BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gods Behaving Badly: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid debut, definitely worth a read

Despite its surface similarity to Neil Gaiman's ''American Gods,'' the two books couldn't be more different. ''Gods Behaving Badly'' takes that basic concept -- pagan gods of old forced to live and take jobs among us mortals -- but puts a ''Four Weddings and a Funeral''...
Despite its surface similarity to Neil Gaiman's ''American Gods,'' the two books couldn't be more different. ''Gods Behaving Badly'' takes that basic concept -- pagan gods of old forced to live and take jobs among us mortals -- but puts a ''Four Weddings and a Funeral'' kind of spin on it. This is a character-centered romantic comedy, and it's very good at what it does. The gods are as shallow, petty, and self-centered as ever, and the mortals they interact with -- Alice and Neil -- while not terribly well-rounded, adequately fill the roles of 'mortal who enrages the gods' and 'reluctant hero' respectively. Marie Phillips has crafted a light, amusing read, and I hope there will be more to come from her.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish I Hadn't Wasted My Time

This should have been a cute, funny, interesting read, a fish-out-of-water story about bored and impish gods. Instead it was tedious and boring, and I couldn't get into any of the characters. It went from boring to downright silly, and the outcome was less than satisf...
This should have been a cute, funny, interesting read, a fish-out-of-water story about bored and impish gods. Instead it was tedious and boring, and I couldn't get into any of the characters. It went from boring to downright silly, and the outcome was less than satisfying. I would not recommend it to anybody, and gave it to the trashman as soon as I finished it. I kept hoping it would improve, but it didn't. A clever idea that never came off.

posted by DeePee on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    A good, raunchy read with smatterings of academia, romance, black comedy and blue lit.

    This book is a pleasant read. The beginning knocks you about a bit and lets you know right away what kind of book you're dealing with, and that is in-your-face, pull-no-punches kind of writing. It is fun to watch the characters develop, both the unknown romantic ingenues (of sorts), and the well-known gods, who are well-developed and altered to fit into today's world with their ancient attributes and charms. The story takes a while to get going, but it does keep one guessing as to what the final outcome could possibly be...will Zeus be released again, will Apollo and Aphrodite make up, will the gods die out? These are potentially big questions that are treated to a kind of Showtime/Cinemax answer. It's fun, it's light-hearted, and it's one that I'll more than likely regift to a non-relative at some point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Wish I Hadn't Wasted My Time

    This should have been a cute, funny, interesting read, a fish-out-of-water story about bored and impish gods. Instead it was tedious and boring, and I couldn't get into any of the characters. It went from boring to downright silly, and the outcome was less than satisfying. I would not recommend it to anybody, and gave it to the trashman as soon as I finished it. I kept hoping it would improve, but it didn't. A clever idea that never came off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Solid debut, definitely worth a read

    Despite its surface similarity to Neil Gaiman's ''American Gods,'' the two books couldn't be more different. ''Gods Behaving Badly'' takes that basic concept -- pagan gods of old forced to live and take jobs among us mortals -- but puts a ''Four Weddings and a Funeral'' kind of spin on it. This is a character-centered romantic comedy, and it's very good at what it does. The gods are as shallow, petty, and self-centered as ever, and the mortals they interact with -- Alice and Neil -- while not terribly well-rounded, adequately fill the roles of 'mortal who enrages the gods' and 'reluctant hero' respectively. Marie Phillips has crafted a light, amusing read, and I hope there will be more to come from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Fans ofgreek myth

    You will giggle and say things like "That is SO whatAphrodite would do!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Is it for kids?y

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Just read the sample

    Enjoyed it but i never pictured apollo that way before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great

    This was a great book! I loved it so much! I want to give a seven star if I could,espessialy because I love to read something that has greek mythology in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    great book

    i thought it was a great book. not too long and a little funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Funny...Very Clever

    I might would have rated this lower if I had read it at a different time, but this is another post-surgery read. It was light, clever, and funny.

    With the advent of Christianity, the gods of Olympus have been relegated to a flat in London or scattered abroad. They each take menial jobs and must refrain from using their powers as it weakens them each time. Examples of new professions include: Aphrodite as a telephone sex operator, Apollo as a TV psychic, Dionysus operates a bar, Artemis walks dogs for a living, and Athena works at a college. In classic Greek mythology style, Apollo attempts to seduce a mortal. Angry at Alice's rejection, he tricks Zeus into killing her. Once Artemis realizes what has happened, she enlists the aid of a mortal to act as a hero to save Alice and the world since Apollog has collapsed into a coma, no longer commanding the sun.

    The book is funny and has a clever premise. However, it can be crude (at least in my opinion) in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, fun, fun!

    This is such a great book when you need to escape, have fun, and laugh. The writing is simple but sometimes you don't want to have to think too much. If you love Greek mythology; love to read; and want something for pure guilty pleasure then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome! Wonderful! 12 Olympian Thumbs Up!

    OMG! A-W-E-S-O-M-E Book. The cussing (hilarious!), the romance (sweet), the sexual content (funny!). It's a perfect book if you know just a little about the greek gods. Aphrodite. A Phone Sex Operator. That's what made me want to get this book. I knew, so funny! It does not get boring. I read fast because of the short chapters. There's like 40. But only 4 or 5 page chapters. Couldn't put the book down. The book cover raised alot of questions with the guy in smily face speedos. But you know what your momma sats "don't judge a book by its cover!" But literally. Wow! Apollo going OFF on his twin sister. Aphrodite talking to her son in a funny sexual way. Artemis finding a woman turned into a tree because she wouldn't give Apollo a b.j. This is a real fun book. I truly recomend this great-ending book! I could read it 5 times. Oops, too late!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Witty and creative

    This book is filled with interesting characters and dynamics that I wouldn't want to compare to anything else I've read. I appreciate the uniqueness and creativity that this author brought to the table and look forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Good for a rainy afternoon

    Good fun, an easy read with a fun twist on classic Greek mythology. Based on this one, I will read her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    One of the most enjoyable books I've read in awhile

    I've read both Gods Behaving Badly and American Gods. The only similarity between the two are the fact that the stories are about Gods in modern day life. The tone, plot, writing, characters - everything is completely different. I enjoyed both books, but I have to say - I enjoyed Gods Behaving Badly more. There was plenty of humor and enjoyable chaos that made me unable to put the book down. Some of it was dirty humor, but it was done in the best, undeniably British way. It's not the type of book that will be labled as a classic years down the road, but it will forever be on my bookshelf, and I am sure that I will read it again from time to time. After finishing it a few months ago, I still have to laugh about some of the moments in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    LAUGHING WITH TEARS

    Artemis-walking dogs, Apollo-TV psychic, Aphrodite-phone sex operator - what a cast of characters! I laughed and cried from the first chapter to the last. It's light-hearted and fun. This book will let your brain rest for a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    this is quite clearly a ripoff of neil gaiman's American Gods, in which the deities of yesterday are forced to get 'average' jobs - gas station attendant, prostitute, etc - and accomplishes itself a bit better by being far less MTV reality show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    not appalled

    I did enjoy Marie Phillips book. She was able to fictionally describle what it would be like for a God/Goddess to exist in present day. Just because there are other books of the same subject, doesn't mean that it's a 'rip-off'. Judge for yourself, read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4