was everything I could have wanted in a sequel and more. From start to finish I couldn't put the book down. I am looking forward to reading The Goddess Legacy, a collection of five novellas about the gods, and The Goddess Inheritance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I tore through this one, and really enjoyed it. There are gr

    I tore through this one, and really enjoyed it. There are great action scenes and even though Kate seems weaker in some ways, the same girl I admired from the first series is still there. She is still as loyal and self-sacrificing as in the first, putting those she loves before herself and not even thinking of her safety.
    The relationship between Kate and Henry is agonizing in this one. I wanted to smack both of them over the head once I finally got to the bottom of their issues. This is where Kate seemed weaker when it came to her confidence towards Henry. I can totally understand where her insecurities come from, but it was still hard to read at times (with the heartbreak, not bad writing.)
    I really like James in this one, and I appreciate how he really looks out for Kate. I kinda want a piece of him for myself ;) Ava was awesome as ever too. But Persephone was also frustrating in that wonderfully written character you wanna hate kind of way.
    I can't wait for the third one and find out how their stories conclude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Thanks for writing this book

    I ove greek myth and books that add new twists to greek myth. I love the danger and emotions behind a story like this but i do have two complaints. Number one was that the gods and goddesses arent called by their greek names which makes it esyto forget thebook is aboutthwm. After awhile it starts to seem like a book about plrandom people qith powers instead of greek mythology. My othercompkint is that Kate is so...needy. Henry told her that helobed her in the first book yet in this one she is BEGGING him for a 'sign' that he lobes her. She is always cying "he doesnt love me" whenhe has already done so much to prove her wrong.



    My friend loaned me the books and i am glad she did. I enjoyed reading them even if Kate startedto frustrate me. Threediffernt people gave her the same speech about how Henry did love her and happiness is a choice and she neded to give it time and how past pain made it hard for him to trust people yet she kept pouting and crying. Attheemd her personality seemed to changefor the better. I love how she isnt afraid to try theimpossible.


    Over all it is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    WHAT?!

    I need the third book to come out sooner! I need to know what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent action but a bit of a "Middle Book"

    The Goddess Test seemed to be a hit-or-miss read in 2011 for many people, but for me, it was definitely a hit and I was eagerly awaiting the release of the second book to add to my collection. School got in the way of reading this one as soon as I would have liked, but now that I've had time to read it and think about it for awhile, I can definitely say that I enjoyed it very much, but it had a little bit of that "middle book" feel for me.

    Let me explain.

    Goddess Interrupted has all the makings of a really fabulous book. It picks up with Kate returning to Henry and the Underworld and preparing to be officially made his queen. Things, of course, go terribly wrong and everything goes to hell (quite....literally). Once again, I loved the way that Aimee Carter has crafted this mythology into a modern-day story. The way that the characters are woven together really brings them to life. They seem very much like a family--with all the normal family problems we all experience, just on a bit of a larger scale. The book is filled with plenty of action along the way that definitely keeps you on your toes and hoping that your favorite characters don't die!

    What gives this a little bit of that "middle book" feel is the way that the focus is really placed on the relationship between Kate and Henry and the associated angst. There are a lot of moments where it feels like the real drama and tension of the crazy stuff that's happening takes a backseat to Kate's desire to have a real relationship with Henry. Don't get me wrong--I totally understand what she's getting at. However, it feels like the book spends a lot of time setting up the ending and preparing you for the finale.

    Make sense?

    Regardless, all things considered, this was a fun read and it didn't really disappoint me in terms of the series. I'm super excited for the final installment as well as the upcoming compilation of stories, The Goddess Legacy. If you were a fan of The Goddess Test, definitely take the time to read this second installment (and the ebook novella--The Goddess Hunt). Carter's writing and storytelling is pretty spot on and will keep you engaged and leave you begging for the finale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Goddess interrupted

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In many ways this story was more dramatic and more adventurous t

    In many ways this story was more dramatic and more adventurous than the first. Kate must drag her best friends on a futile mission fraught with danger and certain death in order to save her husband and mother.

    Even though I really liked it and can’t wait for the next one… there was just something missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Great Re-invention of the Hades/Persephone Myth!

    The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
    ARC received from Harlequin via Netgalley
    Release Date: 3-27-2012
    Reviewed by: Jennifer McCoy on YA Sisterhood Blog
    The Sisters Say: Enchanting, Enthralling, Entertaining

    I started reading The Goddess Test yesterday and the moment I was done, I went straight for my ARC of Goddess Interrupted. I was excited to see how Kate and Henry’s romance was going to continue to unfold. While the action in the novel was great, and I loved getting to see deeper into the psyche of the Gods, I was somewhat disappointed in the romance between Henry and Kate. There was so much angst that at times I wanted to jump straight into the book (if only I had magical powers) and slap them both in the face and scream, “Come on! Get it together and kiss already! Quit wallowing in self-pity!” However, no matter how many times I wished for Harry Potter powers, I found none, so I just continued to grumble to myself.

    That doesn’t mean that I did not enjoy the book. On the contrary, I cannot wait until the next book comes out; I just hope that Aimee Carter will give my heart a break and inundate me with some great kissy romance scenes.

    So what did I like?

    Even though the romance aspect was very tense, I still liked Henry. What can I say? I’m a sucker for a broken, broody guy whose eyes flash with love every so often. No matter how cold and distant he gets, I’d still rule the Underworld with him!

    The evil in this book is so extreme that I am still reeling. Calliope—grrrr! That’s all I can come up with! She’s beyond evil—full of hatred and misery and determined to take everyone down with her. That’s what makes the action so overwhelmingly great…I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see when she was going to attack again. (There are no spoilers here…you see Calliope’s plan in the first 2 pages).

    But Calliope is not the only evil that Kate must face—even worse…she has to face Persephone. Not that Persephone is evil, but let’s face it; having to enlist the help of the woman your husband is still in love with would make anyone a little furious. I really enjoyed the insight into Persephone and Henry’s relationship. It made me understand (somewhat) why Henry acts the way he does—cold and distant. Though I still wish that Aimee Carter would have given the angst a break, I did enjoy seeing how Henry’s past relationship starts to define his present one.

    What did I dislike?

    Again…the angst. We see very little emotion from Henry (I know, he’s Hades, he has to be cold). I would have liked to see him cave to his emotion, even once to give another layer to his character.

    Not that I disliked the ending…it’s more that I dislike having to wait to find out what happens! This cliffhanger ending will make you want to scream even louder than the infamous Soprano ending! To me, there is nothing worse than not knowing! But I guess in the world of young adult, I must get used to the cliffhanger-break-my-heart-and-stomp-on-it endings. I’ll just say this—ARC of the next one, please!!!!!!

    So….

    I did fall in love with Aimee Carter’s world. She gives us and entirely new idea of heaven and hell. She creates a world where lies, betrayal, hatred, and envy are overwhelming and can only be combated by truth, loyalty, and love—things so few are willing to give. Take a trip to Aimee Carter’s Underworld, and like me, you might not want to return.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    One might think Kate and Henry would grow closer after she achie

    One might think Kate and Henry would grow closer after she achieved her goal of becoming his queen. Instead, she comes home to an icy Henry. Henry is withdrawing from her, but she isn't quite sure why. Kate is still getting used to her role as queen and adjusting to the life of Henry's queen. Everything seems to be happening at a rapid pace. Kate is discovering abilities, James is off on some errand, Kate's mother is trying to gain control/help the council, etc... Does Kate have anyone she can turn to? Will Henry step up?



    Kate's character has matured in this novel. The reader will notice a distinct lack of "whiny" and a gain in "regality". She appears wiser, but still retains her youth. Henry takes on an even more formidable form as Kate's immortal husband. With his aloof nature, the reader will likely never be able to guess at his actions or the reasons behind them. The other characters are mostly reappearances from the first book, the reader will enjoy some of them and learn to hate others.



    Readers should be excited for the next in this series! The author manages to add in unexpected twists and surprises that will probably never occur to the reader. This book is a great read for young adult/teen readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    The first book in the series, The Goddess Test , there were a lo

    The first book in the series, The Goddess Test , there were a lot of things I took into consideration. Firstly that it was the first book in the series, so we needed to get introduced to the world and the characters. I find that a lot of the time I find the first books in a series is just ok. After reading the goddess test I decided to read other books that take on the Hades and Persephone myth, such as Abandon by Meg Cabot and Everneath by Brodi Ashton. With the comparisons I then decided that The Goddess Test was actually my favorite of them with Everneath a close second.
    I decided this story was one that I wanted to continue with, although I had a huge issue in the first book about how Henry seems to just take a back seat on issue's and does not in any way, shape or form present to me how I think Hades should be. Strong, determined and yes powerful. He came off as really weak and silly, I wanted him to really stand out, but instead it's Kate that acts more like a leader than any other character, and by her strength she really makes Henry look depressing.
    I was hoping that Henry's behavior in book one was just part of the tests they were putting Kate through, that he had to pretend to be weak so that she could prove herself, but yet again here in book two, he just comes off as really weak to me. But in contrast Kate really stands out. She becomes a bad ass and admirable person for standing up and fighting back. I love this about her.
    The beginning of the story really starts out strong and for the first 40% I couldn't stop reading. It drops a little bit in the middle and focuses more on family and the romance. But then, the ending! OMG that ending. I just want to stomp my foot like a kid and yell "it's not fair" And with that the author has me hooked yet again to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cannot Wait for Book #3

    Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test, Book #2) by Amiee Carter Genre: Young Adult | Paranormal Romance Kate is returning from her summer away in Greece to Eden Manor (to catch a portal/short-cut to the Underworld) and her new mythological family (and husband!) she left months ago. As excited as she is for her long-awaited homecoming, she is equally apprehensive because of her recent lack of confidence in her budding relationship with Henry. When her reunion does not go as planned because of discovering a new debilitating gift, the catching of a recent Underworld escapee, and the uncovering that some missing Gods are being held captive, Kate is thrust into a new home that exudes characteristics of Henry's late wife - Persephone. With hopes of only having to devote her life to helping Henry rule the Underworld, Kate must now personally confront Henry's past and decide just where her future really leads. Expect lots of emotional turmoil within this continuation of Kate's adventures in being Queen on the Underworld. Not only is she trying to adapt to her new immortal status among her family while processing Henry's eluding attitude toward their marriage, but Kate is learning there are darker things out there that make even the God/Goddess tremble in fear. Also, acceptation is a hard concept for Kate to get use to. Her family is automatically expecting her to accept that there is a certain way to handling situations, dealing with people, or even loving someone - all of which, becomes a struggle for Kate throughout this book. Honestly, I am not a fan of many of the side-characters within this series, but the protagonists are spot on and really keep the story alive for me. The relationship struggle between Kate and Henry is very realistic and captivating. Thus, it becomes quite easy for the reader to become wrapped up in their gut-wrenching turmoil as well as their blissful happiness. The ending is suspenseful and definitely creates a thrilling problem for book #3 to solve. Yet, sadly, as much as I wanted to support Kate's surprise revelation in the end -- it left me feeling like a prude since I often frown upon situations like that for girls her age. But, it won't keep me from checking out the next books in the series next year though. Likes: After reviewing Amiee Carter's website for Book #3 (The Goddess Inheritance) release date (April 2013), I was amused to find out she and I share the same birthday - Jan. 24th - Ha! Dislikes: To me, it felt like there were almost two separate stories within this one book. The first part that focused solely on the Underworld escapee and the second part that really centralized the story back around Kate and Henry. There was a slight common thread between the two, but I believe it would have been a much more cohesive story if Amiee Carter would have unified the two parts better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Goddess Interrupted picks up when Kate is arriving in the Underw

    Goddess Interrupted picks up when Kate is arriving in the Underworld from her six month vacation with James. I felt like I was right there with her feeling so excited to see everyone, especially Henry. Some things don't turn out the way you plan though.

    Not long after Kate arrives, everything seems to disrupt. Henry and some members of his family are abducted and there is someone that wants Kate dead. Kate doesn't get to enjoy her homecoming because she sets out to rescue her new family. Along the way she seeks the help of her sister, Persephone. I was a bit shocked at this and how things went from there.

    There are a lot of ups and downs, twists and turns in this one. I was surprised to learn about some of the characters, who they really are besides gods. What Kate learns about herself was just crazy, I mean really? The one thing that did bother me was Kate herself. I mean she is this great character who I really like, but she annoyed me in this one. She kept over thinking her relationship with Henry in her mind. Then she would tell him and everyone else about it all the time. Henry at first annoyed me, the way that he treated Kate, but then as the story went on I came to realize why.

    This one had a lot of action and suspense with a little bit of romance. The last part of the book was really good and the ending, wow. We are left with a huge cliffhanger. I was like no this can't be the end, it can't end this way! But yeah now I have to wait to read The Goddess Inheritance. Overall a great book!

    This e-arc was given to me for review by the publisher via NetGalley. This did not affect my review in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2