Customer Reviews for

God's Not Dead: Evidence for God in an Age of Uncertainty

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have really enjoyed reading God's Not Dead because of its acce

I have really enjoyed reading God's Not Dead because of its accessibility and readability. I have read other books on apologetics that have been hard to approach and even harder to translate into a conversation with someone. Dr. Broocks is excellent at taking big concep...
I have really enjoyed reading God's Not Dead because of its accessibility and readability. I have read other books on apologetics that have been hard to approach and even harder to translate into a conversation with someone. Dr. Broocks is excellent at taking big concepts and bringing them down into more bite-size "down-to-earth" bits. I appreciate the approach of this book compared to others because I have noticed as I have read this book the topics covered have come up in conversations on the college campus and have lead me as a Christian Campus Minister to better articulate and converse with people who have different views about the existence of God. Other apologetic books have collected dust on my bookshelf for years. I am thankful to have read this book because it has deeply impacted the way I share my faith.

posted by BarryRobert on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I received a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze i

I received a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze in return for writing an honest review. The book presents an overview of Christian evidences for the God of the Bible and Jesus. There is a chapter on the problem of good and evil, several dealing with crea...
I received a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze in return for writing an honest review. The book presents an overview of Christian evidences for the God of the Bible and Jesus. There is a chapter on the problem of good and evil, several dealing with creation vs. accidental/spontaneous origin of the universe and life, a chapter on the resurrection of Jesus, one on the authenticity and reliability of scripture and one called “The Grace Effect”, dealing with the ways that Christian teachings have positively influenced people and the world. The final chapter is called “Living Proof” and contains the firsthand accounts of atheists who have come to faith.

I wanted to like this book more than I liked it. He stays away from a lot of technical language, making it easily understandable. I’m always on the lookout for good books on Christian evidences to pass on to others.

But when I read a book of Christian evidences, I go into hyper-critical mode. If I’m going to pass a book on to help someone deal with their own doubts or the doubts of people they encounter, I want it to be logically sound. I want things to be footnoted and sources documented.

There was a lot of good information and a lot of good quotes from well-known Christian writers, like C.S. Lewis. I also especially liked the quotes from scientists who believe in God.

But I feel this book failed in a few places in the logically sound/well-documented category. The first thing that started to bug me was his statement on page 8 “Think about it: more than 90 percent of the planet believes that God exists.”

He doesn’t give any footnote (although there are footnotes in other areas of the book) or source for the statistic. He quotes it a couple more times in the book, finally on page 188 saying “less than 10 percent are atheists or agnostics” to explain the number. He still doesn’t give a source for the statistic. I don’t think it is a valid conclusion to come to that because 10% of people in a survey say they are agnostic/atheist, everyone else believes in God. There are a wide range of religious beliefs that are not belief in Yahweh, the God of the Bible.

I find this particularly annoying because he accuses atheists of relying on emotionalism for many of their arguments instead of reason (and I agree that many times they do). But if he’s going to say that, he needs to stay away from emotionalism himself, and the 90% thing is nothing more than manipulating statistics for emotional effect.

He also accuses atheists of using “straw man” arguments (again, which I agree that they do sometimes). But he himself used straw man arguments in at least two places. Just because he caught himself once and said “Granted, that is a worst-case scenario” doesn’t mean he’s off the hook.

I had other issues with this book – the author uses scripture out of context once, and I can tell we’ve got some doctrinal differences, though I was happy to see that the book didn’t end with the sinner’s prayer. There are also some sentences that are so awkwardly phrased that it’s hard to tell exactly what he’s saying.

All in all I did find some good information here, some of which I hadn’t run across before, it isn’t information that can’t be found in other books with sounder arguments (many of which he quotes, and which can be found in the Notes section at the back).

posted by Amanda10 on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I received a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze i

    I received a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze in return for writing an honest review. The book presents an overview of Christian evidences for the God of the Bible and Jesus. There is a chapter on the problem of good and evil, several dealing with creation vs. accidental/spontaneous origin of the universe and life, a chapter on the resurrection of Jesus, one on the authenticity and reliability of scripture and one called “The Grace Effect”, dealing with the ways that Christian teachings have positively influenced people and the world. The final chapter is called “Living Proof” and contains the firsthand accounts of atheists who have come to faith.

    I wanted to like this book more than I liked it. He stays away from a lot of technical language, making it easily understandable. I’m always on the lookout for good books on Christian evidences to pass on to others.

    But when I read a book of Christian evidences, I go into hyper-critical mode. If I’m going to pass a book on to help someone deal with their own doubts or the doubts of people they encounter, I want it to be logically sound. I want things to be footnoted and sources documented.

    There was a lot of good information and a lot of good quotes from well-known Christian writers, like C.S. Lewis. I also especially liked the quotes from scientists who believe in God.

    But I feel this book failed in a few places in the logically sound/well-documented category. The first thing that started to bug me was his statement on page 8 “Think about it: more than 90 percent of the planet believes that God exists.”

    He doesn’t give any footnote (although there are footnotes in other areas of the book) or source for the statistic. He quotes it a couple more times in the book, finally on page 188 saying “less than 10 percent are atheists or agnostics” to explain the number. He still doesn’t give a source for the statistic. I don’t think it is a valid conclusion to come to that because 10% of people in a survey say they are agnostic/atheist, everyone else believes in God. There are a wide range of religious beliefs that are not belief in Yahweh, the God of the Bible.

    I find this particularly annoying because he accuses atheists of relying on emotionalism for many of their arguments instead of reason (and I agree that many times they do). But if he’s going to say that, he needs to stay away from emotionalism himself, and the 90% thing is nothing more than manipulating statistics for emotional effect.

    He also accuses atheists of using “straw man” arguments (again, which I agree that they do sometimes). But he himself used straw man arguments in at least two places. Just because he caught himself once and said “Granted, that is a worst-case scenario” doesn’t mean he’s off the hook.

    I had other issues with this book – the author uses scripture out of context once, and I can tell we’ve got some doctrinal differences, though I was happy to see that the book didn’t end with the sinner’s prayer. There are also some sentences that are so awkwardly phrased that it’s hard to tell exactly what he’s saying.

    All in all I did find some good information here, some of which I hadn’t run across before, it isn’t information that can’t be found in other books with sounder arguments (many of which he quotes, and which can be found in the Notes section at the back).

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    People get real

    The movie was very inspiring for a kid like me to believe in god. But some of you disagree and i except that but dont put bad coments that will bring some one down in the dumps raise them up as high as the sky.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I have really enjoyed reading God's Not Dead because of its acce

    I have really enjoyed reading God's Not Dead because of its accessibility and readability. I have read other books on apologetics that have been hard to approach and even harder to translate into a conversation with someone. Dr. Broocks is excellent at taking big concepts and bringing them down into more bite-size "down-to-earth" bits. I appreciate the approach of this book compared to others because I have noticed as I have read this book the topics covered have come up in conversations on the college campus and have lead me as a Christian Campus Minister to better articulate and converse with people who have different views about the existence of God. Other apologetic books have collected dust on my bookshelf for years. I am thankful to have read this book because it has deeply impacted the way I share my faith.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2015

    Full of lies, narcissistic garbage, and strawmen arguments, noth

    Full of lies, narcissistic garbage, and strawmen arguments, nothing we've never heard from any other apologist. If he has to go this far, is his worldview really worth defending? if he's making money off of duping Christians, sure.

    "In the beginning man created God, and saw that he was profitable."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Df

    GODS NOT DEAD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    GOD IS NOT DEAD

    HE IS LIVING ON THE INSIDE ROARING LIKE A LION!!!! God's not dead. Pass it on :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    The book that atheists and skeptics are afraid to read, yet over

    The book that atheists and skeptics are afraid to read, yet overjoyed when they do!!!   -J.S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Johanna

    God is not dead he is our savior every day he loves us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Super sad part

    When the new girl comes her dad does not trust in god so her dad stared to slap her and kick her out of the housee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    GOD'S NOT DEAD

    "Hes surely alive hes living on the inside; roaring like a lion!" My God's not dead He lives and loves and saves us. GOD'S NOT DEAD. Watch the movie. You WONT be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Mr.Hope

    Go to firefall res 1 if you need hope or anything else

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    GOD'S NOT DEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ohemgee. The movie is ttly amazing!!!!!! I felt sooo bad for iesha!! I was crying:`( it is an extremely inspiring movie and i highly recommend it!! Im a teen and every teen Needs to watch this. God's not dead!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    God is not dead

    He is alive in our hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    @Movie

    Sorry - am I misunderstanding you? Jesus never did any thing evil... Jesus is incapable of doing anything evil. He is God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Gods not dead!!!!!!

    He is surely alive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    GODS NOT DEAD

    U HAVE TI SEE THE MOVIE ITS AWESOME!!! GOD IS AWESOME IN EVERY WAY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    God

    Gods not dead!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    #GOD'S NOT DEAD

    I just watched the movie and was completely moved. If someone is telling YOU God' s dead, speak up. As my pastor often says, "time is short, the needs are great, and God is on the move." Show God you love Him and make a difference where you live. Believe the Newsboys and the Robertsons. God's Not Dead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Movie

    In son of god, do you want to see all the things jesus did that are evil? Sorry, that would be a clip of negitive infinity frames long.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    GODS NOT DEAD!!!!

    MY GODS NOT DEAD!!!!HES SHURELY ALIVE HES LIVING ON THE INSIDE ROARING ON THE INSIDE!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2