Customer Reviews for

Goddess of the Sea (Goddess Summoning Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid

Ironic as it seems Air Force Staff Sergeant Christine ¿CC¿ Canady hates to fly. So her current assignment taking her from Tinker AFB, Oklahoma on a ninety-day tour in Riyadh is not one she looks forward too. However, her fears prove accurate this time as the plane cra...
Ironic as it seems Air Force Staff Sergeant Christine ¿CC¿ Canady hates to fly. So her current assignment taking her from Tinker AFB, Oklahoma on a ninety-day tour in Riyadh is not one she looks forward too. However, her fears prove accurate this time as the plane crashes into the water. Instead of drowning, Undine a mermaid saves her life. When they kiss, they switch places.

Undine¿s brother Sarpedon tries to rape her, but CC escapes. She meets another merman Dylan who is kind to her. Soon Undine¿s mother Gaia helps CC by allowing her to become human, but every three days she must return to the sea until she finds true love. Sir Andras saves Undine from the sea and takes her to Calder Monastery on Calder Island where Abbot William looks suspiciously upon her amnesia claim and her insistence she is a princess. Andras tries to court her, but turns nasty and dangerous as Sarpedon takes control of his body. CC soon realizes that she loves Dylan and he reciprocates the feeling, but fears what Sarpedon will do to her beloved.

GODDESS OF THE SEA is a solid retelling of Undine¿s tale that readers of adult fairy tale romances will appreciate. The story line is loaded with action on land and at sea. CC as a human soldier or as a mermaid is a strong character; the audience will cherish her, as she serves as the center of this enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

P.C.'s Touch

I am a fan of Cast's "House of Night," so I thought I would delve into her adult series as well. While the story was entertaining enough, I found the characters and certain elements of the story strikingly similar to the aforementioned teen series. This was a little dis...
I am a fan of Cast's "House of Night," so I thought I would delve into her adult series as well. While the story was entertaining enough, I found the characters and certain elements of the story strikingly similar to the aforementioned teen series. This was a little disappointing, but the book was still a delightful magical romance and I am looking forward to reading more in the series.

If you liked this book, you might also enjoy the "Sons of Destiny" series by Jean Johnson, as the magical feel of the stories are quite similar. Be sure to start with "The Sword."

posted by BluHawk on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    P.C.'s Touch

    I am a fan of Cast's "House of Night," so I thought I would delve into her adult series as well. While the story was entertaining enough, I found the characters and certain elements of the story strikingly similar to the aforementioned teen series. This was a little disappointing, but the book was still a delightful magical romance and I am looking forward to reading more in the series.

    If you liked this book, you might also enjoy the "Sons of Destiny" series by Jean Johnson, as the magical feel of the stories are quite similar. Be sure to start with "The Sword."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid

    Ironic as it seems Air Force Staff Sergeant Christine ¿CC¿ Canady hates to fly. So her current assignment taking her from Tinker AFB, Oklahoma on a ninety-day tour in Riyadh is not one she looks forward too. However, her fears prove accurate this time as the plane crashes into the water. Instead of drowning, Undine a mermaid saves her life. When they kiss, they switch places. <P>Undine¿s brother Sarpedon tries to rape her, but CC escapes. She meets another merman Dylan who is kind to her. Soon Undine¿s mother Gaia helps CC by allowing her to become human, but every three days she must return to the sea until she finds true love. Sir Andras saves Undine from the sea and takes her to Calder Monastery on Calder Island where Abbot William looks suspiciously upon her amnesia claim and her insistence she is a princess. Andras tries to court her, but turns nasty and dangerous as Sarpedon takes control of his body. CC soon realizes that she loves Dylan and he reciprocates the feeling, but fears what Sarpedon will do to her beloved. <P>GODDESS OF THE SEA is a solid retelling of Undine¿s tale that readers of adult fairy tale romances will appreciate. The story line is loaded with action on land and at sea. CC as a human soldier or as a mermaid is a strong character; the audience will cherish her, as she serves as the center of this enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid. <P>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This book was AMAZING!. I loved mythology itself and her stories

    This book was AMAZING!. I loved mythology itself and her stories blend so well with it. I actually cried. I plan on reading all of the Goddess Summoning books. Thanks P.C. Cast!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PC Cast does it again

    I've read of of PC & Kristen's House of Night series, and decided to read PC's Goddess Summoning series. What I love best about PC Cast is she writes these fantastically powerful and strong women. She makes you invested in the characters and the story, she's makes you laugh with them and cry with them. Goddess of the Sea is a modern mermaid tale. Here an Air Force communications officer, named CC has her soul transfered with the soul of a mermaid, the daughter of Gaia and Poseidon. There she must find a man to love her for who she is. It's sexy, romantic, thought provoking, beautiful and really a fantastic story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Very Good!

    I just finished this book and I enjoyed it a lot! Going into it, I thought that it would be a silly novel that's main thrill was sex, but after getting less than half way through it I knew it wasn't. This book was very good and touching. It made me cry! I recommend this book to anyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SIGH....

    If you've fallen in love with a broding vampire come to the enchanted side that PC Cast creates! Here you'll meet merman Dylan and, I hope as I do, want to become a mermaid as CC did and find such love! PC's writing isn't Pulitizer but, man it'll sweep you away into a lavish and exciting other world that I'm not sure if I'd ever come back from as some characters do. If you take some time to read this book about CC & Dylan and love her writing style as much as I do, venture a try to love a Centaur in Divine (or Goddess) by Mistake or if you're still wanting a vampire try her collaboration with her daughter Kristen and give the House of Night series a go - Erik, now there's a vamp I'd like to sink 'my' teeth into! I'm off to read some of her other goddess novels. - thanx as always.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Enjoyed this book!!!

    I wasn't sure at first, but I ended up really getting into this book. It was an interesting story, that I felt was very well written. I enjoy P.C. Cast's books. She is a great author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Absolutley adored...

    I absolutley adored this book. Definitley an adult book
    ,though. I dont recommend letting kids under 15 or 16 to read this book. There are three heated-sex parts that get pretty detailed. But its an amazing book. Xoxo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I <3 PC Cast

    This has got to be the one of the best books I have ever read. Trust me I read a lot of books and Ms.Cast has been surprising me with her books of fantasy and romance. I cant express how much Ive become such a fan of PCs works of art.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't like her vampires, but this is something else....

    I loved this book. It was a wonderful blend of romance and magic. I love the way Ms Cast describes the rich underwater scenery. She has a way of making you believe her story could happen. Goddess of the Sea has a very engaging heroine as well as very well developed villains! The heroine is capable, intelligent and witty. Ms. Cast's writing style is very appealing to those of us with a particular bent to sarcastic humor! The story has elements of romance, adventure, and conflict and accurately portrays the difficulty of making life-altering decisions. She lovingly adds a bit of pagan belief structure to her book to get the reader to understand that all women are beautiful, special and create their own wonderful magic. She speaks eloquently of the differences in us all that make us truly unique, and that we should embrace those differences. From the first page to the last, Ms. Cast keeps you spellbound and turning the page, eager to discover what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!

    This book is simply amazing!!!! This grown up version of The Little Mermaid (not that I needed one...cause I LOVE Ariel) had me at first chapter. I started reading it and literally didn't put it down until I was finished. The next day I started the second book in the series and it was just as good. I highly recommend this book and the rest of the series :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Butterflies!!!

    I could feel butterflies in my stomach when I read this story. It was an absolutely wonderful tale of a mermaid fantasy! This is definitely going in the bookshelf as a keeper! Can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Story and Writing Style!

    Christine Canady has been living the life she loves since high school. She joined the US Air Force. But on the eve of her twenty-fifth birthday she realized how lonely her life had been. Expecting her normal package from home she sits down to have her normal two bottles of wine and birthday dinner only to find no package and a message from her mother about how she forgot her birthday.

    A little sad and a lot drunk she decided she needs some magic in her life. She remembers an old text she read about invoking a goddess and digs it out of her book collection and walks out to her balcony and begins the recitation. But how could a mortal woman from the modern world have possibly know what could happen.

    When CC's plane crashes in the ocean, she realizes just what she has done by invoking the power of a goddess. Met by the mermaid Undine (daughter of Posiden) she agrees (unknowingly) to switch bodies with the goddess. CC quickly learns that she may have got herself into more trouble than she was ready for. Turing to Gaea, she convinces the goddess (her mother) to give her a human body so she can go ashore and escape the danger she has encountered since becoming Undine. In doing so she fall's for the sea and an unexpected merman.

    This book is great! I love the Goddess Series by PC Cast. She takes Disney style themes and mythology and wraps them into something new, bold and sexy!

    I had never heard of PC Cast until I read her and her daughters House of Night novels (young adult series), but I guickly fell in love with her writing. I don't know how this gem of a writer has gone unnoticed for so long.

    5 out of 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fell In Love

    A Co-worker gave me this copy of Goddess of the Sea and I fell in love with it right away. I always loved the little mermaid and this has the same feel. I bought the whole series now and I love them to death. A must read for the Romantic in you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Best P.C. Cast by far!

    I've read the Divine Series and the House of Night Series and I assumed this would be along the same lines of writing, but it's not. The plot isn't as interesting or detailed as her other series. It's still a good book, just not my favorite by P.C. Cast.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AmAzInG !!!!

    i loved everything that had to do with this book. Just a unbelievable love story with twists in it. i wasn't able to put it down during my whole flight. Just fell completely in love with goddess of the sea. Fairytale ending the kind every girl wishes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Quirky Love Story, A MUST READ!!!

    I am not a fan of romance novels, AT ALL. They give me acid reflux. That being said, when I saw that one of my favorite authors (PC Cast) had written a romance(although it is in the paranormal) I was a little skeptical. Boy, I WAS WRONG! PC casts (no pun intended) within the first chapter. I found myself unable to put it down. There was a big dose of the paranormal, which I personally cannot get enough of. The love story was something that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. And it's not just a sappy book, either. There is action, mystery, huge plot twists, and what every little girl inside every grown woman longs to be, a beautiful siren of the Sea, a mermaid. This book has it all! So, no matter what genre you are into reading, this book has it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    PC Cast Goddess Books

    Loved this book! I read it in a day. Cried and laughed during that day.Read all of the Goddess books, not just this one, they are all good stories and very fast reading, Beach, boat or in front of the fireplace!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    the best book that i will read over and over again for eternity

    This was the best book i have ever read in my life. It made me laugh, cry , and it had the Fairy Tale ending that all good books should have. It had a true love story that reached over time and space. Now that is the kind of love that you read about that can touch you as much as the charters in the story, I know it touched me deep down in side my heart. It was kind of like the Disney virsion of the Little Mermaid and Wizard of Oz put together. To me this book was so good I would love to see it in the movies. In all I liked this book and I will read this book for 'all eternity'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    magical read. this is the first book I have read by P.C Cast and

    magical read. this is the first book I have read by P.C Cast and i loved it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12