Customer Reviews for

God's War

Average Rating 3
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Action-packed, fun thriller

This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserve...
This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserves this promo and merits your consideration.

posted by Reader54LP on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Read the damn book people!!!

I just read the previous reviews. I don't think anyone actually read this book. Don't review it if you haven't actually read it. It hurts the author in the long run. And you never know, you might actually like it!

posted by 4872372 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Depressing yet realistic

    I'm too much a fan of happy endings to be able to enjoy stories like this one. Kameron builds a gritty, hard-scrable world populated with believable characters. War has drained the life out of these characters, making their actions and attitudes quite realistic. I find no fault with the worldbuilding or storyline; however, I was sad that the characters did not grow or change based on their experiences. I might have enjoyed the tale more if I felt the characters were trying to make something out of their experiences. I came away from this story thoroughly depressed. Technical suggestions: the opening was confusing; I needed more than a chapter to get a bearing for the world settimg. Also, there are numerous formatting errors that sent words off the edge of the e reader.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Could have been so much better

    Hurley is a fine writer but the book leaves something to be desired. Looking into her philosophy explains some of it. She doesn't like what's referred to as "infodump". In simplest terms it means explaining the world in which your story takes place. As a consequence you spend the book not understanding who the bel dames are, what sen is or how the world is fueled by bugs. Because I'm a collector of trivia I knew that a "bakkie" was a light truck. The term is used in South Africa. Hurley acknowledges that the world she's created is involved in the "genocide of a gender" but never explains why or how they got to that point. The list goes on and on.

    An author always has the right to tell their story as they see fit. For me Hurley's approach of "figure it out yourself" strikes me as disrespectful of her reader and just lazy story telling. Consequently while the story moves along quite briskly it's left as a shallow tale, hollow and without any inner life. It might be argued that the story telling style matches the main character of Nyx. In the end I'm left with the same reaction to both.

    It occurred to me that a lot of this may be familiar to some from some other universe (gamers etc)with which I'm simply not familiar. Unless you are content to keep your readership to the circle of the elect this is just more bad story telling.

    There were other small nagging details that bothered me. A gross and obvious mistake in language that none of her readers or editors managed to catch ("Whose bakkie?" became "Who's bakkie?" which given the lack of explanation of the term might just confuse the hell out of the reader) and a really silly piece of boxing action. Why you would follow a left uppercut with a left cross escapes me. A left upper cut sets the body perfectly for a RIGHT cross. But that's a tiny little thing that most people wouldn't catch. After a while however when the author makes you work so hard the little things become bigger.

    Why should I care? It is highly unlikely that I'll venture to read another of Miss Hurley's books. The book is written to make her happy as a reader. What she isn't interested in she simply heaves over the side. What's left is a tantalizing taste of what could have been a much bolder, grander and more satisfying experience for the reader. Instead she chooses only to satisfy herself.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to read...

    Now, I'm a fan of authors like Robert Jordan and Tolkien...so maybe their way of writing has spoiled me for other books. Where Jordan will spend paragraphs describing the world you're losing yourself in, Hurley would explain that it was hot and that's it. So I didn't get a clear picture in my head of the environment the characters lived in except that...they were at war and roaches ran their vehicles?? The main character was your typical "bad girl" with seemingly no redeeming qualities. I had to give it a fair shot, even though beyond page 56 (where I usually cut it off if a book isn't catching me) because of all of the negative feedback due to free Friday. I read this book until page 111 and just had to start reading something else before I started pulling my hair out. I guess I just felt like I was thrown into this world that Hurley created without knowing anything about it. Sort of like starting a movie in the middle. Interesting concepts...I just wish the author had spent more time familiarizing me with the characters and the world they live in. Still a good book for you hard core sci-fi fans out there, I'm sure you're used to out of this world concepts that make no sense to my romantic and fantasy driven mind.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Strange even for Scifi

    I had never heard of this book before the free Friday special. It took a little while to get into, I was struggling until Rhys is introduced and Nyx is out of prison. The bug based technology is strange, and there is so much involved with understanding their world that it could have been introduced in a more cohesive manner. I would read a sequel out of curiosity, this was a very original book. Never read anything else like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Organic Bug Womb!

    I'll start with what I did like. In all honesty the plot is interesting and all the action is good and fun. But (here comes the bad) the characters, while realistic, are unlikable and the story is difficult to read. The beginning offers very little cushion for the audience with no sort of glossary for the reader to go by you will have to re-read the book a few times in order to understand all the lingo. Speaking of the lingo some of it does seem unnecessary. I mean if marijuana is called marijuana why is tobacco called sen? It seems like explanation and description simply don't exist in this book. I would only recommend this to the most hardcore-elitist scifi readers. Out of pure curiosity I did read over some of the reviews, here and abroad. I have to say that a healthy percentage of the positives were written by friends and colleagues of the author. Nothings wrong with that, just something I noticed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Improbable Central Characters that are Difficult to Respect

    Half the planet wants to catch and kill the heroine and her team in this story, and the other half want to catch them, torture them, and then kill them. Such a situation might make the average group of heroes wary and cautious. Not this bunch. They sit in open-air cafes sipping tea and dozing in the midday sun, and they stroll around open-air markets, all the while ignoring little indications that they are being stalked -- things like parked vehicles with opaqued windows and idling engines. Not surprisingly, they are soon caught by their enemies. These folks are just too stupid to be heroes.

    The ending is abrupt, with loose ends remaining untied. The role played by insects in this future world is unique and interesting, but the characters are deeply flawed -- not worthy of our respect as readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Horrible

    The plot was all over the place, the language was foul, and the ending was dull. Also, poor formatting on the nook. Do not read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Hard to read

    This book wasn't so much bad but hard to read. Initially I was confused about the characters but once I caught on, it got better. I almost didn't finish. It was about a woman and her gang of helpers who retrieve war deserters dead or alive. She is asked to retrieve an alien who knows how to tip the war scales in favor of her country but is duped instead. Then hilarity ensues. Well, not really. I'm just glad it was free. Happy reading, kids.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    I couldn't get into it

    I got this book on a free friday. I gave the book an honest shot, the story was interesting, but I just couldn't get into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Hmmm...

    Perhaps I am just not in the right state of mind for this book right now but I really struggled through the first half. This is one of those that I would say, yes I read but dont ask. questions because I have no answers. Maybe it will go better next time but for now this one is going on the shelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    I would not recommend this to a friend

    Sad and depressing. Not worth the time I spent reading it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4