Customer Reviews for

God's Middle Finger: Into the Lawless Heart of the Sierra Madre

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    My new favorite writer

    Wow. What an exciting tale. Read it! Compelling subject matter and such description! It is a marvellously exciting story, even more heart-thumping because it is true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    I LOVED this book! So much so that I read it twice, which is a f

    I LOVED this book! So much so that I read it twice, which is a first for me. I disagree with the first reviewer entirely. No doubt he's the kind of person who travels solely to reach a very precise destination, not realizing the value of the journey along the way. I travelled to the Sierra Madre region of Mexico myself. I believe Richard Grant captivates the underlying atmosphere to perfection. Incidentally, flicking through a book, isn't reading a book. Just like life. WELL DONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Capitvating Title

    This was my first intro to a travel guide & I give the author credit for being intriguing enough for me to want to read other books on travel. Most likely, however, I would not read another by him. The "sample" of this book and the introduction were the best parts of the book. In the middle I kept waiting to find out how he got into the situation protrayed in the introduction. The book really didn't build up to it & that experience turned out to be the most exciting thing that happened to him. At one point the author talked about being sick of the machismo of the men in the Sierra Madre. After as many references as he'd made, you are sick of it at that point too. Perhaps he could've condensed this book into a few chapters in a book with more exciting experiences. I wouldn't discount the book completely, however. I read it quickly, looking for an explanation for the beginning, but it was still a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Quite an adventure

    Entertaining with a good mix of yarn spinning and interesting cultural observations. If you like Troost you will love Grant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Greatly Recommended - extremely insightful

    In GODS MIDDLE FINGER Richard Grant takes a trip threw the Sierra Madre mountains in Mexico. This area of Mexico is where most of the drug cartels reside. Threw out the book a reoccurring theme is the shear amount of danger because of the gross macho culture and lack of authority. Not until I read this book did I realize how little understanding I have of Mexico's culture. Grant let me see into the minds of Mexicans, he let me see that they live in a fairyland where the whole truth is worthless and storytelling prevails as fact. I found that at a few, and very few, junctions I became board because Grant went into too many specifics; again this was very marginal. Every American should read this book because it will give and unbelievable amount of insight into a country so close too our own. If you enjoyed this book I think you would also enjoy "The Glass Castle" because both books are truth and both books give insight into very different ways of living ones life. I highly recommend "God's Middle Finger."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Can't Stop Thinking About It

    So much fun I read it in two sittings and have ordered more for family and friends. Typically a fiction reader, I may convert after this book--he provides an informational foray into a mysterious land with characters you couldn't invent if you tried. His descriptions of the various cultures and their mores are gritty and realistic, yet somehow tender. Mostly, this book is plain hilarious. It's not all fun, though--you will be thinking about this area of the world long after you read God's Middle Finger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Excellent Adventure

    I have told people that any book with such a title needs to be read. It lives up to expectations. Captivating, rich in detail and at times near breathless. To be sure there are one or two slow spells but the book is a quick read and fascinating in detail.
    Having lived in the US near the Mexican border recently I was somewhat prepared for the vivid description of lawlessness and corruption just south of the border. I wonder though if people less familiar with the area can imagine the conditions the author describes. Murder and mayhem, drug and gun running, world class distance runners who love to smoke and drink.
    I highly recommend this book for people interested in adventure or foreign relations for that matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Read

    Truth is stranger than fiction hike through a weirdly wonderful scary canyon of thieves, gangsters, murderers, and a cast of unsavories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    great book

    i found this book in the travel section...strange place for it.loved this booked.it was exciting and filled with facts and fun.i learned a lot from this book..very very interesting and very well written.i have reccommened this book to many of my friends..i am sure you will love it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    A different kind of trip

    The start hooked me in. The people were interesting. The history was educational. The current situation was enlightening. If the book were 75 pages shorter it would have been more enjoyable. Unfortunately it tended to return to the same core. There are drugs and narcos in the mountains, life is dangerous, despite the adversity life goes on. Perhaps the author had no choice, life in the Mexican mountains is as it is, and the sameness is only altered by the characters one met. But it seems that the ending of each tale became predictable. It was the sameness that hurt this work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    True to its honest grit!

    Richard Grant he really did outstanding report of the serious issues that haunts and plauges the hispanic communities and its borders. A really must read for any politician who really wants to tackle the illegal immigration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2