Customer Reviews for

The Godfather

Average Rating 4.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

one of the best mob stories ever told

i decided to read the godfather because it is one of my favorite movies of all time. now, after having read the book i see the whole story in a different light. mario puzo writes this book with such passion and detail, and writes about each charicter in depth no matter ...
i decided to read the godfather because it is one of my favorite movies of all time. now, after having read the book i see the whole story in a different light. mario puzo writes this book with such passion and detail, and writes about each charicter in depth no matter how small a part they play. i recomend this book for all godfather fanatics. i will leave you breathless no matter how many times you have seen the movie.

posted by theReaderAA on August 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

didn't really impress me

As a big fan of the Godfather movie(s) I jumped at the chance to borrow this book from a friend of mine. 'You will love all the things that weren't covered by the movie,' he promised, 'and when you watch the movie again, you will notice lots of little things you missed...
As a big fan of the Godfather movie(s) I jumped at the chance to borrow this book from a friend of mine. 'You will love all the things that weren't covered by the movie,' he promised, 'and when you watch the movie again, you will notice lots of little things you missed before.' Well, he was half right. The movie is a very accurate translation of the novel, so you will definitely feel deja vu at each turn of the page. Some of the scenes that were cut were used in the Godfather Part II (the young Vito Corleone's rise to power). Others were mercifully banished forever because they were tangiental to the plot (Johnny Fontaine's career as a movie producer) or were insufferably stupid (Lucy Mancini's medical 'issue'). I didn't feel like I gained a great deal of insight on the characters from reading this book, although some of the background material was helpful (Tom Hayden's thoughts, and Don Vito's philosphies especially). I admit that after reading the book, I noticed some subtleties in the movie that I missed in my many previous viewings (Michael's runny nose in Sicily). But let's face it, none of them were critical to my understanding of the movie's plot or the character's motivations. As a stand alone, if you have never seen the movie, don't bother with this book: like many bestsellers it is poorly written, with anemic characterizations and point-to-point prose. This one is for fans only.

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    one of the best mob stories ever told

    i decided to read the godfather because it is one of my favorite movies of all time. now, after having read the book i see the whole story in a different light. mario puzo writes this book with such passion and detail, and writes about each charicter in depth no matter how small a part they play. i recomend this book for all godfather fanatics. i will leave you breathless no matter how many times you have seen the movie.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Yes, It is as good as they say.

    Okay, here's the thing. If you haven't seen the movie or read the book but plan to, READ THE BOOK FIRST. You will appreciate Mario Puzo's style and ability to make you feel like you are right there along side the characters that you fall in love with so much more if you do. Puzo creates a world that is realistic and makes sense with everything that is surrounded by the 1930s. The movie is also a classic. It portrays Puzo's masterpiece in a way I have never seen any other movie do. It gives the book justice and is so close to what Puzo describes, it feels like you are re-reading the book. Again, read the book first. If you haven't already read Puzo's writing, you are missing out. It's not called a classic for nothing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great story by a great author.

    I was amazed at the character study that this book represents and I wanted to turn to the next page before I was finished with the one I was on. Mario Puzo's characters were as real as they come. The realationships between the Don and his family gave you a number of feelings. There were those that he didn't trust, and those that he would give his life for. The Godfather's characters brought you into the story and gave more meaning to it.

    This is the story of the Corleone Family and their existence in the N.Y. Mafia. The story covers a time span of the early 1900's until the late 1940's. The Godfather was the first of its kind. Others have tried to imitate but came up short.

    A great story by a great author. Highly recommend.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Exquisite

    The remarkable thing about Mario Puzo's novel was the way it seemed to be told from the inside out; he didn't give us a world of international intrigue, but a private club as constricted as the seventh grade. Everybody knew everybody else and had a pretty good feeling of what they were up to. The Godfather himself is not even the central character in the book. That position goes to the youngest, brightest son, Michael, who understands the nature of his father's position while revising his old-fashioned ways. The Godfather's role in the family enterprise is described by his name; he stands outside the next generation which will carry on and, hopefully, angle the family into legitimate enterprises.

    All in all this a great novel because it provides the same thirst quenching sensation as a bottle of cold water on a hot and sunny day. Definitely a must

    -Tatian. O

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    An Moral, Tremendous and Thrill Story - You Should Read it !

    The story is about the battle among a potential crime family- Corleone and some other mafia families in New York.
    This story shows that no matter who you are, what kind of job you've been holding - you always maintain your own characteristics and qualities. Don't be affected or attracted by other people or anyone outside the society. It also shows the love and moral inside of a family about how they are happy or sad when one of the family member is in danger. Trying to do the best to protect the family and trust in each member of the family regardless of how bad the consequences will cause.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Amazing Classic!

    Great Novel! Brings out the history of Sicily and the Mafia. This book takes place whre I live which is Long Island! Classic story that will be told for hundreds of years if not thousands!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    My review on The Godfather

    This is very tough to put down. There were a few chapters that weren't interesting, but everything else was hard to stop reading once I started.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    The Godfather

    Probablly one of the best books ive ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Love it

    The Corleones are a fun and diverse group of cgaracters to read about. There's enough diversity to keep it interesting and enough similarity to make them a family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    What a Genre classic

    Best Mob book ever. I never get tired of reading the "Godfather" of all Mafia books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Everyone should read!

    It was the best read when it first came out years ago and I reread now and couldn't put it down. Has your attention at all times. BRAVO!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2015

    Greatness. Greatness!!

    I know people always say "The book was better" but that is more the case with this. While the movie is deserving of all the praise that it has recieved, the book has so many more necessary details that bring this family to life. One word to describe this novel, Greatness!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    One of my favorites

    I saw the movie before reading the book, and i felt the need to pick this up for a read afterwards. It was fantastic. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Mafia

    Im apart of the italian mafia my name is franco dimarrio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    REQUEST

    Kidnap snow and her two kits (father is for<_>cemat<_>er) at winter result 8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Striking

    Hehe. Find new codes. I finished my list of Japanese/Chinese characters, but I still have tons more symbols that i kniw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Viper

    "Yah, I've been to. I've been a female cop. Thats why I liked that job. Because I could kill. But I went on a killing spree after I found out whom and what I really am." Says. "But allright. I'll do it."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Slasher

    &alpha &beta &phone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Buy this book!

    I have read this book so many times the pages began to wear out,it never gets old,an american classic and an absolute must-read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    A must read

    One of my favorite books of all time. It is my favorite movie so I decided to read the book. It is a wonderfully written book that is exciting from the start. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14