Customer Reviews for

God's Guest List: Welcoming Those Who Influence Our Lives

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Listing Inspiring People as Way of Journaling Seemingly Serendipitous Encounters

In common with many other Type A personalities, the internationally renowned author of more than 100 novels, Debbie Macomber, who has more than 100 million books currently in print, is an inveterate list maker. In the past, she confesses, she drew up a list of all those...
In common with many other Type A personalities, the internationally renowned author of more than 100 novels, Debbie Macomber, who has more than 100 million books currently in print, is an inveterate list maker. In the past, she confesses, she drew up a list of all those people whom she had long admired and whom she wished to meet. However, by trial and error she came to realize that the guest list that she had drawn up for herself was much inferior to that which God had for her life. Now Macomber also invites us to keep ourselves open to all those people whom we encounter along the way who unexpectedly bring us closer to Him in our daily path. She assures us that if we anticipate that each one of those whom we meet might be a person whom God has sent into our lives to teach us more about how best we can serve Him, we open ourselves up to a world of possibility. For our lives to be fulfilling, we need to examine each aspect of our existence with a God focus. According to Macomber, "[t]he key to accomplishing any discipline in life, whether it is setting goals, losing weight, changing behavior, or discovering God's guest list, is to be intentional, to be aware, and to be able to chart our findings." She, therefore, encourages us to journal God's guest list, even if it is merely recording the names of those whom we meet who really bring the presence of God on Earth into our lives. Though we might not be as gifted with the ability to write as Macomber undoubtedly is, we, too, all have our own gifts to present to the world. The spirit of being able to receive gracefully, as well as to give plenteously, is what the Christian life is all about. Each of the fifteen chapters of God's Guest List: Welcoming Those Who Influence Our Lives starts with a Bible verse that focuses on the central concern of that section of the text. Macomber then explores her own experiences, as well as those of others, related to the issue at stake, ending with a few lines on what we can take from the encounter. The author's writing is fluent, warm and highly accessible. Although she is very much Christ-focused, Macomber's approach is so welcoming and gentle that I would not hesitate to recommend this book, even to those who are, as yet, still rather uncertain about their faith. Not only is God's Guest List truly a work worth investing in, but most likely, if you haven't yet had the pleasure of reading Macomber's other works, don't be surprised if you feel the call to read others of her works once you have finished this-I know I have.

posted by ProReviewing on December 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's Okay

I found this to be an "Okay" book by Debbie Macomber. Picked up a few tips that I can use, but overall not enough to carry the price of this book. A short story should only command short story prices; not novel prices. Book is heartfelt and the Scriptures quoted are on ...
I found this to be an "Okay" book by Debbie Macomber. Picked up a few tips that I can use, but overall not enough to carry the price of this book. A short story should only command short story prices; not novel prices. Book is heartfelt and the Scriptures quoted are on point and very good. I guess I expected more. LOL!

posted by Jassinc6 on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    Listing Inspiring People as Way of Journaling Seemingly Serendipitous Encounters

    In common with many other Type A personalities, the internationally renowned author of more than 100 novels, Debbie Macomber, who has more than 100 million books currently in print, is an inveterate list maker. In the past, she confesses, she drew up a list of all those people whom she had long admired and whom she wished to meet. However, by trial and error she came to realize that the guest list that she had drawn up for herself was much inferior to that which God had for her life. Now Macomber also invites us to keep ourselves open to all those people whom we encounter along the way who unexpectedly bring us closer to Him in our daily path. She assures us that if we anticipate that each one of those whom we meet might be a person whom God has sent into our lives to teach us more about how best we can serve Him, we open ourselves up to a world of possibility. For our lives to be fulfilling, we need to examine each aspect of our existence with a God focus. According to Macomber, "[t]he key to accomplishing any discipline in life, whether it is setting goals, losing weight, changing behavior, or discovering God's guest list, is to be intentional, to be aware, and to be able to chart our findings." She, therefore, encourages us to journal God's guest list, even if it is merely recording the names of those whom we meet who really bring the presence of God on Earth into our lives. Though we might not be as gifted with the ability to write as Macomber undoubtedly is, we, too, all have our own gifts to present to the world. The spirit of being able to receive gracefully, as well as to give plenteously, is what the Christian life is all about. Each of the fifteen chapters of God's Guest List: Welcoming Those Who Influence Our Lives starts with a Bible verse that focuses on the central concern of that section of the text. Macomber then explores her own experiences, as well as those of others, related to the issue at stake, ending with a few lines on what we can take from the encounter. The author's writing is fluent, warm and highly accessible. Although she is very much Christ-focused, Macomber's approach is so welcoming and gentle that I would not hesitate to recommend this book, even to those who are, as yet, still rather uncertain about their faith. Not only is God's Guest List truly a work worth investing in, but most likely, if you haven't yet had the pleasure of reading Macomber's other works, don't be surprised if you feel the call to read others of her works once you have finished this-I know I have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I Recommend!

    God¿s Guest List is a hit with me because I am fascinated by personality disorders and deep-rooted, mind-altering dilemmas and how to repair damage. If all would heed these stories there wouldn¿t be so many deep-rooted problems to begin with. This is down-to-earth and touching in multiple stories that reach straight into the heart of the matter, the influence everyone you meet has on your life story. We need to pay attention to the mirrors, the blessings, the ¿ah hah¿ moments and words spoken or not spoken. We need to heed what we say and realize that our words can help or discourage. This is a gem of a book and I can¿t recommend it highly enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    A Must Read!

    God's Guest List by Debbie Macomber is a must read! Each chapter is full of personal stories, in the way that only Debbie Macomber can write. It's then followed by a section which discusses the ideals and/or lessons that she's learned along her life and wishes to share with us. At the end of each chapter there is a wonderful "RSVP" section that allows the reader to examine their own lives and suggestions on how the reader may wish to apply the lesson to enhance their own lives as well as the lives of those they come in contact with. Debbie's honesty and openness in sharing her faith, her own personal struggles as well as her blessings really brings truth to her words and for me is a wonderful inspiration! This book carried a message that spoke deeply to my heart and just lifted me up to a new level. It helped me to find new positive ways of looking at my past, my present and my future and helped instill in me a greater need to impact others lives in such a positive way as well. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    It's Okay

    I found this to be an "Okay" book by Debbie Macomber. Picked up a few tips that I can use, but overall not enough to carry the price of this book. A short story should only command short story prices; not novel prices. Book is heartfelt and the Scriptures quoted are on point and very good. I guess I expected more. LOL!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    good book

    I really enjoyed this book. I saw it displayed at the library and picked it up. I was reading it when my friend of 30 years passed away it was very insightful. People do touch your lives and thats what molds us as a person. Think about this as your life intermixes with others. I came to this sight to order a copy for her daughters. I didn't relize that this book had just came out I am very gratful for the timing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Great book

    excellent book that makes you think about your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Written very warmly. It was a cozy book, much like other Debbie books. I have referenced it a few times since reading it. I actually did the 'guest book list' myself and it gives me a better perspective on who enters my life and what they can give me, or what I can give them. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    I look at people different now!

    God's Guest List encouraged me to view everyone I meet differently now! It did end slowly but I tried to search for something in each story. I DO recommend it all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Excellent

    Written well and covers all points I was looking for without preaching

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    I do not recommend

    The first chapter started out great & excited me because I wanted to see how God uses relationships & people in general to influence your life & sometimes your faith. But one statement she said was that this book was not about her. That was wrong! This book is definitely about her & unfortunately I could not relate. I wanted a general idea not an opinion filled retelling of her life with no anecdotes as to how her experience relates to God's word or how it might relate to someone else's life. I only liked the first and last chapter; everything in between did nothing for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3