Customer Reviews for

God's War

Average Rating 3
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Action-packed, fun thriller

This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserve...
This is a good read with a good story line and it is, forgive the jargon, a "page turner." Forget the pitiful whiners who feel they should get everything for free and it should all be exactly their way. This is a good book, it is entertaining and well done. It deserves this promo and merits your consideration.

posted by Reader54LP on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Read the damn book people!!!

I just read the previous reviews. I don't think anyone actually read this book. Don't review it if you haven't actually read it. It hurts the author in the long run. And you never know, you might actually like it!

posted by 4872372 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 679 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 34
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Imaginative and Engaging

    Kameron Hurley presents a wonderfully imagined, deadly, and unique science-fantasy world in her debut effort GOD'S WAR.

    It was refreshing to see so many fresh ideas at work from bug-magicians to bel dames to underground boxing rings. Presented through multiple perspectives, we see the world through many eyes, some open, some damning, some seemingly without a care or connection in the world. But all of them are honest to the characters that take us through this tale of murder, betrayal, and potential genocide, all in the name of God.

    Imaginative and engaging, Kameron Hurley's GOD'S WAR is an easy recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great Female Lead

    Very intriguing premise, loved the strong female characters and the universe imagined. Fast paced, with a slight learning curve as you get into the book. It is dark and gritty, but humanity still shines through. A thoughtful look at war and religion. Can't wait for the next book, and hope it will be available for my nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow.....very interesting

    Compelling reading albeit strange at times. Never thought bugs could be central characters. However I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    WOW! This was a real trip.

    Sure are alot of haters out there. I've read this twice now. I really enjoyed it. Granted it's not Asimov but for a first book it's good. I look forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    very original w/a sci-fi believeable twist

    Nix a female assassin is assigned a "note" (to find and retrieve an other-world alien) that might prove to ignite, end, or neutralize a war between Nasheen and Chenjia. But can she learn to trust her team, but more importantly herself. Can her team trust her? Especially after the death of those close to her (by her hands or inability to act because 1 life wasn't as valuable as the note bounty). She discovers the answers one-by-one and finds horror and salvation in the end. Set thousands of years into the future and a 300 yr. war where men are required to fight a god inspired war, the women of Nasheen sell their bodies and organs, while the women of Chenja adhere to veiled submission. Magicians heal by bugs and creating a world run by organics (replacing body parts),shifters (the ability to become animals) due to gene mutations when the first world ended and human aliens whom never returned to the new world, collide in this war of God. Where none are valuable and none are spared and everything is at stake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Read the first chapter

    I finished the first chapter and felt no urge to continue at all. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. The violence is fun but when everything else feels bland... its just not there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Islamic feminist scifi

    Am about a third of the way in, and impressed with this smart book and its fine writing. Bug technology and genetically disposed manipulators an innovative idea. Also includes pervasive interstellar islam, warring sects, gender role inversion, and quite a bit of violence. Knowledge of islamic culture will help the reader. Characters are complex and intriguing, even though the plot is as yet a bit opaque. But so far, so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Good Reading

    Good action. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Hard to read

    This book wasn't so much bad but hard to read. Initially I was confused about the characters but once I caught on, it got better. I almost didn't finish. It was about a woman and her gang of helpers who retrieve war deserters dead or alive. She is asked to retrieve an alien who knows how to tip the war scales in favor of her country but is duped instead. Then hilarity ensues. Well, not really. I'm just glad it was free. Happy reading, kids.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Was an okay book

    The book starts off fast. The characters are well developed. Plot is standard bounty hunter. The world was very interesting, I just wished it was explained more. How do the "bugs" work exactly? What are the 'rules" of the Bel Dame? How & where do these "off worlders" come from? A lot of potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Depressing

    Ok+it+was+free+++I+kept+reading+hoping+it+would+get+better.++No+such+luck%21++Goes+to+show+you+can+judge+a+book+by+the+cover.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    I couldn't get into it

    I got this book on a free friday. I gave the book an honest shot, the story was interesting, but I just couldn't get into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Pass on this

    I couldn't get past the first couple dozen pages; not because of story stinkage but because the author's style is, well, not ready for late-night reruns, much less prime-time. There is potential, but this author's awkward exposition and crusading ideas in the opening left me wanting... to read something else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A pretty good first novel

    A nice read, felt a tad rough at times. The gimmick of the bug magic and shape changers sort of fell flat to me. More like set design than any kind of real world building. The fungus lifeforms in "Finch" were much more part of the fabric of the story.



    Still, I was not overly disappointed with story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Pretty good

    One of the better Free Friday offerings. The writing was good and the characters interesting. It was a bit challenging to figure out what was going and and where- a little more exposition would have been nice.I like dark, depressing books (sometimes) and this definitely filled the bill!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Would Read Again!

    It was a little hard to get into in the beginning but it shortly grew to love all of the characters. There are many lessons that anyone could take form this book and I would be more than willing to read more of this authors books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Highly Intelligent Book

    If you can get past the first three or four chapters, this is a riveting read. Hurley does not appear to be fond of explaining how her dystopian world works; she'd much rather toss you in to figure it out for yourself, so the weak of mind need not apply here. The heroine is like the world Hurley creates: gritty, tough, jaded, not beautiful but fascinating all the same. Nyx is the sort of character that you initially don't like, then start to respect, and by the end of the book sympathize with.
    Scholars interested in feminism, genderbending, and queer theory will find this interesting. Science fiction geeks will find the bugpunk aspects weird but cool. I loved all that and the social commentary on corruption and pointless wars.
    At the core, this is a very intelligent book. Can't wait for the next one to come out this fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Ehhh

    It took me a while to finish because this isnt the type of book i normaly read, but i finished it. It was alright i guess. Wasnt bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, Not Bad

    Fictional, yes, pop fiction, no. Forget feel good endings and intense passionate romance. Once you wrap your head around the little details that set this world apart from ours, for example cars run on bugs with engines made from living tissue, you'll realize the characters are just people trying to get through the lives they've been given. War, religion, ethics, family, and loyalty are all tested, found, and lost. The writing is a bit loose in the beginning, almost like the Hurley is trying to find the right voice, but cleans up by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely a book I did not want to put down

    This is one of those books that I am going to allow myself a little indulgence. I'm going to overlook some stylistic choices that jarred me a little, plus the fact that I would not have picked up this book at face value in a store or library. Fortunately, I have a Nook Color, and I gave God's War a chance.

    As a reader, I know I can only take so much science and political intrigue before I'm ready to throw the book at a wall. This makes my relationship with sci-fi, fantasy, and speculative fiction tenuous at times - I don't care how cool the world building is if there isn't a character for me to relate to. I feel as though God's War easily could have been one of those difficult books, but Nyx, God's War's reluctant lead has similarly little patience with the excessively complicated reasons for How Things Work in her world. She wants just enough understanding to get by, and that works for me.

    Nyx and her crew were enough to catch my interest and let me be captivated by the world Hurley builds for them. The writing trusts the reader to find what is unspoken and to look for their own definitions where none is provided. In a book where the world building draws so much from the Middle East, this is a good motivator for American readers to try to make real-world connections in what they are reading without feeling preached at or hit over the head with social commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 679 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 34