Customer Reviews for

The Goddess Test

Average Rating 4.5
( 507 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

From Missy's Reads & Reviews

I guess I should put a disclaimer on reviews of books that deal with Greek Mythology, so here it is: I am a lover of all things in Greek Mythology, so usually I'm incredibly giddy before I even open books that deal with the subject matter.

Having said that, I can tel...
I guess I should put a disclaimer on reviews of books that deal with Greek Mythology, so here it is: I am a lover of all things in Greek Mythology, so usually I'm incredibly giddy before I even open books that deal with the subject matter.

Having said that, I can tell you that this book did not disappoint me in the least. The more I read, the more it won me over. Besides the mythology, I can tell you what impressed me so much about this book: no insta-love! Oftentimes in YA books, the main character falls instantly in love with the object of her affection at the very beginning and then the rest of the book is swooning and talking about how perfect he is in every way for the other 250+ pages. This isn't the case with The Goddess Test. Instead, we get to see a relationship from what starts as an extreme dislike, then morphs from empathy to friendship and eventually, love. It's a realistic process, slow to start and blossoming into something incredible, something we can all relate to with love.

All of the characters seemed to pass the test (pun not necessarily intended). There was something that first irked me about Kate, but her actions and personality really won me over through the book. The rocky start to her friendship with Ava added even more layers to their relationship, again making it completely believable and all the more true to a real friendship. I think I said enough about Kate's relationship with Henry and the lack of insta-love, which in turn made me love them more. Henry's character was a more humble character, though I must say that I expected him to be a little more dark and fierce considering who he truly was. Same with James, whose character was also a little predictable but it didn't make me like him any less. Dylan's character seemed a little left-field and I was confused by his presence. I understood closer to the end, yet the whole opening scenes with him felt a little more like a page-filler than anything that was truly necessary to the story.

Despite some minor character issues, I can't say anything bad about this book - which means that those issues are so minor that they can be completely ignored. The story was amazing, the characters and intertwining of mythology equally so. I predicted some of the ending, but it ended up taking on more of a twist than I had initially expected. It was a pleasant surprise. It was also a fairly quick read, so there was no room for a lot unnecessary details. I enjoyed this book immensely and cannot wait for the next in the series to come out.

posted by MissysReadsAndReviews on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

So much potential, fell a little short

Okay, so I'm going to be a tad on the harsh side here. I know this was written for a younger audience, and therefore on that level, this book might be great. But, that's not an excuse for me. First off, I love everything that has to do with Greek mythology and when y...
Okay, so I'm going to be a tad on the harsh side here. I know this was written for a younger audience, and therefore on that level, this book might be great. But, that's not an excuse for me. First off, I love everything that has to do with Greek mythology and when you add in romance, I couldn't wait to read this book. The writing is simple, straight forward, but lacks depth and doesn't tie things in well. When the main character tells her friends about her unusual offer and the situation, her friends just blindly accept her statements and believe in the supernatural all of a sudden. Isn't that quite suspicious, not right, or predictable? James is an interesting character but is not developed as much as I would like, more of him would be nice, maybe the author is holding out for that in the next book. The main god is quite weak for being a god; he's supposed to be caring and considerate, but he came off as too vanilla for me. I can see what the author intended to do, but it isn't developed or written well enough. It was a nice quick read with so much going for it, but I was a little disappointed by the end.

posted by risuena on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 323 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    From Missy's Reads & Reviews

    I guess I should put a disclaimer on reviews of books that deal with Greek Mythology, so here it is: I am a lover of all things in Greek Mythology, so usually I'm incredibly giddy before I even open books that deal with the subject matter.

    Having said that, I can tell you that this book did not disappoint me in the least. The more I read, the more it won me over. Besides the mythology, I can tell you what impressed me so much about this book: no insta-love! Oftentimes in YA books, the main character falls instantly in love with the object of her affection at the very beginning and then the rest of the book is swooning and talking about how perfect he is in every way for the other 250+ pages. This isn't the case with The Goddess Test. Instead, we get to see a relationship from what starts as an extreme dislike, then morphs from empathy to friendship and eventually, love. It's a realistic process, slow to start and blossoming into something incredible, something we can all relate to with love.

    All of the characters seemed to pass the test (pun not necessarily intended). There was something that first irked me about Kate, but her actions and personality really won me over through the book. The rocky start to her friendship with Ava added even more layers to their relationship, again making it completely believable and all the more true to a real friendship. I think I said enough about Kate's relationship with Henry and the lack of insta-love, which in turn made me love them more. Henry's character was a more humble character, though I must say that I expected him to be a little more dark and fierce considering who he truly was. Same with James, whose character was also a little predictable but it didn't make me like him any less. Dylan's character seemed a little left-field and I was confused by his presence. I understood closer to the end, yet the whole opening scenes with him felt a little more like a page-filler than anything that was truly necessary to the story.

    Despite some minor character issues, I can't say anything bad about this book - which means that those issues are so minor that they can be completely ignored. The story was amazing, the characters and intertwining of mythology equally so. I predicted some of the ending, but it ended up taking on more of a twist than I had initially expected. It was a pleasant surprise. It was also a fairly quick read, so there was no room for a lot unnecessary details. I enjoyed this book immensely and cannot wait for the next in the series to come out.

    43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Couldn't put the book down

    Ok so I read the reviews for this book before I decided to purchase it and I must say that I couldn't put the book down! I enjoyed it immensely. The characters were so easy to love that I just kept rooting for them to succeed in the test and past. Henry (Hades) is such a refreshing take on a character that is considered so negatively in Greek Mythology. Kate is also someone that if you're thinking in the beginning "Wow what a weak girl" that opinion will change as we see her grow and make decision that help her learn just how strong she really is. I recommend this book.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Rlly good

    This book has a different twist to it. I think now that i llike the charchter Hades/ Henry more. This book was tearful to me and i never cried so much in one book before. I love kates charchter a lot. Btw this book deserves a 6 star

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Wonderfully beautiful

    211 pages on my nook. I loved every bit of this book. When i wasnt reading i was itching to get back to the characters i had grown too attached to. While reading i kept thinking i couldnt wait to finish so i could re-read it again! Its been awile since ive been so intensley in love with a book. Alomst cant wait to see if there will be a sequel, but at the same time it left of so lovely i just want to remember it as it is. I will most def be looking for more from this authur. Great work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing take on mythology!

    I recently read Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini and fell in love with the Greek mythology branch of fantasy fiction all over again. When I heard some rave reviews about The Goddess Test I knew I had to check it out, I am so happy that I did! It was awesome! So awesome I nearly read myself blind trying to read in the dark! I loved The Goddess Test. So much so that even though I got an ebook copy from Harlquin via Netgalley to review I still went out and purchased a paperback.

    The hopeless romantic in me was thoroughly satisfied. I would describe this book as a cross between two very different love stories: Hades and Persephone and Beauty and the Beast (although our hero is NO beast!). It has elements from many great books and it's own original story intwined but it definitely reminded me a lot of those two. Alongside the romance is also a very intriguing story that is fast paced and flowed well, I am hooked and cannot wait until the next book.

    Kate is a remarkable young character. She takes care of her sick mother and when other teens would resent the task, she doesn't seem to. She's incredibly loyal and does what she has to. I love her attitude and the way she goes after what she wants and what she thinks is right. If her life was a dance she would always be in the lead, she is most definitely a fighter.

    Henry on the other hand has pretty much given up on his search of a queen, ultimately giving up his life. When Kate walks into his world he's afraid of getting too close but she seems to intrigue him just enough that he starts to open up. He's so fragile and broken it made me incredibly sad, but to understand him is to understand all of him and Kate does that. He's still a very strong character, even with his broken heart, and is easy to like.

    This book has so much to discover within it's pages, it is a puzzle only to be solved at the very end. I loved it, I think I said that but it's worth repeating!

    As I'm afraid saying too much will ruin the fun I end on this: I recommend buying a copy (maybe 2, one for your best friend, so that they're not borrowing your copy!) because you'll want to read and reread this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    To describe this book I would use the words, cool, unique and intriguing. Basically, a teenage girls' mother is dying, she moves to Northern Michigan to live out her last weeks. Girl starts new school and is immediately sucked into a deal with Hades. She really does not have a clue what is going on and has to wing it. Everything is happening behind the scenes in this one and it's very cool when all is revealed at the end. I am thrilled the author is writing a sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Can't wait for the third one!

    Brilliant book. Cannot wait for the next one to come out next April!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    great book

    this book was amazimg. i connected with the main chacter, kate. i loved how the author presented henry. i hope you enjoy this book as much as i did. can' t wait for the 4th one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it

    Beautiful loved this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Way more than I expected

    When I got this book, I only got it because the sample was interesting and I needed something to read. Once I started the book time just seemed to not matter and once I finally looked at the clock suddenly it was 2am. This book I high recommend if your looking for a book to capture you. Aimee Carter did an amazing job writing this as though your in the book with Kate, feeling everything she is going through and you have to make the decision between others life and death. The thing I loved most wsa how refreshing this book is compared to others, I read a lot so finding a book that makes me super surpized doesnt happen lately as it once did. Not to give anything away but the end TOTALLY had me on the edge of my seat in awe and saying "WHAT??!!" repeatedly :). Cannot wait for April 2012 to get the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written

    I was at Barnes and Noble, scanning the shelf for something i hadn't already read when i spotted this novel. The cover is what got me interested, i loved the white dress against the green. So i picked it up and read the back. I've been a sucker for anything involving Greek Mythology since finishing the Percy Jackson series so i decided to give this one a chance and, wow, i was not disappointed in the least. The Goddess Test is an amazing novel, essentially based on Greek Mythology with an interesting modern twist. Kate is a strong character, someone i felt for in the hard times and the bad. The other characters, such as Henry and her mother, i also found were enjoyable and well thought out. The story line was unique and i could feel my anticipation and frusturation bubbling up as i got closer and closer to the end, and, when i finally got there, i was not disappointed. For a fiction/fantasy novel, it was very believable. I could picture myself in Kate's position, worried and confused and trying to do what was right to save her friends and family. The only thing i could complain about in this novel is how fast some of the minor characters were introduced. I felt myself reeling and trying to remember everyone at once. At the end of the book, i still couldn't connect some of the names she was listing to people and that frusturated me. It seems like Aimee might've just thrown those characters in the story without really thinking it through, just putting them into the plot line for the simple fact that there were spaces that needed to be filled.
    Either way, i felt this story was amazing, definentily one i enjoyed and will read over again. I'm now axiously awaiting the second of Kate and Henry's stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best YA Fantasy Romance of the Year

    OMG, I started this just last night and finished by lunch today. Awesome, simply awesome fantasy romance. I so loved the mythology sprinkled throughout the story and the mystery suspense kept me flipping the pages to see what happened next. The final mystery, I did figure out before the author told me but the rest, wow, not a clue. She kept me guessing right up till the final pages.

    I really loved the main character Kate. In the beginning, I felt a bit sorry for her as she had basically given up her teenage years to care for her mother who was dying of cancer. Despite spending her whole life in NYC, she agrees to move to a small town, Eden, because her mom wants to die in the town she was born in. She starts her senior year at a new school amongst kids that she has nothing in common with just to make her mom happy. She is way more mature than most 18 year olds are but her unselfishness was a lot of what made me enjoy this book. I heartily get tired of the typical whiny teen depicted in a lot of the YA fiction.

    Kate basically agrees to sacrifice her happiness and freedom so that others may live. She must pass 7 tests to show the council that she is worthy of taking her place beside Henry and ruling the Underworld. While Kate is determined to learn as much about Henry's world, she must be vigilant as the last dozen girls before her died only months into their time in Henry's world.

    This is by far the best of the YA books I've read this year and I imagine that even 8 more months down the road, it will come out on top. I'm already looking forward to the next book in the series, "Goddess Interrupted" and up to now have only occasionally read fantasy. The romance, mystery, and suspense has upped my enjoyment to the level that I won't hesitate to pick up the next fantasy I come upon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written debut...

    In a world full of young-adult fiction, The Goddess Test is a debut that stands out amongst the rest. Aimée Carter weaves together Greek mythology and our modern world into a beautiful, fairytale-like must-read. I gulfed down its 304 pages before I realized I'll have to wait quite a bit to journey into Kate Winters's world once again.

    When we first meet Kate Winters, she's driving her dying mother to the small town of Eden - its so small, it isn't even on the map. Her mother's days are counted, and Kate would do anything to keep her in this world.

    So when she meets Henry, who brings back the life of a girl who plays a prank on Kate, she gets a surge of hope. Maybe her mother can live after all. But Henry needs a favor in return - a big one.

    And now, Kate's pretty sure her mother will outlive her.

    She has to pass seven tests, and at the same time, be wary of someone set to murder her, the same way that person had murdered the eleven girls before hee. While I guessed the murderer before Kate did, I still enjoyed the suspense building up to the reveal.

    The Goddess Test is Beauty and the Beast meets Greek Mythology, plus a murderer and seven tests. I loved the story, the characters, and Kate's realistic attitude - I know I'll be visiting Kate Winters again soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2015

    I loved the series it was amazing. The books she has written are

    I loved the series it was amazing. The books she has written are amazing you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    TEAM JAMES

    WOoH WHOO!! I personly LOVE these books (and james..) ive read ALL of these books and AM NOT dissapointed by it whatsoever. If u dilo not like these books then u have somf very seirous mental issues that u might wanna see the doctor about or are just a person with no life sitting around your messy basement writing fake things on the internet and will die with 42 cats around u!! ( just saying.. by the way, never try to solve your mental issues on your own... belive me, i would know!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    What

    What goddess will Kate become?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    The Goddess Test is one of the best  books I have ever read.

    The Goddess Test is one of the best  books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Page turner

    Interesting take on mythology. Kept me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Click me

    Wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    one of the best series I have ever read! incredible captivating

    one of the best series I have ever read! incredible captivating story of Greek mythology and a romance that keeps you hooked until the very end! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 323 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17