Customer Reviews for

Godmother: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Yawn

    I took this book out of the library because I had never heard of the author before and thought it might be good. I read a lot of books and this book didn't turn out to be one of my favorites. The whole book is about the main character always being involved with her friends, godchildren, etc. and how she even got in the way sometimes when she got involved maybe a little too much. The story never seems to develop beyond that. I was hopeful when the story started to turn towards a little romantic twist but that turned into pretty much nothing. If the author would have turned up the excitement at that point, maybe it would have turned out better for me. Who knows...I wouldn't recommend this book unless you are looking for something to make you fall asleep. I can appreciate serious books but I don't think that this book was meant to be so serious. It would have been better with a little romance or something...a little "spice". I apologize to anyone who loved this book...no offense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    Very cute story! The author is a bit more British than the likes of Sophie Kinsella though and some of her words made me laugh! Tessa has 7 godchildren but none of her own. She wonders if she made a mistake somewhere along the way. As the story unfolds, the plot thickens and the characters are much deeper than they originally seem. Not a typical "chick lit" book - a little heavier but excellently written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! I cannot believe this is Carrie Adam's first novel!

    I bought this book as an add-on to my shopping cart in order to qualify for a free-shipping opportunity. I rarely read fiction unless it's highly recommended by a very close friend that knows my tastes.
    I COULD NOT PUT THIS DOWN! The characters are so real; you can identify with them so well it was easy to put faces to each one as if a movie was playing in my head. When it ended,I felt like I did when all my favorite shows on Thursday Nights on NBC ended and there was nothing to watch.
    I love the main character's sarcasm; I laughed out loud many times. It's balanced though, I found myself on the edge of my seat with suspense, like in a movie theater, and then reaching for the kleenex in tears, at other times..Great work. A must must buy for yourself, gift,any occassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    Meh..

    At least it was better than the other book named Godmother...and this girl wasn't completely insane.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Read!!

    I am so happy to have found this author!!
    I found this book to be very witty, funny, sensitive, thoughtful & insightful. Though it may seem a little bit predictable at times,
    I think that overall it's a realistic journey through the assorted lives of a handful of people who have grown up & shared much of
    their lives together.
    It reminds me very much of the following quote:
    "Friends Are The Family That We Choose For Ourselves".
    I was sad to come to the end of this book as I enjoyed it so much,
    but I am also very excited to read her most recent book...'Stepmother'
    - I am confident that it will be equally satisfying!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    The Godmother

    I was totally disappointed with this book. I had seen a large advertisement about this book in PARADE and couldn't wait to order it. When it came in, I ran home, got comfy and started reading. It was hard to not just lay this book aside and never pick it up again. It was so slow moving, I found it hard to stay interested. I think I was half way through the book before I finally decided I was going to finish reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong character study

    After spending six months in India to get away from London following the settlement of a sexual harassment suit that she won, Tessa King comes home. She looks forward to seeing her friends and her godchildren. At the airport her best friend Francesca is too busy to pick her up, but sends her spouse Nick and Tessa¿s oldest godson teenage Caspar. --- Tessa talks to her impoverished pal Billie and her second godchild, seven years old Cora Billie refuses to accept that Cora¿s dad will never be there for his illegitimate daughter as he has a family of his own. She next chats with her pal Helen, mother of five month old twins who will soon be her latest godchildren she hates Helen¿s spouse comedian Neil who cheats on her and has left her so despondent. Tessa also says hi to childless couples, Claudia and Al who are trying to have a child, and Ben and Sasha Tessa is attracted to reliable Ben. Whereas her friends are somewhat jealous of Tessa¿s freedom and appreciate how she dotes on their offspring, Tessa is jealous of their marriages and wonders if it is time for her to marry and raise a family. --- The lead protagonist is a reliable caring person who keeps the story line focused in spite of the myriad of subplots floating around and through her. The ensemble support cast contains several clearly defined characters as each of those mentioned above and others have distinct personalities. However, there are too many major strings to follow although the sum of the parts leads to a deep character study of a swinging single relooking at her values. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2