Customer Reviews for

Gods in Alabama

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good book

    I read this book and I found that I now have another favorite author. I have read all of Ms. JACKSON'S books and she out does herself each time. Her books are the ones that you can read againand not tire of them. Thanks Ms. Jackson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Very Satisfying Read

    Joshilyn's voice is so distinctive--sassy yet thoughtful. Suffering yet hopeful. Southern yet not clubby. Then, once we sign up for the voice, we get the plot--dark, but with love. Dysfunction, but with a path towards healing. Murder, lies, sex--yet this novel never panders, it never slips into the froth and staccato pace of a flat-out commercial novel. Nor does it float so loftily above, wrapped up in self-absorbed prose that we feel like it's keeping us at arm's length so we can see how literary the novel is. GODS IN ALABAMA is just the perfect blend between plot and introspection, between the commercial and the literary. It's brilliant yet accessible, it's serious yet not overbearing. I love this book! Read it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Winner! A page-turner mystery-full of southern humor!

    Wow, it is hard to describe this book, as not only is it full of southern humor, drama and great quotes and one liners – it also a murder mystery. Jackson is a talented author--so creative and out of the box -- definitely knows the Deep South and Alabama. I have been reading a lot of her books lately, and you do not want to miss one word of this page-turner from past to present.

    I loved “Backseat Saints” which I read before Gods of Alabama, so it was nice to put the two stories to together with the famous Jim Beverly and Rose. Arlene/Burr –a great combo as well as the quirky other characters. Full of dark secrets which come to a surface. I have to laugh over the southern Baptist ways as this is definitely the Bible belt. I can only imagine this southern girl moving to the Midwest – culture shock? The book involves family dynamics, relations, rape, racial relationship and learning to have courage to face your past. You have to love Aunt Flo!

    I read half of the book as e-book and the second half via. There are positives of both; however, the sound effects and the southern accent really sets the stage for the dramatic ending.

    I highly recommend all Jackson’s books (have one yet to read). They are all quite entertaining- you will want to read her latest “My Miraculous” and “Someone Else’s Love Story”!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Alabama fan

    U rock woooooooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    One of my faves

    Loved everything about this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Out of all places why would they choose Bama

    Jejd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Awesome read!

    This was a read all night and get up early the next morning just to finish kinda book. You won't be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Excellent!

    Please read! The chatacters in Josilyn's books are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Don't miss the audio books for "Gods in Alabama" and i

    Don't miss the audio books for "Gods in Alabama" and it's cousin, "Backseat Saints," both read by the author. Unforgettable. Ms. Jackson is the brightest star shining today in the Southern tradition of storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Wonderful story!

    Loved, loved, loved this book! The characters really stuck in my head. I also enjoyed her other book, "Between, Georgia", but I liked this one better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    gods in Alabama

    This book was not at all what I expected. For a northern girl who has friends in Alabama, I was looking for some escapism, of the down home, country side of the South, and while I got exactly that it did not come in forms I expected. It intrigued me and I just enjoyed the way it played out. I like a book to be more than what I think it might be, and too many are less. The characters had an edge and were bit murky. I didn't figure out the ending until I was actually reading it. The plot had twists but you didn't feel like you were reading some psycho detailed search for a lost soul.
    I have passed around my copy to several friends and would recommend it...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Exhilarating Read!

    If you are going to buy a book, this is the one to add to your collection! You will be addicted to it right after the first paragraph! I seriously could not put this book down....unitl 5 hours later...when I finished it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    A page-turner

    Honestly, this is one of my favorite books of all times. I loved the southern influence and the life-like characters. The book definitely holds your attention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    'Gods in Alabama' rocks

    I loved this book. I loved 'Between, Georgia'. I can not wait to get my hands on 'The Girl Who Stopped Swimming'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Gods in Alabama

    This has to be one of the best books i have read this year. i am a southerner and i was glued from page one!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    I Couldn't Put This Book Down

    I will be forever indebted to Joshilyn Jackson. Had I not stumbled across Gods in Alabama at Barnes & Noble, I would have never had the stamina to withstand Thomas the Train Table for 2 hours with my 3 1/2 year old the other day. Simultaneously, with my face buried in the book, I oversaw the sharing and playing of trains with my son, for I just couldn't put this book down. I have literally had this book glued to my face for the past day--I just finished it. One of the best authors that I have read in awhile. A LONG while, and I am an avid reader. I have around 15 current seller books littering my nightstand at the moment, so far this is the best. Right away I was hooked by the eccentric characters. The dialogue just zips you along. So authentically Southern, that I still have these southern twangy sayings zipping inside my head--and I'm a native Californian. The story immediately hooks you and refuses to let you go. In the first few pages you become acquainted with Aunt Flo. She lashes into Arlene when asked whether or not she will come home for a visit 'she hasn't been back home for over a decade': 'Do you realize that the women in our service group at church all sit around nattering like biddy hens about what horrors your poor mama--and me--must have inflicted on your head to make her only girl-child flee the state, never to return?' As others have all claimed here, one of the very best openings in a novel. Suspenseful, it moves you along as Arlene, the protagonist, leads you along with her wiry humor, recounting the events that lead to that fateful day of her classmate's murder. What a total and complete kick. I can't wait to read Jackson's other novels. I will be pre-ordering her newest novel for certain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    An absolute joy to read

    This was Great- I hated when the book ended!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    This woman can write!

    I bought this book on CD at the Philly B&N while on a business trip and am listening to it now. I popped in the first disk and after hearing the opening lines, I replayed them over and over again. Wow, I thought, this is going to be a good book. I already know I don't want this book to end. I love the voice of the actress reading this book. The combination of Jackson's words and Tabers voice - unbeatable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4