BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

God's War

Average Rating 3
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Action-packed, fun thriller

This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserve...
This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserves this promo and merits your consideration.

posted by Reader54LP on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Read the damn book people!!!

I just read the previous reviews. I don't think anyone actually read this book. Don't review it if you haven't actually read it. It hurts the author in the long run. And you never know, you might actually like it!

posted by 4872372 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 679 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Action-packed, fun thriller

    This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserves this promo and merits your consideration.

    62 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Interesting, off the beaten path science fiction by a new author.

    It's interesting that some one mentioned that this would be a good book club book, since this book was the selection of the io9 science fiction blog book club. The author will be answering questions today (4/1/11) on the blog. The publisher gave away copies in conjunction with this event, so I have already downloaded and partly read the book. I haven't finished it yet, so my review is not complete, but I will say that it starts a little slow and is somewhat confusing at first, but the action rapidly builds. The characters are well developed and within a short time one comes to know them quite well. The author is new, and not recognizing her, I would not likely have bought this book. By downloading it I have been introduced to a new writer that I will look for in the future. The book will certainly not appeal to everyone, but for science fiction fans it is well worth the read, and hopefully is a taste of more to come.

    40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Different yet still interesting

    While this was definitely a lot different from what I've read in the past (bio-magic? non-typical religious style for an American book) I still found it to be a highly interesting read, and if there is a sequel I will likely get it as well. My only real complaint is not so much with the author as the publisher - there were a lot of bad (missing) line breaks where I had to play with the display size to try and have the entire line display, and even then I had to guess a bit...

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Depressing yet realistic

    I'm too much a fan of happy endings to be able to enjoy stories like this one. Kameron builds a gritty, hard-scrable world populated with believable characters. War has drained the life out of these characters, making their actions and attitudes quite realistic. I find no fault with the worldbuilding or storyline; however, I was sad that the characters did not grow or change based on their experiences. I might have enjoyed the tale more if I felt the characters were trying to make something out of their experiences. I came away from this story thoroughly depressed. Technical suggestions: the opening was confusing; I needed more than a chapter to get a bearing for the world settimg. Also, there are numerous formatting errors that sent words off the edge of the e reader.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Exciting, with a great protagonist

    Really great book - exciting and fun.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Love It !

    So far this book is great! I am so thankful that B n N offered a book of this type! Thank you!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Gritty Speculative Fiction

    If you enjoy happy endings, bodice ripping romance with or without the supernatural, cultures and worlds that feel comfortable and familiar, this book is NOT for you.

    If instead you enjoy authors who can build worlds that are imaginative and consistent within their own bounds, stories that take and explore our own human failings, and characters that struggle with the very essence of what it means to be human, well then give this story a go.

    God's War offers up a world that is both familiar and foreign. The technologies and cultures are all plausible, based on the extrapolation and exploration of what is currently possible and practiced. The story starts in the middle of the action, and does not offer much to explain the back story. You have to accept the characters and the world as in unfolds, which is wonderful. And the world and the characters that inhabit it are gritty.

    Not much is resolved in the story; but that's not the point. The character development is subtle, but profound in its own way.

    Worth the time to read and consider.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Could have been so much better

    Hurley is a fine writer but the book leaves something to be desired. Looking into her philosophy explains some of it. She doesn't like what's referred to as "infodump". In simplest terms it means explaining the world in which your story takes place. As a consequence you spend the book not understanding who the bel dames are, what sen is or how the world is fueled by bugs. Because I'm a collector of trivia I knew that a "bakkie" was a light truck. The term is used in South Africa. Hurley acknowledges that the world she's created is involved in the "genocide of a gender" but never explains why or how they got to that point. The list goes on and on.

    An author always has the right to tell their story as they see fit. For me Hurley's approach of "figure it out yourself" strikes me as disrespectful of her reader and just lazy story telling. Consequently while the story moves along quite briskly it's left as a shallow tale, hollow and without any inner life. It might be argued that the story telling style matches the main character of Nyx. In the end I'm left with the same reaction to both.

    It occurred to me that a lot of this may be familiar to some from some other universe (gamers etc)with which I'm simply not familiar. Unless you are content to keep your readership to the circle of the elect this is just more bad story telling.

    There were other small nagging details that bothered me. A gross and obvious mistake in language that none of her readers or editors managed to catch ("Whose bakkie?" became "Who's bakkie?" which given the lack of explanation of the term might just confuse the hell out of the reader) and a really silly piece of boxing action. Why you would follow a left uppercut with a left cross escapes me. A left upper cut sets the body perfectly for a RIGHT cross. But that's a tiny little thing that most people wouldn't catch. After a while however when the author makes you work so hard the little things become bigger.

    Why should I care? It is highly unlikely that I'll venture to read another of Miss Hurley's books. The book is written to make her happy as a reader. What she isn't interested in she simply heaves over the side. What's left is a tantalizing taste of what could have been a much bolder, grander and more satisfying experience for the reader. Instead she chooses only to satisfy herself.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to read...

    Now, I'm a fan of authors like Robert Jordan and Tolkien...so maybe their way of writing has spoiled me for other books. Where Jordan will spend paragraphs describing the world you're losing yourself in, Hurley would explain that it was hot and that's it. So I didn't get a clear picture in my head of the environment the characters lived in except that...they were at war and roaches ran their vehicles?? The main character was your typical "bad girl" with seemingly no redeeming qualities. I had to give it a fair shot, even though beyond page 56 (where I usually cut it off if a book isn't catching me) because of all of the negative feedback due to free Friday. I read this book until page 111 and just had to start reading something else before I started pulling my hair out. I guess I just felt like I was thrown into this world that Hurley created without knowing anything about it. Sort of like starting a movie in the middle. Interesting concepts...I just wish the author had spent more time familiarizing me with the characters and the world they live in. Still a good book for you hard core sci-fi fans out there, I'm sure you're used to out of this world concepts that make no sense to my romantic and fantasy driven mind.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Surprise - I liked it!

    Different but good. I actually would like to read the next book if ever written. Stick with it - it starts out slow, but once you get a handle on it the characters are great and the story entertaining.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    good book

    I'm half way through the book, and I've really enjoyed it so far. thanks for the free book B&N.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Interesting world building; seems familiar, though.

    I wouldn't include this book on a list of 'must reads,' but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to fans of Iain M Banks' culture novels, Suzanne Collins' hunger games novels, or Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. The problem I have is that this book seems like a synthesis of these books I have already read, rather than something new and unique. All authors build on those who have influenced them, however I feel that Hurley is too closely emulating the style of others. Luckily, Hurley seems to have good taste and I enjoyed the book, but I couldn't get away from the feeling that I had read this before, just split up across multiple other books and authors.

    I am more excited about future novels set in the same universe; the concept of an Islamic hegemony has been done before, but there's an interesting power structure here that should allow for some exciting stories. There are a number of nations mentioned that get little screen time, as well as hints at the political forces that are shaping other (less isolated) planets. If Hurley can find a stronger voice, I think these future novels have great potential.

    A final note about the ebook version of this text. I read this on my Nook, and a formatting error would push 3-4 words off the edge of the screen every so often. You could usually figure out what was said by the context, but it was still a distracting/annoying problem. I considered dropping a star off the review, but that didn't seem like a fair assessment of the novel itself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    It could get better

    The Characters are flat. the story disjointed. after 45 pages

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    good science fiction

    I like this book. It's good science fiction in the traditional sense. Not littered with fantasy, except maybe the magicians, and in the way of good science fiction it investigates modern day topics in an other worldly setting. Never mind touching on the fact that no matter how many centuries go by, or where we go, people are always going to be people with all that means.

    As far as some comments here, for people that should be fairly educated there are an awful lot of petty, hateful, entitled, my way or the highway, type people here. Kind of goes to the point above that people will be people, the good and the bad, no matter what.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    horrible

    I didn't last 3 pages. It seems this author was obsessed with women dropping their wombs. Not my cup of tea.

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Great

    Fun read!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Amazing new world

    The world in God's War is stunning and innovative while the characters are real, without any apologies. I loved reading this book, and can't wait for the sequel to come out on the nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Unique, Different and Looking for the next book

    This is the first time I have ever reviewed a book. But, I just enjoyed this one so much I had to write something. It is a different genre than anyone else has come up with, but the world and characters created were very well done and believable. I really enjoyed reading it.
    Hopefully, the author has another book coming to continue on the Adventure of Nyx and her crew. It was an interesting world to visit.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice change of pace in the sci-fi world

    While a bit confusing at the start, as soon as the details of this strange world are accepted, the story coalesces into something quite good. While some authors are great at weaving intricate details into 800 pages, this author omits such fine detail and I think the story is actually better for it. A great book for discussion and I look forward to others by the author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Miserable World and Characters

    I love well written science fiction. New worlds and cultures can be fascinating. However, the world described in this book is miserable, ugly and confusing, with no redeemable qualities. The main character was unlikeable; in fact, I found everything unlikable in this book and quit reading after 50 or 60 pages.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 679 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34