BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

God's War

Average Rating 3
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Action-packed, fun thriller

This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserve...
This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserves this promo and merits your consideration.

posted by Reader54LP on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Read the damn book people!!!

I just read the previous reviews. I don't think anyone actually read this book. Don't review it if you haven't actually read it. It hurts the author in the long run. And you never know, you might actually like it!

posted by 4872372 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    This book was hard to follow and difficult to make sense of. Nam

    This book was hard to follow and difficult to make sense of. Names of people and places are thrown at you and you're not quite sure how it all fits together. I like the basic premise of the book but would have enjoyed it much more if a little background had been given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Was an okay book

    The book starts off fast. The characters are well developed. Plot is standard bounty hunter. The world was very interesting, I just wished it was explained more. How do the "bugs" work exactly? What are the 'rules" of the Bel Dame? How & where do these "off worlders" come from? A lot of potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A pretty good first novel

    A nice read, felt a tad rough at times. The gimmick of the bug magic and shape changers sort of fell flat to me. More like set design than any kind of real world building. The fungus lifeforms in "Finch" were much more part of the fabric of the story.



    Still, I was not overly disappointed with story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Pretty good

    One of the better Free Friday offerings. The writing was good and the characters interesting. It was a bit challenging to figure out what was going and and where- a little more exposition would have been nice.I like dark, depressing books (sometimes) and this definitely filled the bill!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Ehhh

    It took me a while to finish because this isnt the type of book i normaly read, but i finished it. It was alright i guess. Wasnt bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, Not Bad

    Fictional, yes, pop fiction, no. Forget feel good endings and intense passionate romance. Once you wrap your head around the little details that set this world apart from ours, for example cars run on bugs with engines made from living tissue, you'll realize the characters are just people trying to get through the lives they've been given. War, religion, ethics, family, and loyalty are all tested, found, and lost. The writing is a bit loose in the beginning, almost like the Hurley is trying to find the right voice, but cleans up by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty action novel

    The story is pretty good but there are a lot of times when I had to read past the world setting and just read the story. The reader is tossed into a world setting that will definitely be alien, and with little explanation it comes across hard at times. Still, the story was pretty good.

    I think the author should make a graphic novel and then an anime, to be honest. The world setting would translate better with artwork.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Worth the read.

    This is one of the few free offers I have enjoyed. It is a complete novel. Not a short teaser like most of the free offers. A fun SciFi. A little difficult to follow at first but once you get into it, it is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8