Customer Reviews for

Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very powerful book

    the book was so well written its hard to put down. the way the author brings you in to the battles is wonderful. a must read you will enjoy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A read that draws you in page by page

    This book is great for readers looking for a taste of American Civil War history. It present the battles and characters in a way that brings them to life and makes you feel like their your best friend. It makes you want to keep reading and learning about the Civil War, which is a very important event in our nations history.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    Greatest Book Since The Bible

    Gods and Generals was written with great accuracy. It keeps us spell bound actually taking us back to April 1861 through May of 1863. It wraps our minds in the spirit of the day. We are there next to General Lee, Jackson, Hood, Chamberlain, Hancock and Burnside as their orders are given and taken. A great Southern point of view of the war that seperated two nations in bitter conflict. Fantastic second part of the trilogy. Jeff Shaara wrote a masterpiece. He is a great writer. He is equal to his Dad, Michael Shaara.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly recommended

    If you are interested in the Civil War, this is a Great overview of the leadership from both sides. This is fictionalized history in the vein of James Michener and John Jakes. I had a hard time putting it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    This book ranks at the same level as The Killer Angels, by the a

    This book ranks at the same level as The Killer Angels, by the author's father. I can't think of any higher praise that I could give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great read

    The book gives a first person view of 4 Civil War officers-Lee, Jackson,Hancock and Chamberlain. As a Civil War Buff, I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A brilliant historical novel about the little studied period jus

    A brilliant historical novel about the little studied period just before the Civil War broke out and brothers in arms were forced to choose sides against one another. Well written, a fitting prequel to Killer Angels, Jeff Shaara did an amazing job crafting these books in the lineage of his father's original vision. The toughest thing about this book is the realization that we may, in fact, be reliving some of the same moral issues that divided that generation of far greater men than our own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    A keeper - I will reread this book

    I liked this book (this Author) better than his Dad's. This book ends just where Killer Angels begins - nice set, now we need son to teach me what happened in the 3rd and 4th year of the war...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A terrific novel for any fan of history

    This is best Civil War novel I have ever read. Move over Red Badge of Courage. Readers will be amazed at how well Shaara tells this story of the Civil War from the points of view of General Robert E. Lee and Stonewall Jackson. I also thought that the ending was very touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Education -

    In this prequel to The Killer Angels, Jeff Shaara pays homage to his father's book by continuing to keep the reader riveted by humanizing historical minutia. You will not be disappointed as you get to know Stonewall Jackson and understand his importance to General Lee and the Confederate Army. The heroics of Chamberlain's charge down Little Round Top become even more significant as you learn more of the key men involved in the Eastern Theater of the Civil War. This is another must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Civil War Comes Alive

    Jeff Shaara Writes just like his father Micheal Shaara. The characters really come to life in this book. It's not a biography or a historical document of the Civil War battles. It's a connection to each person in their own thoughts and feelings. All of the major players of the battles just before Gettysburg are mentioned, their stories told through them. It's a good book for anyone who appreciates history, and historical novels. This is not your everyday book, it's truly one of a kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Hooked On Shaara

    I've only recently discovered Jeff Shaara, and while this is his first book, it's the fourth of his that I've read and I've yet to be disappointed to any degree. His ability to bring history alive is unmatched. A prequel to his father's masterpiece, The Killer Angels, Shaara takes us back to the build-up for war and relays the story to us through the eyes of 4 key men...Robert E. Lee, Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson, Winfield Scott Hancock and Lawrence Chamberlain. Each fascinating in his own way and each fighting for very different reasons. The war may have been brough on by slavery, but at an individual level, each man fought for his own reason and many of them were different. Take a brief trip back in time into the minds of these men as they waged the bloodiest war in American history. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    A must have for History, Civil War buffs.

    Excellent writing, story lines, read it twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like and enjoy history and novels this is one book for you.

    Michael Shaara wrote one of the most enjoyable books I have ever read dealing with the Civil War battle of Gettysburg titled "The Killer Angels". His son Jeff has now picked up the mantle of continuing this fine story of our nations bloodiest war on our soil by writing :God's and Generals". This book leads the reader up to and into the Battle of Gettysburg. It tells of the smaller fights and scrimishes that set the stage for Gettysburg. Jeff's writing style is very easy to read and almost makes the reader believe he must have been in the tent or room with the characters when they were speaking. Very entertaining and the most enjoyable part was, while the book is basically a novel, it is based on facts and real places, people, and events which gives you a history lesson without being dry and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Great Read

    Gods and Generals was a great book to read. I could not put it down. It kept me turning the pages wanting to know what happened next. It was a great story and told the first half of the Civil War in great detail. Anyone who is interested in the Civil War should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    History without the boring aspects

    Great for readers who want to learn about history without the long boring details. Captures the sorrows and excitments of war in both victories and defeats through great character development. This is a great historical fiction that maintains the readers attention throughout the entire story. This actually made reading history fun and kept the reader wanting to learn more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    MAGNIFICENT

    A well written, well thought out, historically accurate drama of probably the most important event in the history of our country. It had to be written. After having read his father's 'Killer Angels', one felt that the rest of the story must be told, and Jeff has done this magnificently. A must read for all avid Civil War readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Great for Book Groups

    Our book group read this book. Most of the women went ahead and read the whole series. It really changes the way you understand both sides of the story. A lot of hearts were broken during this time in our history and Shaara helps you feel the pain and in the end hope for better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Awesome

    This book is great. I'm a student of the Civil War. I like his amazing drama. His accounts of Williamsburg, Second Bull Run, Frediricksburg, and even John Brown's Raid are amazing.I'm using my mom's email because I'm not old enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    EXCELLENT!!

    Gods and Generals was a great book to me maybe because i enjoy history so much. He made the battles in this book come to life. He also wrote about Stonewall Jackson so descriptively that i felt like i was riding into battle with him! After i read the book, i saw the movie which i would also give 5 stars. This was a great civil war book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4