BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Goddess Test

Average Rating 4.5
( 502 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

From Missy's Reads & Reviews

I guess I should put a disclaimer on reviews of books that deal with Greek Mythology, so here it is: I am a lover of all things in Greek Mythology, so usually I'm incredibly giddy before I even open books that deal with the subject matter.

Having said that, I can tel...
I guess I should put a disclaimer on reviews of books that deal with Greek Mythology, so here it is: I am a lover of all things in Greek Mythology, so usually I'm incredibly giddy before I even open books that deal with the subject matter.

Having said that, I can tell you that this book did not disappoint me in the least. The more I read, the more it won me over. Besides the mythology, I can tell you what impressed me so much about this book: no insta-love! Oftentimes in YA books, the main character falls instantly in love with the object of her affection at the very beginning and then the rest of the book is swooning and talking about how perfect he is in every way for the other 250+ pages. This isn't the case with The Goddess Test. Instead, we get to see a relationship from what starts as an extreme dislike, then morphs from empathy to friendship and eventually, love. It's a realistic process, slow to start and blossoming into something incredible, something we can all relate to with love.

All of the characters seemed to pass the test (pun not necessarily intended). There was something that first irked me about Kate, but her actions and personality really won me over through the book. The rocky start to her friendship with Ava added even more layers to their relationship, again making it completely believable and all the more true to a real friendship. I think I said enough about Kate's relationship with Henry and the lack of insta-love, which in turn made me love them more. Henry's character was a more humble character, though I must say that I expected him to be a little more dark and fierce considering who he truly was. Same with James, whose character was also a little predictable but it didn't make me like him any less. Dylan's character seemed a little left-field and I was confused by his presence. I understood closer to the end, yet the whole opening scenes with him felt a little more like a page-filler than anything that was truly necessary to the story.

Despite some minor character issues, I can't say anything bad about this book - which means that those issues are so minor that they can be completely ignored. The story was amazing, the characters and intertwining of mythology equally so. I predicted some of the ending, but it ended up taking on more of a twist than I had initially expected. It was a pleasant surprise. It was also a fairly quick read, so there was no room for a lot unnecessary details. I enjoyed this book immensely and cannot wait for the next in the series to come out.

posted by MissysReadsAndReviews on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

So much potential, fell a little short

Okay, so I'm going to be a tad on the harsh side here. I know this was written for a younger audience, and therefore on that level, this book might be great. But, that's not an excuse for me. First off, I love everything that has to do with Greek mythology and when y...
Okay, so I'm going to be a tad on the harsh side here. I know this was written for a younger audience, and therefore on that level, this book might be great. But, that's not an excuse for me. First off, I love everything that has to do with Greek mythology and when you add in romance, I couldn't wait to read this book. The writing is simple, straight forward, but lacks depth and doesn't tie things in well. When the main character tells her friends about her unusual offer and the situation, her friends just blindly accept her statements and believe in the supernatural all of a sudden. Isn't that quite suspicious, not right, or predictable? James is an interesting character but is not developed as much as I would like, more of him would be nice, maybe the author is holding out for that in the next book. The main god is quite weak for being a god; he's supposed to be caring and considerate, but he came off as too vanilla for me. I can see what the author intended to do, but it isn't developed or written well enough. It was a nice quick read with so much going for it, but I was a little disappointed by the end.

posted by risuena on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    From Missy's Reads & Reviews

    I guess I should put a disclaimer on reviews of books that deal with Greek Mythology, so here it is: I am a lover of all things in Greek Mythology, so usually I'm incredibly giddy before I even open books that deal with the subject matter.

    Having said that, I can tell you that this book did not disappoint me in the least. The more I read, the more it won me over. Besides the mythology, I can tell you what impressed me so much about this book: no insta-love! Oftentimes in YA books, the main character falls instantly in love with the object of her affection at the very beginning and then the rest of the book is swooning and talking about how perfect he is in every way for the other 250+ pages. This isn't the case with The Goddess Test. Instead, we get to see a relationship from what starts as an extreme dislike, then morphs from empathy to friendship and eventually, love. It's a realistic process, slow to start and blossoming into something incredible, something we can all relate to with love.

    All of the characters seemed to pass the test (pun not necessarily intended). There was something that first irked me about Kate, but her actions and personality really won me over through the book. The rocky start to her friendship with Ava added even more layers to their relationship, again making it completely believable and all the more true to a real friendship. I think I said enough about Kate's relationship with Henry and the lack of insta-love, which in turn made me love them more. Henry's character was a more humble character, though I must say that I expected him to be a little more dark and fierce considering who he truly was. Same with James, whose character was also a little predictable but it didn't make me like him any less. Dylan's character seemed a little left-field and I was confused by his presence. I understood closer to the end, yet the whole opening scenes with him felt a little more like a page-filler than anything that was truly necessary to the story.

    Despite some minor character issues, I can't say anything bad about this book - which means that those issues are so minor that they can be completely ignored. The story was amazing, the characters and intertwining of mythology equally so. I predicted some of the ending, but it ended up taking on more of a twist than I had initially expected. It was a pleasant surprise. It was also a fairly quick read, so there was no room for a lot unnecessary details. I enjoyed this book immensely and cannot wait for the next in the series to come out.

    43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Couldn't put the book down

    Ok so I read the reviews for this book before I decided to purchase it and I must say that I couldn't put the book down! I enjoyed it immensely. The characters were so easy to love that I just kept rooting for them to succeed in the test and past. Henry (Hades) is such a refreshing take on a character that is considered so negatively in Greek Mythology. Kate is also someone that if you're thinking in the beginning "Wow what a weak girl" that opinion will change as we see her grow and make decision that help her learn just how strong she really is. I recommend this book.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    So much potential, fell a little short

    Okay, so I'm going to be a tad on the harsh side here. I know this was written for a younger audience, and therefore on that level, this book might be great. But, that's not an excuse for me. First off, I love everything that has to do with Greek mythology and when you add in romance, I couldn't wait to read this book. The writing is simple, straight forward, but lacks depth and doesn't tie things in well. When the main character tells her friends about her unusual offer and the situation, her friends just blindly accept her statements and believe in the supernatural all of a sudden. Isn't that quite suspicious, not right, or predictable? James is an interesting character but is not developed as much as I would like, more of him would be nice, maybe the author is holding out for that in the next book. The main god is quite weak for being a god; he's supposed to be caring and considerate, but he came off as too vanilla for me. I can see what the author intended to do, but it isn't developed or written well enough. It was a nice quick read with so much going for it, but I was a little disappointed by the end.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not qiute sure yet....

    The book was a quick read for two reasons; the first is Aimee Carter's easy writing style. I like the way she writes and I felt transported into the world she created. The whole book had a dreamy feel to it. The second reason is because I kept hoping something exciting would happen on the next page, but it didn't. Everything moved along at a very even pace.

    The point of the book is that the main character will experience a series of tests and I was looking forward to seeing how these tests would play out. As in all good tests of this nature, the main character never knows when she is being tested and what she is being tested on. The only problem in this case is neither does the reader, until the very end, and at that point the book is almost over and you fell like you are playing catch-up, and I think things were taken beyond "subtle" and into "barely there".

    I love retellings of the classics and I adore Greek mythology so I was a sucker for this book. I was desperate to see how the author would incorporate Greek mythology, but I feel that is what this book lacked, the essence of Greek mythology. Yes, there is one or two reference to it that is all.

    A bunch of the major gods and goddesses go "undercover" for the majority of the story. I liked this idea, but it is again done so subtly that there is very little connection between the characters and their mythological counterparts. I even peeked at the back to see which characters were supposed to represent each god, and I still had a hard time seeing the connections. I also don't really think the characters' personalities matched the personalities of the Greek gods and goddesses very well. Some did, sort of, but very loosely.

    Aside from the tests and the myth references, I wanted to read this book because of Hades. I love the bad boy, and for that can you get any better than Hades, god of the underworld? I think not. And yet, this Hades didn't even have a shred of bad boy in him. However our Hades here is a very sensitive character who has been hurt by the lose of Persephone, which I think could be more appealing considering this book is aimed at teen readers, but giving him some badness couldn't have hurt either.

    This is the first book in a projected trilogy, but it ends pretty well on its own. I think this would have been much better as a standalone book than trying to stretch it into a trilogy, however I will probably read the rest of the books, just to see where the author take this story.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Raunch Dilettante Review

    I really enjoyed this book. Aimee Carter's style of writing is relaxed yet descriptive enough to create a sort of dreamy and dark atmosphere. I was really hooked by the premise - it's a Greek myth turns reality sort of deal with a bit of a twist. Kate is the modern day Persephone, and Henry is Hades. The catch, however, is that there are no sinister machinations going on that Kate isn't aware of. There's no kidnapping; no imprisonment. In fact, she walks into the deal knowing fully well what's expected of her. And that, my friends, is what made The Goddess Test refreshing to me. YA novels with brooding heroes and heroines tend to be filled with angsty teens teetering back and forth between emotional dilemmas. Kate has her fair share of decisions to make, but what sets her apart is her willingness to accept what's handed to her. There's very little resentment. She's a breath of fresh air in a world of angsty Bella Swan-like young women. You can check out the rest of my review at my website: raunchdilettante dot com.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Rlly good

    This book has a different twist to it. I think now that i llike the charchter Hades/ Henry more. This book was tearful to me and i never cried so much in one book before. I love kates charchter a lot. Btw this book deserves a 6 star

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Extraordinary plot, mediocre execution, altogether enjoyable.

    First, the bad: The writing style was simplistic, which isn't necessarily bad. Personally, I didn't like how the story would skip ahead weeks at a time, but I am also understanding of the necessity of these time skips. My biggest issue with this novel was the reactions of the characters, specifically Kate. Your "friend" dies and gets resurrected, your mother is on her death bed. And when the whole world goes to hell in a hand basket because you have suspicions that your dark, brooding stalker is the lord of the underworld himself, your reaction? Ignore it. There was never a particularly strong negative reaction that a normal person would have to this type of news. Instead of being, "You're freaking crazy, you loon!" her friends don't seem at all puzzled and are even accepting of the fact that it's a genuine possibility that this guy be Hades himself. There was also a lot of melodrama in this book. A lot of 'woe is me' and 'my life is so hard.'

    The Good: It's a fresh spin on Greek mythology, and despite its shortcomings it does pull a nice plot together even if the characters are painfully frustrating. Kate is a weak female character, but she has conviction and spunk, and the supporting characters are only ever in the background at arms length.

    All in all, I would recommend the book to someone who enjoys Greek mythology, but probably no one else.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Wonderfully beautiful

    211 pages on my nook. I loved every bit of this book. When i wasnt reading i was itching to get back to the characters i had grown too attached to. While reading i kept thinking i couldnt wait to finish so i could re-read it again! Its been awile since ive been so intensley in love with a book. Alomst cant wait to see if there will be a sequel, but at the same time it left of so lovely i just want to remember it as it is. I will most def be looking for more from this authur. Great work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing take on mythology!

    I recently read Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini and fell in love with the Greek mythology branch of fantasy fiction all over again. When I heard some rave reviews about The Goddess Test I knew I had to check it out, I am so happy that I did! It was awesome! So awesome I nearly read myself blind trying to read in the dark! I loved The Goddess Test. So much so that even though I got an ebook copy from Harlquin via Netgalley to review I still went out and purchased a paperback.

    The hopeless romantic in me was thoroughly satisfied. I would describe this book as a cross between two very different love stories: Hades and Persephone and Beauty and the Beast (although our hero is NO beast!). It has elements from many great books and it's own original story intwined but it definitely reminded me a lot of those two. Alongside the romance is also a very intriguing story that is fast paced and flowed well, I am hooked and cannot wait until the next book.

    Kate is a remarkable young character. She takes care of her sick mother and when other teens would resent the task, she doesn't seem to. She's incredibly loyal and does what she has to. I love her attitude and the way she goes after what she wants and what she thinks is right. If her life was a dance she would always be in the lead, she is most definitely a fighter.

    Henry on the other hand has pretty much given up on his search of a queen, ultimately giving up his life. When Kate walks into his world he's afraid of getting too close but she seems to intrigue him just enough that he starts to open up. He's so fragile and broken it made me incredibly sad, but to understand him is to understand all of him and Kate does that. He's still a very strong character, even with his broken heart, and is easy to like.

    This book has so much to discover within it's pages, it is a puzzle only to be solved at the very end. I loved it, I think I said that but it's worth repeating!

    As I'm afraid saying too much will ruin the fun I end on this: I recommend buying a copy (maybe 2, one for your best friend, so that they're not borrowing your copy!) because you'll want to read and reread this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    To describe this book I would use the words, cool, unique and intriguing. Basically, a teenage girls' mother is dying, she moves to Northern Michigan to live out her last weeks. Girl starts new school and is immediately sucked into a deal with Hades. She really does not have a clue what is going on and has to wing it. Everything is happening behind the scenes in this one and it's very cool when all is revealed at the end. I am thrilled the author is writing a sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    MUST READ

    "4.5 STARS

    The Goddess Test is one of the best deubt books I have ever had the pleasure to read. Aimee Carter has created a story world which pulled me stright in and held me the whole book.

    The characters are all well rounded an...more4.5 STARS

    The Goddess Test is one of the best deubt books I have ever had the pleasure to read. Aimee Carter has created a story world which pulled me stright in and held me the whole book.

    The characters are all well rounded and likeable. Kate was an amazing character to read about and to see how she coped with her new life and the test she went though. James is really likeable and funny at times.Henry was on and off for the first half of the book for me but by the next half i think i loved him nearly as much as kate.

    What I loved most about The Goddess Test was how at the end i didnt see the twist and turns coming at all. Also how the book was about the gods and myths. Favourite quote "I rule the dead.I am not one of them"

    The plot for this book is amazing and such a nice change from angels,vampires and werewolves.The Goddess Test is a breath of fresh air in YA books if your loking for some thing different the goddess test is a MUST read for you. I can't wait to see what happens in the 2nd book.(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    recommended by Stephanie Meyer

    I bought this because the author of Twilight reocommended it. I thought it was good. kind of a surprise ending. will read the second if it ever comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Luv it

    Fantastic book and good story. The plot was awesome but it is not very action packed and it made me cry. Plus im a trooper and i have never cryed in freaken book! Kate is the main character she is very depressing so be warned you might want to through your nook or book out the window. Please this might sound like stupid advice but trust me you will see what i mean. Henry is sensitive, guarded, and a little.... umm he is a messed up person! Somehow i end up falling for him!? James is nice, funny, and a little overprotective.Ava is your friend who is girly, gets all the boys, also gives the worst advice. I am only giving this four stars because it depressing but i guess it should be because her mom is dying of cancer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Can't wait for the third one!

    Brilliant book. Cannot wait for the next one to come out next April!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    great book

    this book was amazimg. i connected with the main chacter, kate. i loved how the author presented henry. i hope you enjoy this book as much as i did. can' t wait for the 4th one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it

    Beautiful loved this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Way more than I expected

    When I got this book, I only got it because the sample was interesting and I needed something to read. Once I started the book time just seemed to not matter and once I finally looked at the clock suddenly it was 2am. This book I high recommend if your looking for a book to capture you. Aimee Carter did an amazing job writing this as though your in the book with Kate, feeling everything she is going through and you have to make the decision between others life and death. The thing I loved most wsa how refreshing this book is compared to others, I read a lot so finding a book that makes me super surpized doesnt happen lately as it once did. Not to give anything away but the end TOTALLY had me on the edge of my seat in awe and saying "WHAT??!!" repeatedly :). Cannot wait for April 2012 to get the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Good idea poorly executed

    Loved the cover, loved the concept....but Aimee needs to work on plot. There is little to no action in this book, just a lot of thinking and agonizing by the main character. I found myself skimming paragraphs of repeated worries to get to some action or dialogue. And I do NOT agree with her interpretation of Hera. The goddess of marriage should not...gah n/m dont want to leave any spoilers!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: The Goddess Test

    I was excited for this book. Greek Mythology is one of my favorite things and I'm always interesting in reading books that contain it. I was curious how this could be modernized to fit with our times. Sadly, I was a little disappointed in how it all played out.

    I liked Kate for the most part. She's spent the last 4 years caring for her mother, forgoing her teenage years in favor of these last moments with her. When the end was closer, her mother's last wish is to move back to her hometown. Kate goes along willingly. She goes through the motions of going to school, etc for her mom. She knows she's not sticking around after her death, so she's doesn't go to much trouble trying to make friends. Problem is she attracts the wrath of the most popular girl in school. After a horrible accident, Kate meets Henry. Henry has so odd powers, and he makes a deal with Kate. She agrees not realizing the consequences.
    After realizing her mistake, she decides to take make another deal with Henry. Keep her mother alive, and she will stay with him for 6 months of the year. It isn't until the deal is accepted that she is told she will have to take 7 tests. The 7 tests will be graded by the council, and if she passes she will become immortal and Queen of the Underworld. As it turns out, Henry is really Hades. And his estate is the gateway to the underworld. I was ok with the story up to here. My only issue was Kate making such a huge deal for little in return. Her mother isn't going to get better. All Henry is able to do is prolong her death until Kate is able to say goodbye (but it's not indefinitely). And since she's not allowed to leave, she only sees her in her dreams.

    My problem started when we started to get to know Henry. Hades is often portrayed as the bad guy. He's always been unhappy with his lot in life. He's a little vengeful. Here, he is the guy who has had his heartbroken and after a millennium still hasn't gotten over it. He seems to be so cut off from reality, that he doesn't care if Kate passes her tests or not. He fully expects her to die before she can (the past participates in the goddess test have all dies before completion). I didn't feel any chemistry between Henry and Kate. If he hasn't gotten over Persephone by now, I don't think Kate is going to be the key.

    I was disappointed by the rest of the Gods as well. Even if modern society doesn't believe in them, they should be powerful and magnificent. They should not be ordinary people playing human. In the end, everything felt contrived. I don't think anything Kate was tested on really mattered, and they certainly didn't fit in with what I know of Greek Mythology. We will see if I read the next one ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written

    I was at Barnes and Noble, scanning the shelf for something i hadn't already read when i spotted this novel. The cover is what got me interested, i loved the white dress against the green. So i picked it up and read the back. I've been a sucker for anything involving Greek Mythology since finishing the Percy Jackson series so i decided to give this one a chance and, wow, i was not disappointed in the least. The Goddess Test is an amazing novel, essentially based on Greek Mythology with an interesting modern twist. Kate is a strong character, someone i felt for in the hard times and the bad. The other characters, such as Henry and her mother, i also found were enjoyable and well thought out. The story line was unique and i could feel my anticipation and frusturation bubbling up as i got closer and closer to the end, and, when i finally got there, i was not disappointed. For a fiction/fantasy novel, it was very believable. I could picture myself in Kate's position, worried and confused and trying to do what was right to save her friends and family. The only thing i could complain about in this novel is how fast some of the minor characters were introduced. I felt myself reeling and trying to remember everyone at once. At the end of the book, i still couldn't connect some of the names she was listing to people and that frusturated me. It seems like Aimee might've just thrown those characters in the story without really thinking it through, just putting them into the plot line for the simple fact that there were spaces that needed to be filled.
    Either way, i felt this story was amazing, definentily one i enjoyed and will read over again. I'm now axiously awaiting the second of Kate and Henry's stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26