Customer Reviews for

God's War

Average Rating 3
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Action-packed, fun thriller

This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserve...
This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserves this promo and merits your consideration.

posted by Reader54LP on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Read the damn book people!!!

I just read the previous reviews. I don't think anyone actually read this book. Don't review it if you haven't actually read it. It hurts the author in the long run. And you never know, you might actually like it!

posted by 4872372 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 679 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 34
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Like a white bread and mayo sandwich with no meat

    Great for middle school goth types. Lots of pseudo shock dialogue. But basically incoherent.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not finish.

    Weird and inexplicible. I don't care how it ends or what happens to Nyx. Deleting it from my nook. Will not be reading more by this author.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    READ IT

    this book is full of wonders..... yes the beginning is confusing but you start to understand it more later on in the book.....the characters youll learn to love...ive finished the book and i love the nasheenians.... read it.... you wont regret it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    bizarre

    no other words can describe this book

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Great book!

    Love it!

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Very strange, but good.

    This is a phenomenal book. Set in a very strange, biotech heavy future, it explores the idea of religious war and gender roles in a way I enjoyed but somehow found to be vaguely distasteful. I kind of felt that the author was using Islam while also trying to explain Islam. Does that make sense?

    It was a fascinating book, but I don't think it is for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Strange even for Scifi

    I had never heard of this book before the free Friday special. It took a little while to get into, I was struggling until Rhys is introduced and Nyx is out of prison. The bug based technology is strange, and there is so much involved with understanding their world that it could have been introduced in a more cohesive manner. I would read a sequel out of curiosity, this was a very original book. Never read anything else like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Not to everyone's taste but I liked it

    Strong woman as a central character surrounded by a gang of almost as strong men and women. Takes place in a future world that is riddled with war and hardships. Religion has taken over the whole world and different branches of the same religion are at war because they believe their form of religion is best. The idea that various insects on this desert planet either work for people or are after people to eat is an interesting twist. As I said, not for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Troubling read. Not for the faint-hearted.

    The unending wars and violence in this book made this a hard book to read. There was too much hatred and violence in this book for me to enjoy it. I did make it through the book but I don't think I will be looking for other books by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Waiting for the sequel

    I began reading this book with some reservations as I could tell it was going to be quite different from the books I normally read. I was pleasantly surprised and I read it in about 3 days as when I'd lay the book down I find myself thinking about the characters and the path the book would choose to travel.
    The author did a good job building the characters and the story line and I disagree with a past review where the characters did not grow in character through out the book. By the end of the book I saw clear path changes and personal growth from where they had begun.
    It is a very imaginatively written book and is very believable in the way the author depicts how war effects the countries and people it touches.
    This is a story of survival and using your resources to survive and the reflection of the person you become as a result.
    I'm hoping for a sequel because I will definitely buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Gene Pirates + Women Boxers + Holy War = Great Debut Novel

    God's War is one of the most original books I've read in a while. This is Ms. Hurley's debut work and it is a little rough in some places, but overall it's an excellent read. The story gets off to a slow, confusing start since Ms. Hurley doesn't provide a lot of back story to explain how the situation on her world got to the point it is at the beginning of the book. The pace of the book picks up after the introductory section (about the first 50 pages) and turns into a real page turner. The book's plot is resolved at the end, but I was so fascinated by the world Ms. Hurley created that I hope there is some kind of sequel. Due to the level of violence in the book and its portrayal of religion, this book may not be for everyone. The book is full of moderately graphic violence and is rather bleak in its overall tone, but considering the state of affairs of the world, the violence and tone is appropriate and not gratuitous. Religion is mostly portrayed as a reason for intolerance and justification for war (everyone fighting (on and off world) claims that they are fighting God's war and that they are on God's side of the war). There are some formatting problems with the book. About halfway through the book, there are sentences that run off the edge of the screen, so you have to fiddle around with the font size to get the words to appear (you have to set the font size all the way up). There aren't that many instances of this, but enough to be annoying. Hopefully the publisher will review the epub files and fix these issues. Overall, if you are looking for an original story, don't mind not having everything explained to you, and can handle some violence, God's War is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Organic Bug Womb!

    I'll start with what I did like. In all honesty the plot is interesting and all the action is good and fun. But (here comes the bad) the characters, while realistic, are unlikable and the story is difficult to read. The beginning offers very little cushion for the audience with no sort of glossary for the reader to go by you will have to re-read the book a few times in order to understand all the lingo. Speaking of the lingo some of it does seem unnecessary. I mean if marijuana is called marijuana why is tobacco called sen? It seems like explanation and description simply don't exist in this book. I would only recommend this to the most hardcore-elitist scifi readers. Out of pure curiosity I did read over some of the reviews, here and abroad. I have to say that a healthy percentage of the positives were written by friends and colleagues of the author. Nothings wrong with that, just something I noticed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    An incredible, brilliant story. If you love old school cyberpunk

    An incredible, brilliant story. If you love old school cyberpunk, this novel is the natural evolution. I grew up on Gibson, Sterling, and Effinger and Hurley is my new passion. Read this book if you're not afraid of Real Science Fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Interesting portrayel of Islam

    I was glad to see, " A strong female lead," and anon terrorist portrayal of Islam. Oh and the bugs and majic was cool too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Hard boiled bugpunk

    Often the downfall of a first-time writer, particularly in SF, is too much explanation: after spending the effort to build a world they want to make sure you understand how it works.

    Kameron Hurley does not have this problem. She drops you into a strange-yet-familiar planet where details of the titular war -- an ongoing tribal feud between marginally-different sects of a common religion -- emerge only in sidelong glances. There is magic here, but almost no fantasy tropes.

    The pleasures are in the world building and bone-crunchingly tough writing. Those allergic to nihilism, violence, and morally-ambiguous characters need not apply, but if you can handle the hard-boiled aesthetics it's a rewarding ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Improbable Central Characters that are Difficult to Respect

    Half the planet wants to catch and kill the heroine and her team in this story, and the other half want to catch them, torture them, and then kill them. Such a situation might make the average group of heroes wary and cautious. Not this bunch. They sit in open-air cafes sipping tea and dozing in the midday sun, and they stroll around open-air markets, all the while ignoring little indications that they are being stalked -- things like parked vehicles with opaqued windows and idling engines. Not surprisingly, they are soon caught by their enemies. These folks are just too stupid to be heroes.

    The ending is abrupt, with loose ends remaining untied. The role played by insects in this future world is unique and interesting, but the characters are deeply flawed -- not worthy of our respect as readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    This book was hard to follow and difficult to make sense of. Nam

    This book was hard to follow and difficult to make sense of. Names of people and places are thrown at you and you're not quite sure how it all fits together. I like the basic premise of the book but would have enjoyed it much more if a little background had been given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Horrible

    The plot was all over the place, the language was foul, and the ending was dull. Also, poor formatting on the nook. Do not read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Gods war

    It is really good i feel like i learned a lot about god reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    This book vs. Reality

    I have read this book and found it very intriging and at times i found it confusing. Believing how things are over peoples beliefs i think that a war may be possible over religions but the magic of anthro people and bug magicians is a bit far fetched unless scientist have come up with something new. :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 679 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 34