Customer Reviews for

Goddess of the Sea (Goddess Summoning Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid

Ironic as it seems Air Force Staff Sergeant Christine ¿CC¿ Canady hates to fly. So her current assignment taking her from Tinker AFB, Oklahoma on a ninety-day tour in Riyadh is not one she looks forward too. However, her fears prove accurate this time as the plane cra...
Ironic as it seems Air Force Staff Sergeant Christine ¿CC¿ Canady hates to fly. So her current assignment taking her from Tinker AFB, Oklahoma on a ninety-day tour in Riyadh is not one she looks forward too. However, her fears prove accurate this time as the plane crashes into the water. Instead of drowning, Undine a mermaid saves her life. When they kiss, they switch places.

Undine¿s brother Sarpedon tries to rape her, but CC escapes. She meets another merman Dylan who is kind to her. Soon Undine¿s mother Gaia helps CC by allowing her to become human, but every three days she must return to the sea until she finds true love. Sir Andras saves Undine from the sea and takes her to Calder Monastery on Calder Island where Abbot William looks suspiciously upon her amnesia claim and her insistence she is a princess. Andras tries to court her, but turns nasty and dangerous as Sarpedon takes control of his body. CC soon realizes that she loves Dylan and he reciprocates the feeling, but fears what Sarpedon will do to her beloved.

GODDESS OF THE SEA is a solid retelling of Undine¿s tale that readers of adult fairy tale romances will appreciate. The story line is loaded with action on land and at sea. CC as a human soldier or as a mermaid is a strong character; the audience will cherish her, as she serves as the center of this enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

P.C.'s Touch

I am a fan of Cast's "House of Night," so I thought I would delve into her adult series as well. While the story was entertaining enough, I found the characters and certain elements of the story strikingly similar to the aforementioned teen series. This was a little dis...
I am a fan of Cast's "House of Night," so I thought I would delve into her adult series as well. While the story was entertaining enough, I found the characters and certain elements of the story strikingly similar to the aforementioned teen series. This was a little disappointing, but the book was still a delightful magical romance and I am looking forward to reading more in the series.

If you liked this book, you might also enjoy the "Sons of Destiny" series by Jean Johnson, as the magical feel of the stories are quite similar. Be sure to start with "The Sword."

posted by BluHawk on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid

    Ironic as it seems Air Force Staff Sergeant Christine ¿CC¿ Canady hates to fly. So her current assignment taking her from Tinker AFB, Oklahoma on a ninety-day tour in Riyadh is not one she looks forward too. However, her fears prove accurate this time as the plane crashes into the water. Instead of drowning, Undine a mermaid saves her life. When they kiss, they switch places. <P>Undine¿s brother Sarpedon tries to rape her, but CC escapes. She meets another merman Dylan who is kind to her. Soon Undine¿s mother Gaia helps CC by allowing her to become human, but every three days she must return to the sea until she finds true love. Sir Andras saves Undine from the sea and takes her to Calder Monastery on Calder Island where Abbot William looks suspiciously upon her amnesia claim and her insistence she is a princess. Andras tries to court her, but turns nasty and dangerous as Sarpedon takes control of his body. CC soon realizes that she loves Dylan and he reciprocates the feeling, but fears what Sarpedon will do to her beloved. <P>GODDESS OF THE SEA is a solid retelling of Undine¿s tale that readers of adult fairy tale romances will appreciate. The story line is loaded with action on land and at sea. CC as a human soldier or as a mermaid is a strong character; the audience will cherish her, as she serves as the center of this enjoyable adult version of Ariel the mermaid. <P>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Very Good!

    I just finished this book and I enjoyed it a lot! Going into it, I thought that it would be a silly novel that's main thrill was sex, but after getting less than half way through it I knew it wasn't. This book was very good and touching. It made me cry! I recommend this book to anyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SIGH....

    If you've fallen in love with a broding vampire come to the enchanted side that PC Cast creates! Here you'll meet merman Dylan and, I hope as I do, want to become a mermaid as CC did and find such love! PC's writing isn't Pulitizer but, man it'll sweep you away into a lavish and exciting other world that I'm not sure if I'd ever come back from as some characters do. If you take some time to read this book about CC & Dylan and love her writing style as much as I do, venture a try to love a Centaur in Divine (or Goddess) by Mistake or if you're still wanting a vampire try her collaboration with her daughter Kristen and give the House of Night series a go - Erik, now there's a vamp I'd like to sink 'my' teeth into! I'm off to read some of her other goddess novels. - thanx as always.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Enjoyed this book!!!

    I wasn't sure at first, but I ended up really getting into this book. It was an interesting story, that I felt was very well written. I enjoy P.C. Cast's books. She is a great author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't like her vampires, but this is something else....

    I loved this book. It was a wonderful blend of romance and magic. I love the way Ms Cast describes the rich underwater scenery. She has a way of making you believe her story could happen. Goddess of the Sea has a very engaging heroine as well as very well developed villains! The heroine is capable, intelligent and witty. Ms. Cast's writing style is very appealing to those of us with a particular bent to sarcastic humor! The story has elements of romance, adventure, and conflict and accurately portrays the difficulty of making life-altering decisions. She lovingly adds a bit of pagan belief structure to her book to get the reader to understand that all women are beautiful, special and create their own wonderful magic. She speaks eloquently of the differences in us all that make us truly unique, and that we should embrace those differences. From the first page to the last, Ms. Cast keeps you spellbound and turning the page, eager to discover what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AmAzInG !!!!

    i loved everything that had to do with this book. Just a unbelievable love story with twists in it. i wasn't able to put it down during my whole flight. Just fell completely in love with goddess of the sea. Fairytale ending the kind every girl wishes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Quirky Love Story, A MUST READ!!!

    I am not a fan of romance novels, AT ALL. They give me acid reflux. That being said, when I saw that one of my favorite authors (PC Cast) had written a romance(although it is in the paranormal) I was a little skeptical. Boy, I WAS WRONG! PC casts (no pun intended) within the first chapter. I found myself unable to put it down. There was a big dose of the paranormal, which I personally cannot get enough of. The love story was something that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. And it's not just a sappy book, either. There is action, mystery, huge plot twists, and what every little girl inside every grown woman longs to be, a beautiful siren of the Sea, a mermaid. This book has it all! So, no matter what genre you are into reading, this book has it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Wonderful Read!

    The Goddess Summoning Series is great. This is the book that got me hooked on P.C. Cast, and after this one they only get better. Each of these books has a happy ending, but there is always a twist. Especially in this one. I really enjoyed this book, and couldn't put it down. I was sad when it was over. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Question?

    Is there any sex parts i should worry about in this?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good Story

    I was skeptical at first, however like most of PC Cast's series I was immediately drawn in to the character and plot. The bit did tend to drag out a bit towards the end, but I'm assuming this is due to her experimenting with how this series would be with fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Its not that bad!

    first off, idk y its so overpriced. i bought this ebook on my first nook 3G for about $7.00 last year. yes, it was a bit rushed here and there but the i had the chance to fall in love with her characcters! her usual head strong, independent, strong eilled ect. female lead just shows her female pride and how we can voive our own opinions and are not inferior to men. it wasnt a waste of time or money for me. but if u really want an amazing book by her, thn Divine By Mistake is it! u will not regret reading tht one but stop after the first book. her sequels arent to great but the first in the series is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    I liked it...a lot

    I plan to preserve 5* for classics. after saying that, i have to admit this is every girls favorite fairy tale all grown up. it was romantic, sweet, and very hard to put down. it was a beautiful distraction from the real world, but i wish the language had been a bit more descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic First Book

    Goddess of the Sea is a thrilling, romantic sexy read. Perfect for getting lost in. The story line is good, though I question some parts (The Knight and the Abbot...) but otherwise it's pretty great. Highly suggested. Note: It's a very adult book... :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Love in the time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

    Love in the time of Cholera is about an unrequited love; at least until the end. A story in which a young man oppose to a woman falls madly in love with Fermina Darza.Florentino Ariza's love for Fermina is compared to the characteristics of cholera,he runs fevers can't sleep and so on. Although he has shared his bed with many woman and has shown them some form of love, none compare to the great love that he has for Fermina.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I like the originality

    This book was different. I loved the detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Merpeople

    This was a good book in my opinion but one thing I was a little taken back by was when they made out as mer-people. It was not a bad thing but I have never read a book with mer-people in it and to have a sceane like that was.. different. Over all it was a good read. Not my favorite of the series that I have read so far (first 3 books) but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very entertaining

    this book was very good i liked it i wasnt too happy with the ending it although it was a happy ending it wasn't the typical happy ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    A great read!

    Everything was superb, and the love between CC and Dylan was strong, and had me daydreamin' all over! But the reason it only gets 4 stars, is because its missing something from the rest of Cast's books that I've read. The development and journey of how the two characters fall in love. Dylan and CC just 'click' and love eachother. But in Cast's other books, you see the little things before they admit to themselves that they might be falling for the other. I was dissapointed that it was absent here, but the story was magickal nonethless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Lots Of Fun!

    This was a great read! I would recomend this book to anyone who likes romantic fatasy. I raelly enjoyed the characters and the ending had a great twist! A wram and endearing love story. Don't miss out on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    If you're a dreamer you'll love it.

    To make a dream come true some times you must make sacrifices or if you are lucky just call on the goddess Gaea. As you know when you call on a god you may leave your realm, fall in love, but rarely live happily after. Unless you are some how related and in love with a gorgeous merman. I thought it was great! I put it down only to sleep. I hope it will make your dreams as nice as mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4