Customer Reviews for

Goddess of the Hunt

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well-rounded characters and plot points make this a most satisfying three-dimensional romp.

Lucinda (Lucy) Waltham has been the little sister to her brothers and their hunting friends for ten years, tagging after them in fields and streams, getting into scrapes, teasing, showing off her marksmanship with a bow and arrow, etc. She's never had a London debut, b...
Lucinda (Lucy) Waltham has been the little sister to her brothers and their hunting friends for ten years, tagging after them in fields and streams, getting into scrapes, teasing, showing off her marksmanship with a bow and arrow, etc. She's never had a London debut, but is content with living in the country at Waltham Manor until life starts changing: her two brothers have married; her aged aunt is wandering about; and now she's fallen in love with the handsome Sir Toby who has always been charming and sweet to her. But Toby is taken with the very proper heiress Miss Sophia Hathaway who has come to visit, and Lucy wants to seduce him before he proposes. Her impulsive late-night plans to 'practice' seduction on the handsome Jeremy Trescott have unexpected results for both of them. In the course of their quick marriage and move to Jeremy's home, they face and overcome many hurdles, many of which are Jeremy's (his coldness, the tenants who hate him, etc.). But their deep love conquers all. A most enjoyable first novel of a trilogy of romantic heroines.

posted by srbSH on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So so

It started out awesome but the last three chapters were hard to finish.

posted by jm33 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well-rounded characters and plot points make this a most satisfying three-dimensional romp.

    Lucinda (Lucy) Waltham has been the little sister to her brothers and their hunting friends for ten years, tagging after them in fields and streams, getting into scrapes, teasing, showing off her marksmanship with a bow and arrow, etc. She's never had a London debut, but is content with living in the country at Waltham Manor until life starts changing: her two brothers have married; her aged aunt is wandering about; and now she's fallen in love with the handsome Sir Toby who has always been charming and sweet to her. But Toby is taken with the very proper heiress Miss Sophia Hathaway who has come to visit, and Lucy wants to seduce him before he proposes. Her impulsive late-night plans to 'practice' seduction on the handsome Jeremy Trescott have unexpected results for both of them. In the course of their quick marriage and move to Jeremy's home, they face and overcome many hurdles, many of which are Jeremy's (his coldness, the tenants who hate him, etc.). But their deep love conquers all. A most enjoyable first novel of a trilogy of romantic heroines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    I didn't want the story to end and I couldn't wait to read Tessa Dare's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    Wonderful historical debut!

    Every year there seems to be one debut author who bursts upon the scene and absolutely knocks my socks off with her superb writing skill. This year, that author is Tessa Dare. In her debut book, GODDESS OF THE HUNT, Dare showcases her command of the English language with exquisite prose that sings across the pages with a lyrical quality that is a joy to read. Her characters are so vividly drawn that they practically leap from the pages and her story unerringly hits all the right notes.

    Irrepressible Lucy Waltham has fancied herself in love with Sir Toby since the tender age of eleven, when her older brother's friend dubbed her his "Diana, Goddess of the Hunt". She has bided her time, knowing in her heart that one day Toby would awaken to his real feelings for her, but now, eight years later, her brother's friends have arrived for their annual gathering and, for the first time, Toby is exhibiting a serious interest in someone. Lucy has no choice but to seduce him and show him that she is the woman of his dreams and the one he is meant to marry, not Miss Sophia Hathaway. Unfortunately for Lucy, she has never even been kissed but she has a book that explains everything. All she needs now is someone with whom to practice.

    Jeremy Trescott has always treasured his visits to Waltham Manor, the home of his good friend, Henry Waltham. It's the only place where he has ever been able to relax and be himself. Growing up with parents who showed neither love nor appreciation for their son, Jeremy learned to close off his emotions years ago. In truth, the only person who has ever been able to get a rise out of him is Lucy, his friend's exasperating younger sister and in Jeremy's own words, his "personal version of a biblical plague." Now she shows up at his bedroom door in the middle of the night with the crazy idea that she is going to seduce Toby...after honing her skills with him! If only she wasn't proving to be such a fast learner.

    I have always enjoyed the "brother's best friend" storyline and I was intrigued by Dare's unique spin on the concept. Lucy does indeed fall for her brother's friend, just not the one that she, and everyone else, expected. But the self admission of her feelings isn't the end of this story but, rather, the beginning of the second half of the book for her greatest challenge, winning Jeremy's love, is still to be achieved and this is one hero who doesn't make it easy.

    That perhaps is Dare's greatest talent as a writer. Aside from the scintillating banter, the lovely, lyrical prose, the humor and angst of young and unrequited love, this is an author who made me care about her characters - all of her characters. I highly recommend GODDESS OF THE HUNT. The next two books in this trilogy, SURRENDER OF A SIREN and A LADY OF PERSUASION will be released August 25th and September 29th, respectively. I'll be counting the days!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super Regency romance

    When eleven year old Lucy Waltham met her brother's kind friend Sir Toby Albridge she fell in love although he shot at her; actually at a partridge not knowing she followed them. He dubbed her Diana, goddess of the hunt. Everyone assumed it was youthful infatuation and the puppy love would end when she turned into a teen.

    In 1817 now nineteen years old, tomboy Lucy knows Toby is the one although he fails to show the same desire. She refuses to believe she is stuck with unrequited love and decides his pursuit of Sophie is wrong. Lucy plans to seduce Toby and decides to practice with another of her brother's friends prime and proper Jeremy Trescott. Three kisses and Jeremy is done but so is Lucy but she does not recognize the signs. Instead she becomes daring Diana on the hunt for Toby while Jeremy tries to keep control of his ardor and prevent Lucy from scandal; he fails at both as they are caught in a compromising way.

    This is a super Regency romance with a strong cast especially the excellent lead female. The brisk story hooks the audience early on as Lucy knows with total certainly Toby is her one until she shares a kiss with Jeremy. Fans will relish this amusing historical tale as the Diana the GODDESS OF THE HUNT must change from tomboy to countess with a new goal convince the husband she did not want but had to marry that he is her one.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Compelling

    Truly one of the best written Regency Romances around! Lucy was an absolute firecracker. And Jeremy had to have been one if the sweetest heroes around. So stern and cold on the outside, but so needing of Lucy's warmth and vitality. Really touching and fine in the end. Well done Ms. Dare!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Fantastic Getaway!

    I loved this story. Loved!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Loved this book from the first chapter; The characters were all

    Loved this book from the first chapter; The characters were all delightful. A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked out some from my library and own all the Spindle Cove novels and novellas as well as the Werestag novella. You will not be dissapointed with any of her writings except that they end! I would like to find a "comparable" author because I just know Tessa's work to be the best for my tastes with the right amount of story, character development, setting, and spice. I was not actually a romance reader until I stumbled upon a free offering of one of her ebooks on my Nook. That was how I even found this genre and now am hooked!

    I have always been a fan of period romance movies and am a stickler for anything set in the Victorian (or earlier) settings of Europe which all of her books are. I do have a few other free historical romances but I just know already I won't be as pleased. I wish Tessa would go full time just writing ONLY Spindle Cove series and that PBS or BBC would pick up the rights and make an ongoing romance seriers for TV that would be hot and heavy and for adult viewers but tasteful. Maybe Netflix??? Wouldn't that be incredible! LOL

    Bascially to sum all this up do not worry one bit about purchasing any of her materials. You will love having them. I have read each of the Spindle Cove series twice and plan to re-read each once a year- Yes they are that good! I stay tuned for pre-orders and have always been on of the first to get a book as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Glad i bought this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    highly recommend

    Thoroughly enjoyed Lucy's story of unrequited love. Her misguided attempts to snag the man of her dreams include attempting to make him jealous by showering her attentions on Jeremy. Jeremy's efforts to keep her away from said man of dreams and attempts at resisting falling for her make for some memorable moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Wonderful book

    From the first page i was rivited and didnt want to put this book down. The best of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    goddess of the hunt writers review

    itz a really sweet buk............. i wud say tessa dare has done a very goood job in writing this buk ........i recommed every1 to read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful romance novel

    Goddess of the hunt by: Tessa Dare

    I believe that this book is the best romance novel I have read. It has a lot of humor in it. The main character is actually two people, it switches from section to section, and it keeps you interested through out the novel. The first main character is a 19 year old lady called Lucy. She believes that she loves a man called Toby who happens to be in love with a Miss Sophia who doesn't really love him. Lucy tries to catch Toby's attention but just ends up falling into the arms of her older brother's best friend Jeremy. Who is the second main character starting to no longer see Lucy as a little girl but a vigorous, beautiful, and talented lady. And his desire gets the best of him and his relationship with Lucy. But little does Lucy know how many secrets one can have. It's a wonderful read; I would not recommend it to younger kids or tweens though, because it is an adult book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I'm a fan!

    I adored Goddess of the Hunt, and am now definitely a Tessa Dare fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    I'm not a fan of giving away too many details in reviews. I usually avoid reading them so I don't learn too much about the plotline. So, I'll just say that I loved this book from the first page and had a hard time putting it down. It was a good thing that I picked it up on a weekend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2