BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

God's Hotel: A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Read this book, you will be better for it.

This book should be read by anyone interested in modern history, medieval history, medicine, sociology, religion or humanity . Victoria Sweet is an exceptional historian, great story teller, caring doctor and felicitous writer. Her message rouses emotions of triumph, ...
This book should be read by anyone interested in modern history, medieval history, medicine, sociology, religion or humanity . Victoria Sweet is an exceptional historian, great story teller, caring doctor and felicitous writer. Her message rouses emotions of triumph, pathos and anger. Those who practice medicine will yearn for the collegiality, common sense and humanity afforded by "slow medicine" and recognize the threats posed to a once sacred bond between doctor and patient by efficiency consultants, electronic medical records and the change of medicine from a profession to a commodity.
Would that those responsible for Health Care Reform, could inform their intentions with Sweet's message. Doctors, patients and society would be better served.

posted by PhilipMGoldMD on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

A great book especially if your are familiar with healthcare. It would be wonderful if all healthcare providers were so concerned and tuned in to their patients.

posted by evatx on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    K

    Yeap

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Brooke

    What?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Great read.

    I personally found this book wonderful. I am a nurse and remember when health care before technology became the way to determine diagnosis. It was a heart warming story of a doctor and her patient's. It was also a study of evolving assessment of a patient. Because I am a member of the health profession I enjoyed the book. My question is, would it appeal to someone not in the health field?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    "God's Hotel" Should be required reading for anyone tr

    "God's Hotel" Should be required reading for anyone training for any aspect of the medical field - for interns, Medical Asssitants, Nurse Practioners, you name it - not to mention political leaders.  After reading this book, I felt that I really knew and cared about each of the patients - as individuals - and I believe that's the most important lesson that "God's Hotel" has for us. The true mission of medical care is not about money; it's about caring for each patient  as an individual. This is, of course, easier said than done - as the realities of everyday life  (like keeping hospitals open, obscenely huge malpractice awards etc.) impinge upon the caregiving. But everyone who is any human services field owes it to their patients/clients, as well as themselves, to periodically take stock of motives, and attitudes, to try to remember that the bottom line is the care of each individual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Love this book! Reads like a novel and very informative for those interested in good healthcare. I'm still reading this book and have found it educational as I am in the healthcare field. Very insightful as to how to provide the best care for individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Well worth reading

    A reflective narrative about the last alms hospital in the US and how Dr. Sweet believes the practice of medicine there prior to its rebuilding could be an important and relatively inexpensive part of our healthcare system. Dr. Sweet provides several interesting examples of how she approached patients and their conditions that highlight the effectiveness of her work. Rather than repeated emergency room visits and acute hospital stays for individuals living in poverty who have serious chronic conditions and illnesses, Laguna Honda provided a safe, monitored recovery.

    Using her research into the premodern practices of Hildegard of Bingen, a 12th c. nun and healer, Dr. Sweet calls on old ways of healing, including careful observation of and listening to the patient, detailed histories and the healing power of time to assist her patients. She laments that the US abandoned many useful old practices when the medical community went modern a hundred years ago. She noted that ome of those practices continue to be used in other modern countries, including a good diet, pleasant surroundings, herbal remedies, etc.

    She includes an interesting section on the role of economists and efficiency experts in medical planning and decision-making that questions the priorities in spending that go with their consulting itself and the advice they give.

    Over and over I thought about how our national conversation about the costs and methodologies of modern health care should include a close look at the potential role of the alms hospital as well as consideration of some of those premodern methodologies. My mother learned some nursing in her technical high school many years ago, and some of the ways she took care of us sound like the "old" ways rather than over-dependence on quick and expensive fixes of medications, surgery, etc. Less was often better in her mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Love it

    This was a woderful book filled with inspiration and hope for all. The authors personal story is intriguing, i love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL

    I WAS INTRIGUED BY HOW THE AUTHOE COMBINED ANCIENT MEDICINE WITH THE MODERN.HER COMPASSION FOR THOSE WHO HAD NO ONE AND WERE SUFFERING IS SHOWN THROUGHOUT THE BOOK. EVERY PHYSICIAN SHOULD READ THIS BOOK. AS A STUDENT AT TEMPLE UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL IN THE 1950'S I CAN REMEMBER THE BIG OPEN WARDS IN THE OLD PART OF THE HOSPITAL. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A SEQUEL TO THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2