Customer Reviews for

Gods Without Men

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant

I haven't expanded my thoughts to such far-reaching borders in many years. This novel explores the journey one must undertake to 'experience' without truly understanding the 'unknowable' god. Such profound ideals are what have kept me wavering between atheism and agno...
I haven't expanded my thoughts to such far-reaching borders in many years. This novel explores the journey one must undertake to 'experience' without truly understanding the 'unknowable' god. Such profound ideals are what have kept me wavering between atheism and agnosticism my entire life and have acted as a foundation for any relevant sanity I've maintained in a world where a vast majority of people simply can't be bothered.

posted by Adaptoid on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Recommend it

I had never read this author before. I will now. Just the kind of book I like - complex, many characters, separate stories with a common thread that develops over time and a little crazy. Keeps my mind working.

posted by RPFAT on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant

    I haven't expanded my thoughts to such far-reaching borders in many years. This novel explores the journey one must undertake to 'experience' without truly understanding the 'unknowable' god. Such profound ideals are what have kept me wavering between atheism and agnosticism my entire life and have acted as a foundation for any relevant sanity I've maintained in a world where a vast majority of people simply can't be bothered.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    nietzsche quotes, ufos, pot and talking coyotes. just the kind o

    nietzsche quotes, ufos, pot and talking coyotes. just the kind of book ive been missing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Recommend it

    I had never read this author before. I will now. Just the kind of book I like - complex, many characters, separate stories with a common thread that develops over time and a little crazy. Keeps my mind working.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Ever get involved with book or movie where a mystical or otherwo

    Ever get involved with book or movie where a mystical or otherworldly element is central to the plot and then it ends with no resolve or explanation for what's happening? That's this book. It's well written and the development is interesting... until the Author's cop-out leaves you holding almost 400 pages that don't really go anywhere...
    A disappointment for this reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Not bad, not good. Holds your interest while going nowhere. Inte

    Not bad, not good. Holds your interest while going nowhere. Interesting, but maybe not worth your $.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Compulsively readable and engaging, Gods Without Men dev

    Compulsively readable and engaging, <i>Gods Without Men</i>
    develops into a multi-decadal puzzle box with which you can't stop tinkering, and which, like real life, refuses to give up its secrets. To this reader's mind, it bears a close kinship with Umberto Eco's <i>Foucault's Pendulum</i>
    , another meditation on the ways we humans insist on finding meaning and pattern behind the chaos of the world, and the follies it leads us to. Like Eco, Kunzru parodies that human drive at the same time as he shows the deepest sympathy with it. Kunzru's wide ranging examples are less self-consciously erudite, drawing more on American pop culture and folklore. That will make his book accessible, after a fashion, to a broader audience. But steer clear if you want an author who will, like a kind grandmother, wrap it all up for you at the end in some Hercule-Poirot drawing room flash of clarity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Fabuless

    Any one who talks about this book in a bad way is not worthey to coment on books that involvs with GOD boo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Kunzru delivers again

    Another great book from Hari Kunzru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    It was greart.

    It was the best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1