Customer Reviews for

Goddess Interrupted

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

Wonderful series. Of course, it had to end in a cliffhanger because its the second book in a trilogy. Trust me. You will read this book. You will love this book. You will be desperate for the last book to come out, so much that you will stalk the author until its p...
Wonderful series. Of course, it had to end in a cliffhanger because its the second book in a trilogy. Trust me. You will read this book. You will love this book. You will be desperate for the last book to come out, so much that you will stalk the author until its published.

Its a really good book.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

pretty good book

** spoiler alert ** I received an ARC of Goddess Interrupted and was super excited. I had not read Goddess test yet, but I had the book and just hadn’t gotten around to reading it yet. Since I received Goddess Interrupted, I thought I should get reading Goddess Test. I ...
** spoiler alert ** I received an ARC of Goddess Interrupted and was super excited. I had not read Goddess test yet, but I had the book and just hadn’t gotten around to reading it yet. Since I received Goddess Interrupted, I thought I should get reading Goddess Test. I LOVED Goddess Test. I laughed, I cried, I couldn’t put it down. I stayed up to finish it. In the morning I add Goddess Interrupted to my nook and started reading. I was SOOOO excited, then just annoyed. I still cried, a lot, in this book, but by then end of the book I didn’t have a fondness for any of the characters. Diana, Kate’s mom, basically admits Kate was only born as a replacement for her sister, Persephone, and that she was raised to be Henry’s wife. Nice mom, but I guess very goddess like, only caring about herself. Ava- wow such a slut- and the end- wow- slept with everyone but her father and Henry, not kewl at all. But Kate seems ok with it. She’s not mad or upset with Ava, but she is with James. ........ READ MORE OF THIS REVIEW AT MY BLOG: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com .............................. So in conclusion, this book was ok. A TON happened, there was a bunch of action and adventure, but the book has the dreaded no ending, otherwise known as a cliffhanger. I hate these kinds of cliffhangers; you’ll see when you read the book. It just kinda angers me. There is no ending. I really felt like the author just didn’t know what to do, so she left it midsentence. Not kewl. I am not sure this series has much substance to keep going for a long time. They need to wrap up this Calliope/ titans thing like ASAP. It is getting old fast and I really am not sure I like the direction the series is going with this ending. It seems like it could go really bad, and not in a makes a good story kinda way. I can’t say more without giving the ending away. I will read the next book, but if things are still left so open, it may go into the pile of “series I never finished” because they just got really bad. I hope this doesn’t happen, but you never know. For parents and teachers, this book has a large focus on sex so I would consider that before recommending this to younger kids. I would say more like 9th grade through adult. At least in this one it is married sex between Kate and Henry, but that is not the case for all the characters. The story does make cheating on your spouse seem an ok thing to do. It is obviously up to you what you allow your kids to read, I just wanted you to be aware. I received this book as an ARC, but I am not paid to review books. I do so in order to help teachers and parents find books for their kids to read that are appropriate.

Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

posted by mrsinserra1 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Goddess Interrupted picks up when Kate is arriving in the Underw

    Goddess Interrupted picks up when Kate is arriving in the Underworld from her six month vacation with James. I felt like I was right there with her feeling so excited to see everyone, especially Henry. Some things don't turn out the way you plan though.

    Not long after Kate arrives, everything seems to disrupt. Henry and some members of his family are abducted and there is someone that wants Kate dead. Kate doesn't get to enjoy her homecoming because she sets out to rescue her new family. Along the way she seeks the help of her sister, Persephone. I was a bit shocked at this and how things went from there.

    There are a lot of ups and downs, twists and turns in this one. I was surprised to learn about some of the characters, who they really are besides gods. What Kate learns about herself was just crazy, I mean really? The one thing that did bother me was Kate herself. I mean she is this great character who I really like, but she annoyed me in this one. She kept over thinking her relationship with Henry in her mind. Then she would tell him and everyone else about it all the time. Henry at first annoyed me, the way that he treated Kate, but then as the story went on I came to realize why.

    This one had a lot of action and suspense with a little bit of romance. The last part of the book was really good and the ending, wow. We are left with a huge cliffhanger. I was like no this can't be the end, it can't end this way! But yeah now I have to wait to read The Goddess Inheritance. Overall a great book!

    This e-arc was given to me for review by the publisher via NetGalley. This did not affect my review in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    just as good as the first

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed the The Goddess Test and the novella that takes

    I really enjoyed the The Goddess Test and the novella that takes place between, The Goddess Hunt, so I was really excited to get to this one. I was happy that this book brought us right back into the story. We left off with Kate going on her 6 months away from Eden and the Underworld, and in the novella we get a peek into the beginning of her summer. I was glad this one started with her returning. I loved how excited she was to be back and how much she couldn't wait to see Henry. She did annoy me a lot in this book though. Putting that aside for now, I do like how the story progressed and I liked that we got to know Persephone a little bit.

    Kate is quite feisty. I like how she tells it how it is, it's just a shame that she has to be pushed to do it. She goes off on little tantrums a few times which is quite entertaining. She is very smart and insightful though, she just beats herself up by over thinking things too much. It gets very tiresome. I think we needed to see how she was feeling, but I would have liked a little less of it. She came across as needy and whiny a lot of the time. I do understand where she is coming from, but I think it was a bit much. On the other hand, the thing that I really enjoyed about her in the first book and the novella was that she always wants to help people. She is a bit reckless and seems to have no regard for her own life or safety, but it makes her a strong character. Stubborn, but still, it's a good quality to have. She is very selfless even if she is scared.

    This one has a lot going on. The Titans are a huge threat obviously and they need to figure out a way to stop them. They must find Henry and the only person who knows how to find where he is being held is Persephone. Just perfect right?! So this makes even more annoying obsessive Kate behavior. She is nervous about Henry seeing Persephone. I just think that when all of humanity is at risk, beating yourself up about whether your husband can love you as much as his first wife (who broke his heart and left him) is a bit silly. Besides that, I didn't find Persephone very likable. Even when she actually was being somewhat nice, she still bothered me. She did start to grow on me a little though, and I think I could learn to like her.

    Now the whole situation with Kate and Henry. My goodness, I know that he had his heart broken. It sucks. It takes time to heal, especially when you have been alive forever and your relationship was thousands of years, but dude!! You have to try a little bit. Stop being such a tool and pushing Kate away. As if she's not already insecure enough already. It's not like he doesn't know how insecure she feels about their relationship, so it bothered me that he didn't even try to ease her crazy little mind at all. He is just so distant and sometimes comes across as cold towards her. I know that it is part of his personality, but I couldn't help but feel bad for Kate even as I wanted her to stop getting so worked up over it. I also hated how she just snaps and loses it all the time instead of just saying what she thinks the first time. I know Henry doesn't listen well, but OMG I wanted to hit them both. They are married, they need to talk to each other.

    There are quite a few twists in this book that I really did enjoy. I liked the story progression too. I know that there seems to be a lot of negativity in my review, but I totally don't mean those things in a bad way. I get that Kate has never really had anyone to care about besides her mother and now she feels like she is never going to be good enough, or live up to Persephone, but I wish she would just suck it up and except that Henry obviously wants her there. Overall I really enjoyed this book, and what an ending!! Cliffhanger like you wouldn't believe! I am looking forward to the next novella The Goddess Legacy in July, and The Goddess Inheritance book three when that comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Aimee Carter brings on the drama in the second installment of th

    Aimee Carter brings on the drama in the second installment of the Goddess Test series, Goddess Interrupted. After Kate’s summer in Greece with James, she returns to Eden Manor only to discover that everyone has gone to the Underworld in preparation for her crowning as Queen. What is supposed to be six months of learning her role as Queen of the Underworld, morphs into a fight for everything Kate holds dear- her family, her position, and her relationship with Henry.

    Goddess Interrupted has made me look at every single character in this series in a different way. So many secrets of their pasts are revealed that took me by surprise. I feel like I’ve been able to see them more in their god and goddess natures. Kate Winters will be the one to go against the grain. Already, she’s decided what kind of goddess she will try be and how she will handle her relationships.

    In Goddess Test, Kate was an extreme worrier. She never tried to see past her worries for what could be positive outcomes. I still think this is true of Kate, but she’s trying to improve, trying to not let every misunderstanding bring her down. Her relationship with Henry is so strained because she worries about whether he loves her enough or if she’s a replacement for Persephone. I do sympathize with her because she tries so hard to believe that she’s made the right choices regarding taking the job and becoming Henry’s wife.

    Kate doesn’t join in on the action because she’s new to her goddess body and powers. I wasn’t thrilled that while the council members went off to fight Cronus, King of the Titans, Kate stayed in the Underworld picking at her self-esteem. But, when she volunteers for a mission that will help their endeavors I perked up at the thought of seeing Kate physically contribute.

    Carter closes Goddess Interrupted with the most saddening and explosive revelations. I can’t even fathom what will come of Kate and the other gods and goddesses in the next installment, Goddess Inheritance.

    *e-ARC provided by Netgalley on behalf of Harlequin*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Good

    A very good series i recommend it to anyone intrested in greek mythology

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Summary: Kate won her immortality but has she won the one th

    My Summary:

    Kate won her immortality but has she won the one thing she wants, Henry's heart? After spending the summer is Greece with James, she returns to Henry only to have him distant and preoccupied with a looming war. But at the moment of her coronation, Henry is kidnapped by the one being that can kill a God. Shocked that the other Gods don't seem to think there is any hope of helping, Kate is forced to seek out Henry's first wife and true love, Persephone. Even if they can save Henry, how will bringing Persephone back into his life affect his heart?

    My Thoughts:

    4 stars - a great read

    What can I say here? I STILL love this world that Aimee built. Greek gods a little more modern, a little less full of themselves, and friends to a teenage girl. What could be better than that? I was taken back by the complex relationship between Kate and Henry in a totally good way. This is not your typical romance where the boy falls for the girl and maybe the girl has a few things to get through but in the end they love each other. No this one has the boy suffering from a broken heart that hasn't healed in hundreds of years. That's not gonna go away in a few days or one book. I was glad to see that Henry didn't just fall all over Kate upon her return to the underworld. I was so glad that I had read The Goddess Hunt and understood Henry for it. I absolutely love these characters - all of them.

    The story was exciting and had me guessing wrong a few times. I knew to expect Persephone but she was such a surprise to me. I did guess a few things right not all. It was just the perfect blend of roller coaster ride and comfort read.

    Now the ending.... well lets just say that I need the next book and soon! Seriously peeps - I want it like yesterday! Can you say cliffhanger? Well sort of but enough that I NEED the next book. I'm so excited that The Goddess Legacy (The Goddess Test 2.5) comes out the end of July but that may not be enough to hold me until October when The Goddess Inheritance (The Goddess Test 3) comes out.

    Haven't stated this series -------> Get on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2