Customer Reviews for

Gods in Alabama

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good book

    I read this book and I found that I now have another favorite author. I have read all of Ms. JACKSON'S books and she out does herself each time. Her books are the ones that you can read againand not tire of them. Thanks Ms. Jackson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Very Satisfying Read

    Joshilyn's voice is so distinctive--sassy yet thoughtful. Suffering yet hopeful. Southern yet not clubby. Then, once we sign up for the voice, we get the plot--dark, but with love. Dysfunction, but with a path towards healing. Murder, lies, sex--yet this novel never panders, it never slips into the froth and staccato pace of a flat-out commercial novel. Nor does it float so loftily above, wrapped up in self-absorbed prose that we feel like it's keeping us at arm's length so we can see how literary the novel is. GODS IN ALABAMA is just the perfect blend between plot and introspection, between the commercial and the literary. It's brilliant yet accessible, it's serious yet not overbearing. I love this book! Read it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Winner! A page-turner mystery-full of southern humor!

    Wow, it is hard to describe this book, as not only is it full of southern humor, drama and great quotes and one liners – it also a murder mystery. Jackson is a talented author--so creative and out of the box -- definitely knows the Deep South and Alabama. I have been reading a lot of her books lately, and you do not want to miss one word of this page-turner from past to present.

    I loved “Backseat Saints” which I read before Gods of Alabama, so it was nice to put the two stories to together with the famous Jim Beverly and Rose. Arlene/Burr –a great combo as well as the quirky other characters. Full of dark secrets which come to a surface. I have to laugh over the southern Baptist ways as this is definitely the Bible belt. I can only imagine this southern girl moving to the Midwest – culture shock? The book involves family dynamics, relations, rape, racial relationship and learning to have courage to face your past. You have to love Aunt Flo!

    I read half of the book as e-book and the second half via. There are positives of both; however, the sound effects and the southern accent really sets the stage for the dramatic ending.

    I highly recommend all Jackson’s books (have one yet to read). They are all quite entertaining- you will want to read her latest “My Miraculous” and “Someone Else’s Love Story”!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Drama, wit, humor, tears: all in one

    Clever, witty writing with some drama and mystery thrown in. Characters were well developed and the end was a surprise. Glad I read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Alabama fan

    U rock woooooooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Gods is decent

    Different than most books I've read, but I enjoyed it. Good character development, even though story line is a little far-fetched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    One of my faves

    Loved everything about this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great story

    Would love to see a second book about the two main people getting married

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Out of all places why would they choose Bama

    Jejd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Awesome read!

    This was a read all night and get up early the next morning just to finish kinda book. You won't be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Wonderful book from a great author!! If you love southern fiction - this is for you!

    I have just recently discovered Joshilyn Jackson and have quickly become a big fan! This is the first of her books that I read and loved it so much, I have now read all of them and am anxiously awaiting the next installment! Great character, great story! Definitely worth your time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Enjoyable chick-lit!

    Very entertaining! Great southern lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Great read!

    Good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Excellent!

    Please read! The chatacters in Josilyn's books are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Don't miss the audio books for "Gods in Alabama" and i

    Don't miss the audio books for "Gods in Alabama" and it's cousin, "Backseat Saints," both read by the author. Unforgettable. Ms. Jackson is the brightest star shining today in the Southern tradition of storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    OK Read

    This read has lots of stereotypes for southern whites.
    The ending of the book makes the book worthwhile to read, however, the beginning and the middle is filled with unflattering stereotypes. The author uses these stereotypes to set up the whole basis of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Not so good...

    Not really my cup of tea...still trying to figure the justification for murder...just kind of stupid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6