Customer Reviews for

God's Hotel: A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Read this book, you will be better for it.

This book should be read by anyone interested in modern history, medieval history, medicine, sociology, religion or humanity . Victoria Sweet is an exceptional historian, great story teller, caring doctor and felicitous writer. Her message rouses emotions of triumph, ...
This book should be read by anyone interested in modern history, medieval history, medicine, sociology, religion or humanity . Victoria Sweet is an exceptional historian, great story teller, caring doctor and felicitous writer. Her message rouses emotions of triumph, pathos and anger. Those who practice medicine will yearn for the collegiality, common sense and humanity afforded by "slow medicine" and recognize the threats posed to a once sacred bond between doctor and patient by efficiency consultants, electronic medical records and the change of medicine from a profession to a commodity.
Would that those responsible for Health Care Reform, could inform their intentions with Sweet's message. Doctors, patients and society would be better served.

posted by PhilipMGoldMD on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

A great book especially if your are familiar with healthcare. It would be wonderful if all healthcare providers were so concerned and tuned in to their patients.

posted by evatx on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Read this book, you will be better for it.

    This book should be read by anyone interested in modern history, medieval history, medicine, sociology, religion or humanity . Victoria Sweet is an exceptional historian, great story teller, caring doctor and felicitous writer. Her message rouses emotions of triumph, pathos and anger. Those who practice medicine will yearn for the collegiality, common sense and humanity afforded by "slow medicine" and recognize the threats posed to a once sacred bond between doctor and patient by efficiency consultants, electronic medical records and the change of medicine from a profession to a commodity.
    Would that those responsible for Health Care Reform, could inform their intentions with Sweet's message. Doctors, patients and society would be better served.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a physician who was fortunate enough to have received an adv

    I'm a physician who was fortunate enough to have received an advance copy of Dr. Victoria Sweet's "God's Hotel." This is the true story of an internal medicine physician and her experiences at Laguna Honda Hospital, a place where doctors aren't constrained by the economic stressors of practicing modern medicine. Patients often stayed for months at a time, as their medical problems were addressed by looking at all facets of their being, not just lab results or x-rays. Her book describes in wonderful detail the concept of "slow medicine," where doctors and nurses write their chart notes longhand and have the time to review all aspects of their patients' health, without worrying about the three patients in exam rooms still waiting to see them. Whereas current medical administrators may consider this idea archaic and unrealistic, the stories of the many patients who benefitted from this methodical, holistic approach to treating patients are truly moving and affecting.
    Unfortunately, like most things in life, Laguna Honda eventually succumbs to the pressures of modern medicine, as "Heath Care Efficiency Experts" are hired to come in and make the place more profitable and efficient. While they help make the hospital shinier and more modern, the care of the patients suffers, and this old-fashioned, loving approach to practicing medicine finally disappears altogether. Dr. Sweet writes about these changes in a sobering tone, yet it's a testament to her writing skills that the reader is always infused with hope. "God's Hotel" is a really nice, eye-opening read with writing that reflects the care Laguna Honda gave its patients.
    Overall, "God's Hotel" is one of my favorite recent medical memoirs. This past year has been great for fans of this genre, so if you like this book I'd recommend two others that would serve as great companions.
    In Stitches is an immensely entertaining read about one doctor's journey through medical school. It's one of the only medical memoirs that's made me laugh out loud, shed a few tears, and reminesce about my years as a young doctor-to-be. It's my favorite of the past year.
    Dr. Meghan Weir's Between Expectations: Lessons from a Pediatric Residency is a really interesting memoir about a young pediatrician and her experiences in residency and overseas. I highly recommend this book for readers interested in pediatrics.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Great story of the way hospitals and doctors used to be,personable,caring,underpaid. I worked in healthcare for 42 years and saw all the changes she speaks about. She must be an amazing physician.Easy reading

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    I thought this was a wonderful book. I grew up in San Francisco

    I thought this was a wonderful book. I grew up in San Francisco and remember going to the "Laguna Honda Home" where both my grandmother and uncle died. We were pretty poor and I never could understand how my grandmother received such good care when we had no hospital insurance. That was back in the 1950s and I can still remember how imposing the big old hospital was. Dr. Sweet has written a beautiful, loving book on patient care and the wisdom in using "slow medicine". The reason I gave it four stars instead of five was that I thought there was a little bit too much written about medical politics, but then I realize that those politics are what has gotten us into the HMO mess we have now.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great book!

    Was a very interesting and good book. Very informative learned a lot about the medical profession and how they worked in the past. Dedicated doctor.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Although for some reason it took me a while to get through, God's Hotel was an amazing book. It shows a a doctor's, and a hospital's journey and transformation, as they grow and change together. It's not often that I add a book to my personal library, I usually end up passing them on, but this one stays with me. It'd recommend it to anyone, but I'm definitely not sharing my copy, it's a book I could read over and over again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A great book especially if your are familiar with healthcare. It would be wonderful if all healthcare providers were so concerned and tuned in to their patients.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    A wonderful story that depicts the day in the life of a Doctor t

    A wonderful story that depicts the day in the life of a Doctor thinking outside of modern medicine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    :)

    :)

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    A Pilgrim's Progress...lessons for life, business, government and community

    Dr. Sweet shares the fascinating chronicle of her personal and professional journey from a two-month commitment to be an admitting physician through a significant body of learning about the evolution of the health care industry, local government, business and management, and the fundamentals of community. Highly recommended for people who care and serve, those who manage or adminster in the public interest, and those who vote.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Interesting and thought provoking - good read for these troubled times in healthcare

    Though this book focuses on changes at an almshouse in the San Francisco area, it highlights the trouble with the American health care provider system. I've been a victim of doctor's relying on technology when they should have listened to me, the patient and so I found the author's views refreshing. And the stories of her patients were interesting and entertaining, full of humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    As a retired nurse, I think this should be required reading for

    As a retired nurse, I think this should be required reading for all those who work, or have worked in the medical profession. It brings back the days of true compassion and caring before medical care evolved into a business of making money and disregarding the patients' needs and feelings. Tjhank you, Dr. Sweet for having the courage to tell it like it is, sad though that may be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    A Sweet read

    Victoria Sweet delivers a very readable medical book that sagely evaluates illnesses within the context of the "whole" person. She objectively researches the broad spectrum of historical and current medicine and their relationship while offering charming personal stories from her own practice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Thank you Dr. Sweet

    I really liked this book. It's an interesting combination including stories and history tied together with a personal journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Well written, blending interesting patient histories and insight into the capricious politics of healthcare in such a way that the reader has an understanding of how modern medicine, even with it's wonderful capabilities, can sometimes not only fail to provide the best care, but can also impede it. Sometimes slower is better. Take your time and savor this informative and enjoyable book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Excellent read and good insite into the evolving world of medici

    Excellent read and good insite into the evolving world of medicine with an interesting perspective of how it effects the providers of care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    God's Hotel

    Iloved this book. What a story of spiritual growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    :)

    loved it, a journey through the decline of our health system and when physicians were worried less about lawsuits, patients worried less about malpractice and we understood patients and health providers are humans. Great look who the patient was and then addressing the health need.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    To LC

    I want food

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Karla to brooke

    So whats happening

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2