Customer Reviews for

Gods at War: Defeating the Idols that Battle for Your Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    ¿Idols are not defeated not by being removed but by being replac

    “Idols are not defeated not by being removed but by being replaced.”

    This is such a profound statement, and one of the most convicting things I took away from Kyle’s second book, Gods at War. The idols in our lives, whatever they may be, can only be conquered if we let Someone Else become our one true addiction. Bet you never thought of it like that, right? Neither had I.

    Kyle uses the same clear, understandable logic and spiritual truthfulness to reveal first, that all hurting and hardship is spawned from some form of idolatry. (I want to point out right now that while you might think that some forms of idolatry are less “severe” than others, all are equally corrupt and damaging in the eyes of God.) In part 1, Kyle address idolatry in a broader sense before diving into specific idols many of us struggle with. As in Not a Fan, I found the “Case Studies” or real-life examples that Kyle uses in part 1 to be extremely eye-opening and relatable. He uses these examples as well as Scripture to help us 1) become fully aware of the wrongness of idolatry, and 2) get a feel for the idols in our own personal lives.

    I personally felt the Lord working in my heart after I was submerged into the chapters on the specific idols. I became increasingly uncomfortable and convicted as I recognized idols I’ve harbored, and even became conscious of a couple I wasn’t aware of before. The god of Entertainment. Achievements. Romance. Me (to name a couple). In the past, I’ve downgraded the significance of the war that’s going on inside of me. During the time I was reading this book, my eyes were fully opened to the battlefield that is my heart. Each day is a fight. Each day a god wins.

    Satisfaction is not found in the victory of foreign gods. Fulfillment only comes when God is placed on the throne of our hearts. I know that’s a hard one to swallow sometimes, because idols can look so good. They can seem so appealing. We’re told by the world that they’ll be all we need, and we’re apt to believe the world. We’re not willing to “take the chance” that God really is all we need. We may know that deep down, but we have our doubts. We don’t want to miss out. But we miss out when we let other gods win the battle day by day. Every day that you devote to something or someone other than God is a day utterly wasted.

    That’s why they have to be defeated. Replaced.

    Just as I did with Not a Fan, I finished this book with a new perspective and a deep need for change. The greatest thing is, though, that Gods at War is not just about conviction. It’s about hope, too.
    “Everyone who drinks this from this water [worships ____] will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him [i.e. sets Me on the throne of their heart] will never thirst again.” –John 4:13

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Loved this book!

    It was interesting how the author traced all of our problems back to idolotry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Excellent

    Such a thought provoking, convicting, funny, Scriputurally based call to action on our own lives! So many idols I had no idea I had lurking around taking the place of God! Loved it and will highly recommend it to everyone! Brought about change for me! Hope it will for you too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    In order to honor what the author's message is about in God¿s at

    In order to honor what the author's message is about in God’s at War, and  to put emphasis in my personal appreciation of it, I must tell you emphatically: Do not buy this book ! But, make sure, without hesitation, to read it cover to cover. I am not only inviting you to read it, I am asking you to do it.
    And let me tell you why I am pushing you to do so. First of all, its author, Kyle Idleman, a young and well-known pastor, with accuracy and with very simple and yet deep ideas and examples, present us with what I call, some sort of parable, that he makes sure you understand , just as Jesus did with his disciples.
    Please do not get confused or mislead by the big personas that  recommend this book, validating the high performance and achievement  this Christian writer has conquer. Instead, let yourself in the duty of examining and get acquainted with the message hidden in plain sight in every single page of God’s at War.
    One of the aspects that stroked me the most, reading Mr. Idleman book, is that I did sensed God talking to me, directly. I could not tough of the men, (the writer) I did not see him, but just God (the Author) and myself.
    I am sure that even if you have a clear idea of what idolatry is,  you will  understand more of this important issue, after you finished reading this book.
    I let you to go and start reading this fine piece of Christian literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Remember ¿not a fan¿? The book that rocked the church and shaped

    Remember ‘not a fan’? The book that rocked the church and shaped the faith of millions? The book that challenged people to step outside their comfort zone and fall in love with God? That book? The pastor who wrote that, Kyle Idleman, is back with a new game changer. His newest offering, ‘gods at war’ focuses on our passive idolatry. We may not bow down to physical objects made of wood and gold, but we forsake our Creator for earthly pleasure, power, and love. We are in the middle of a battle ground, with our hearts fighting over things of this world verses the things of God. 
    Idleman makes use of testimonies, statistics, studies, anecdotes, and basically everything but the kitchen sink in the book in order to make his point. With each chapter focusing on a different idol (including food, sex, money, family, and entertainment for example), Idleman brings big lofty ideas of sacrifice and commitment and brings them down to the common people’s level. 
    Kyle Idleman has a true gift with words. He connects with you on a personal level, pulls you in, and doesn’t let you leave the same. This book is quite simply amazing. Five out of five stars.
    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This is completely my opinion on the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    To must read

    Will you lend me this if you dont mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Must Read

    It was wonderful to have a fresh perspective on an issue that never really ends; who/what holds our heart. Kyle Idleman offered relatable stories that helped connect the message to any reader while offering biblical truth. Great read and great exercise in reevaluating God's importance above all else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Good and convicting

    A great book. Simple but not easy. Simple in that Idleman's style is both humorous and enjoyable. Neverthless, it is not easy to read in that nearly every chapter is convicting and forces you to take inventory of your own life, a process that is both difficult and uncomfortable.
    Not as good as Not A Fan, but I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Kyle the slave hey

    U here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A MUST read, definitely!!!!

    If you liked Not A Fan, you will love this book. Can't wait to see what the next book will be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    This is the most comprehensive book on idolatry that I have ever

    This is the most comprehensive book on idolatry that I have ever read. Often times, Christians today are underestimating the powers of all kinds of idolatries seeking their focus and eventually sucked their faith dry. These so called “gods” would entice and lure all whose hearts are unprepared for war against them. The author not only identified the various ‘gods” but also warned of their powers. He showed the reality of all these by giving real life stories and how these “gods” had damaged them spiritually and mentally. 
    Although the book suggests a serious battle for our spiritual lives, it offers hope for all. The Almighty God is on our side! God is actively and jealously pursuing men and women to be who He wants them to be! 
    There are stories of victory! It is possible to stay focus on the true and living God. The “gods’ of idolatries can be defeated! 
    This book is both inspirational and practical and I enjoyed it thoroughly! I highly recommended to all who desire to go all the way for Jesus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    What dominates your thoughts?  Is God truly at the center of you

    What dominates your thoughts?  Is God truly at the center of your life, or do other things crowd HIM out?  That's the question Kyke Idleman asks in this book, and he does an extremely good job of getting to those areas of your mind that make you think as to whether things we do are idols in our heart.  God needs to be at the center of everything, and He is worthy of being there, and many things (pride, work, perfectionism, etc) can get in the way and will try to dominate that spot continuously.  Idleman works to make you ponder all aspects of your life, and makes a valiant run at getting people to think about what it is that is truly the god of our life.  It should be, needs to be, and has to be God, or it does not work.  A very good read that I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Book Review: Gods At War by Kyle Idleman Mr. Idleman brings to


    Book Review: Gods At War by Kyle Idleman
    Mr. Idleman brings to light a subject that we all as Christians have struggled with from time to time. In his book Gods At War he discusses the subject of idols in our modern culture. He helps to identify that idols aren’t always statues of the Old Testament times but rather anything that takes our time and attention from God. An idol truly is something that steals, invades, and can change our relationship with Christ as we allow them to be more important. Idleman discusses the three aspects of pleasure, power, and love in which the idols of food, sex, entertainment, success, money, achievements, romance, family, and self tend to invade. He has filled this book with some interesting evidences combined from first hand experiences, shared life stories, & research that mounts to make one question how truly devoted they are to societies “gods” rather than the real God of their heart.
    I found myself torn between frustration that we as a culture have become so overly selfish and self destructive and absolutely burdened that what I may be doing could very well be taking the place of God in my own life. The author presents his information in an easy to read format that keep s the reader in tuned and he grips at the very real struggle behind each “god” of our lives. Gods At War is a book that would make a good book club read or also be a great tool to have in counseling someone struggling to put God on the throne of their own heart.
    This book leaves everyone in a challenge to thoroughly examine one’s own life. One of the quotes I think best sums up Idlemans’s point is “idolatry is the tree from which our sins and struggles grow. Idolatry is always the issue. It’s the trunk of the tree and all other problems are just branches.”
    Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Everything about me, everything I do, every relationship I have,

    Everything about me, everything I do, every relationship I have, everything I hope or dream or wish to become, depends upon what god wins that war. ~ Kyle Idleman
    Food. Sex. Entertainment. Success. Money. Achievement. Romance. Family. Self…. these things each and every day battle for not only our attention but more importantly our hearts. From the moment we open our eyes each morning we are faced with the challenge of choosing what god or gods we will serve or worship that day. For most of us including myself, we laugh off this thought by saying we would never choose anything or person other than the one and only true God but sadly our lives are saying the opposite.
    Most of us have heard or even read Exodus 20:3 and know that it clearly states that “You shall have no other gods before me.” In “gods at war”, Kyle states that concerning this verse, “we think of it as a hierarchy; that God is always in first place. But there are no places. God isn’t interested in competing against others or being first among many.”
    Kyle’s book, “gods at war” has really made me check my own heart and be made aware of the gods that are challenging for the throne. I highly recommend this book to anyone who feels like each day is a battle and I challenge you to allow God to show you what has taken His place. The only relationship God is interested in is one that is exclusive and completely committed. He is not interested in an “open relationship” with you. He won’t consider sharing space on the loveseat of your heart.
    His throne has only one seat… who or what is currently occupying it?
     
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Interisting

    I have been busy so I just started reading this book but it is ok so far.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    A Hard Look at our Lives

    As Kyle Idleman argues, sometimes we think we've got the "Do not commit idolatry" commandment down, but in reality we don't. He shows how so many problems and sins in our lives really comes down to this one issue. If you liked "not a fan" you'll enjoy this book as well. It's well written and certainly accessible, and he uses illustrations and Biblical examples in every chapter. I can't wait to read the next book he writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    "Gods At War", written by Kyle Idleman is a new book p

    "Gods At War", written by Kyle Idleman is a new book published by Zondervan that is dedicated to the status of our heart. The tag line of this book is, "Defeating the Idols that Battle for Your Heart", and this is the truest interpretation of what this book is all about. Think about the last 24 hours of your life - what have you given your attention/energy/focus to try to do/make/plan? 




    "Gods At War" asks you to honestly look at what is battling for the throne of your heart - is God on the throne, or has success, money, or sex taken over? I think that this book has an awesome premise, and especially in our society, one that seriously needs to be discussed. This book challenges you to be more aware of what is battling for your heart, and to be more careful of what we allow to sit on the throne of our hearts. 




    This book is 240 pages, which makes it a great read for a daily reader. The material that Idleman uses is a compilation of personal testimonies of people who have actually struggled with these modern day idols. I really believe that this book could be a great addition to the library of any Christian - I think that it is always healthy to be more aware of our spiritual life, and this book makes such great observations and truly makes you think! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2