Customer Reviews for

Gods' Concubine (Troy Game Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    wow this book is sad. so sad, for our main character. but i read the whole book and it is pretty good. to some degree one becomes attached to the characters and you feel their pain. owed to good writing. this is the 4th book of douglas im reading and i have to say i have become a fan. i hope the end of this series is written well. but i loved the first book and cant wait to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Another Great Sara Douglass tale

    Where I had been rather scared of the outcome with this installment in the series because of Hades' Daughter, I found I was definitely happier with this book. You can get deeper into the characters heads and understand them a lot better. A lovely book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    loved it

    i love this series - each novel is in a different time period, so you get the intricate plot of a series without getting bored. also, the characters devleop well, which is always a plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Monumental Epic!

    Gods' Concubine, by Sara Douglass, is a most amazing piece of literature. Each and every page is riddled with imagination and intrigue, all of which surround five main characters. An English Prince, a Norweigen Duke full of ambition, a spiteful and beguiling witch, a corrupted and lust-filled minatour, and a virgin queen. The depth and perception that is sewn into each character and scenario blossoms with originality as these five attempt to finish what was started over a thougsand years ago (read HADES DAUGHTER) a game in which their lives, and the life of the very land is at stake. This book is definitely not for those who frown at puzzles! I assure you that you will cry, you will gasp, and you will be-moan the emotional rollarcoaster of love, lust, and deception! And I am more than assured that the ending will leave you gasping frantically for the next piece of this intricate puzzle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Best book ever!

    I have read all of Sara's books and this series is my altime favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Superb fantasy

    The Minotaur Asterion wants nothing more than to make sure that the Labyrinth stays destroyed for it is the only thing that can control him and prevent him from doing evil. When Troy fell, Brutus and his wife Cornelia traveled to the world now known as England where he met the mistress of the Labyrinth. They almost succeeded in rebuilding the TroyGame and completing the Labyrinth where they will gain immortality. A jealous Cornelia killed her rival Genvissa with the help of Asterion. Brutus and Genvissa must wait for another incarnation to complete the Game and achieve Immortality................................. For millennia Asterion has prevented them from being reborn but unable to find the six gold bands of power, he is forced to allow them to come back into the world so Brutus can lead him to the rings. King William of Normandy is Brutus. The Saxon King Alfred¿s wife Caela was once known as Cornelia. She is also the sister of Harold, once known as Col, the Saxon Earl who will be the next king of England. He is married to Swanne, the woman Cornelia once killed. Asterion knows who the players are, who they once were and is guiding their movements like a puppet master................................ The story of Alfred the Confessor and the war between Harold and William is given an original twist in this alternate world fantasy GOD¿S CONCUBINE. This is primarily a reincarnation fantasy story whose characters are reborn to learn lessons they missed in their last incarnation. The elements of history, romance and fantasy blend together to make Sara Douglass¿s work a compelling reading experience.......................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1