Customer Reviews for

God's Wisdom for Mothers

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Very Highly Recommend

    This book is by far amazing, I love how there is various Bible verses in it and how it is so inspiring and such a great inspiration whether your down or whatever the case maybe and or you just want to have a boost then this is the book you want to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    good gift book for christian mothers

    This little book is entitled God's Wisdom for Mothers - a collection of bible verses that gives guidance and wisdom for mothers on various ocassions, topics or categories.

    Motherhood is such a great responsibility and oftentimes, picking up the bible just to read becomes a luxury when you're busy running the household or is struggling as a working mom.

    Through this compilation by Jack Countryman, it will be easier for mothers to read God's words, seek comfort and ask for guidance because the topics are organized under various categories for easy reference.

    For those who have a hard time looking for gifts for women, I suggest God's Wisdom for Mothers as a good gift for Christian mothers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Excellent Mother's Day Gift

    This book would make a beautiful addition for a Mother's Day gift. Arranged by categories and chapters,it provides encouragement through bible scripture. Organized for easy reference, God's Wisdom for Mothers makes it easy to find the topic you are looking for, whether it is in reference to love, living, family, or prayer. Each chapter points you to scripture referring motherhood. Extra pages in the back provides space for writing down your thoughts or daily prayers.

    I recommend this book for any mom, young or old, expecting, or mothers experiencing empty nest. Every mother needs encouragement no matter how old their children are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Good book at a great price

    Here's a little book I have been enjoying. God's Wisdom for Mothers is a cute little pocket sized book filled with scripture that has been organized under convenient headings. As compiled by Jack Countryman, the headings include:

    God's Wisdom is Needed in Every Mother's Life;
    The Crown of an Excellent Mother is from God;
    God's Wisdom with Children Requires Daily Training

    There are many more that are set out in easy to read format (from the NKJV) and convenient for short times for meditating on scripture.

    The size of the book is a perfect fit with my bible case and makes a great little gift for friends. Obviously, these books are not a substitution for studying from my bible, however, when I am swamped with homeschooling, or house management or any other number of events that put my daily schedule into a tailspin, a quick little book such as this gives me the opportunity to take little bites of scripture to feed me. This is a book that will stay right beside my Bible for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    A must-have for Christian moms who want to follow God's word!

    A pocket sized book filled with Biblical verses that provide answers to some of a mother's most common questions & concerns. Scripts throughout the Bible give us the message we, as mothers, need to help us bring up our children in God's word. This handy book puts them all together in easy to find chapters and passages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    God's Wisdom for Mothers

    God's Wisdom for Mothers is a compilation of bible verses that are neatly organized so that you can find what you are looking for when you need it most. This isn't a book that you would normally read straight through but more a reference book that you will continuously come back to and learn from. There is a content index at the front of the book that is listed in categories and sub-categories so that you can easily flip to the verse you need whether it be about wisdom for daily living, cherishing your family, praying for one another, or so many more.
    This is such a wonderful little book. It is the perfect size to fit into your purse or even keep on your nightstand so that you always have it on hand. It is a perfect gift for the Mothers in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Anchor for the Mother's Soul

    With utmost responsibility, a mother's work is never done and her burdens tend to never cease. "God's Wisdom for Mothers" is a wonderful gift book that is an anchor for the Mother's soul. It is the Word of God that can bring peace and joy in the midst of uncertainty and chaos, and in the life of a mother, God's Promises could not be more required. Jack Countryman has complied incredible Promises of God within a beautiful small bound gift book. The Promises, broken into categories, will encourage and enrich the life of any mother. Some of my favorite sections were "The Crown of an Excellent Mother, God teaches a Mother to Walk in His Word, God Encourages a Mother, and God teaches a Mother. Mothers, these promises are ALL about you! By drawing near to God, learning to have an intimate relationship by meditating on His Word, and understanding the importance of obedience in YOUR life, you in turn become the mother God has created you to be. A Mother after His own heart!

    I would HIGHLY recommend this book to a mother at ANY stage in motherhood. Since you order these books in packs of 25 . . . I would see them given to MOPS groups, Bible Study groups, in Mother's Day baskets as gifts etc. The book is pocket size . . . just the right size for moms today . . .on the go!!!!

    *I was provided this book for free through the Thomas Nelson Booksneeze program in exchange for my unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Great book!

    God's Wisdom for Mothers study bible by Jack Countryman is perfect whether you are a Grandmother, Mother-to-be, or a new Mom. It features information about biblical mothers and includes many devotionals on subjects such as "God's Wisdom", and "The Crown of an Excellent Mother." Packed full of bible verses, it provides encouragement and insight that will inspire all woman. Perfect size to carry in your purse or briefcase and would make a wonderful Mother's Day present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Mommy Encouragement :)

    I received the book, God's Wisdom for Mothers from Tyndale and I absolutely love this book! This is the type of book you dont really read straight through, but instead it offers encouragement to mothers who are dealing with specific issues and offers chapters worth of bible verses to encourage and inspire. I got this book when I needed it most feeling a little bit limp from lack of nourishment to my soul because of all of the craziness of life and I really enjoyed just taking five minutes to look for the topic I was feeling and go straight to it and read the word of God in an easy to find place. I would recommend this book to all mothers who just need a little something during their day that they can find quickly other than their usual Bible Study time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Mom's Devotional

    I had the opportunity to review God's Wisdom for Mother's by Jack Countryman and published by Tommy Nelson. I was thrilled to receive a great bible study to help me be a better mother.


    This is a well organized collection of actual bible verses, set up to help a mother in a variety of ways. The verses are organized into the following primary categories: God's Wisdom; The Crown of an Excellent Mother; God's Wisdom with Children; God Teaches a Mother to Walk in His World by; God Delights in Mother's Who Are; God Walks with Mothers; God Encourages Each Mother How to; and God Gives a Mother.


    I am already enjoying it and I can't wait to delve in further.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review through Book Sneeze. I also must say that the opinions are all mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1