Customer Reviews for

God's Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Great synopsis of a should read book

I love Max Lucado, but was disappointed that this purchase was just a sample of the complete book. Had I known that, I would have purchassed the book to begin with. Somehow B&N needs to make it better known to consumer that books that are samples are just that and no...
I love Max Lucado, but was disappointed that this purchase was just a sample of the complete book. Had I known that, I would have purchassed the book to begin with. Somehow B&N needs to make it better known to consumer that books that are samples are just that and not the complete books.

posted by 6505973 on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Sample

I, too, thought what I was buying was the book. Very disappointed to discover it was only a sample, and ended up spending more to actually get the book.

posted by 4937821 on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great synopsis of a should read book

    I love Max Lucado, but was disappointed that this purchase was just a sample of the complete book. Had I known that, I would have purchassed the book to begin with. Somehow B&N needs to make it better known to consumer that books that are samples are just that and not the complete books.

    40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Sample

    I, too, thought what I was buying was the book. Very disappointed to discover it was only a sample, and ended up spending more to actually get the book.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Booklet

    I would like to have known this was only 29 pages long.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Disappointed

    A sample....not a book

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    The bronx

    Wow after read others i did not know this was a sampler not nice BN. One star for BN not the author

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Discover the Truth behind your story!

    GOD'S STORY, YOUR STORY (Youth Edition) When HIS Story Becomes Yours By Max Lucado Max Lucado asks "what is the text (or story) of our lives?" We cannot look inside of ourselves to discover who we are, we must look at ourselves through God's eyes to discover what we can be! Ordinary people can do extraordinary things when we join our story with God's. But we must pray for strength against Satan's attacks so we can complete our story. The goal of every story is home, whether we are going home, improving home, or trying to keep home safe. This is much like the Christian life when we are striving for the perfect family and home, which can only be found with our Heavenly Father. To find the path we must listen for God's voice to lead us. God will never forsake us. Even if we make a wrong turn He will redeem our story through His on the cross. Because of the cross, the final chapter of our story - Death - becomes the introduction to our new life after death. At the end of this book are review questions about each chapter to help the reader to grasp the principles put forth by Max. Each chapter has personal experience pieces by teens to expand on the points Max is making. This is a well written book that teen readers should appreciate and learn from. This would be appropriate as a gift or as a study book for a youth group. Read it and discover the plot behind your story!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Disappointed

    I, also, thought I was purchasing the complete book. This was a wasted purchase. I am sure the "real" book will be worth the purchase.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Misleading

    This is just a preview. I'm sure the book is great, but this is not the whole book. Don't buy this product thinking it is the whole book. This product is very misleading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Another Gem from Max Lucado

    I was completely engrossed in this book from start to finish. This is Max Lucado's best book to date. I appreciated each and every story that was shared in the book, and I found myself near tears many times.

    I think the thing that struck me the most is that the emphasis of the book is that God is there in every single circumstance, and He is guiding you through the hard times. All of us go through struggles. Some of us live a life fraught with struggles. Does that mean that God is not in control? Absolutely not!

    There was a time I did not like Max Lucado. I used to feel that he did not dig deeply into the wisdom of the Scriptures. I am happy to report that is not longer the case! In recent years, Lucado has delved so deeply into the Word of God, and he always brings encouragement even in the midst of utter chaos. Everything happens for a reason, and everyone is here for a purpose.

    This is an easy read written in Lucado's fantastically readable style. You will find true encouragement as you surrender your will to the Lord of the universe!

    This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    THOUGHT PROVOKING

    VERY GOOD BOOK TO GIVE TO THE YOUTH IN YOUR FAMILY TO HELP THEM HAVE A BETTER UNDERSTANDING OF GOD AND HOW TO HAVE A BETTER RELATIONSHIP WITH HIM.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Good from begining to end

    I took my time reading this and am glad i did. It has been uplifting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Wonderful Book

    Like all of Max Lucado's books, I really enjoyed reading it. He has a way of making me feel so much closer to the Lord and that is something that we all should be seeking. I recommend this book of everyone interested in seeking a relationship with the Lord.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another one that makes you think

    I am so much of a fiction reader that I often scoff at non fiction and skip it. Reading books like this remind me that there is so much out there to benefit from. I was in sixth or seventh grade when I first experienced something from Max Lucado, but since then when I have seen his name on a book, I knew it would be worth while. And even more recently I have started adding his children books to my shelves for my girls. They are some of my toddler AppleBlossom's favorites.

    Christian Fiction can open doors and suggestions to topics and make you want to delve further into scriptures mentioned, but it is in the blunt and to the point - down to earth - non fiction writings like this when as a reader one can truly challenge themselves and really delve further. I enjoyed this book and it makes me do a lot of necessary thinking.

    My only qualm is that although several different scripture translations are used, The Message Bible is used a lot, and I have issues with paraphrase Bibles as I feel like they lose so much in the translation. Yet at the same time, maybe this is a seed to be dropped for some that will help them in their journey along the way. After all that's what matters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    B&N has burned me for what I hope is the last time. If it so

    B&N has burned me for what I hope is the last time. If it sounds too good to be true, then it isn't a good deal. I do not have time to review every purchase. I was looking for this particular max lucado ebook . It was the first one that showed up in my search. Its a SAMPLE. I'll get it from the loical library now. Not gonna spend anymore $$ at B&N. I'm embarrassed to admit this has happenec to me several times. My fault for trusting and not being watchful. Misleading and disappointing. No more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Thanku

    Love the way he writes .l have about 15 of his books all about Jesus .Love the Lord Jesus .He does to .Thanku Max

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I love max's books they are very intreging.

    I have not read this book yet but I hope to soon. I am sure I will love this book when I do read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Excellent

    You will enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Zeus

    Blush. *looks her in the eyes* he kissed you didnt he? I can see it in your eyes. And you love him.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Really great helpful book

    Max Lucado writes words of inspiration and also practicality for Christians everywhere. I liked this book so much I bought another one and had it sent to my daughter who had some very hard things happen to her (loss of job, sudden death of her husband) and she found this book, next to the Bible, to be very very helpful. Thank you Mr. Lucado for a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Fantastic short book you'll love it!!

    I've received other books by this author Max Lucado but this is the first time I've actually read one and he has a really great wit and way of writing which just makes you chuckle. You don't even realize you are learning because it so well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4