BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Gods of Newport

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Spend the Summer in Newport!

    I will read it in a car,
    I will read it near or far.
    I will read it at least as far as Newport! I cannot wait to go back to Rhode Island with this romantic, dangerous book in hand. What great summer reading under the stars along the New England Coastline. (Don't forget to stay in a spacious and tasteful B&B!) John Jakes, the godfather of historical novels, spills out a vibrant, vexacious story full of the basest motives of the upper crust and those seeking entry into the upper echelons of fabled Newport Society in its Golden Age. Tour the breakers and see it all happen on paper all over again wrapped up in the intrigues of a fictional father and daughter. Loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Hello Hello

    When is John Jakes going to come out with a new book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    v tjuty

    Gj yugjcnuiy vn,bv,gjdhiyo b, . ?ut

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Diappointing

    I had read earlier Jakes' novels and enjoyed them. I was disappointed in this book - almost had to force myself to finish it. The characters were poorly developed and, as a reader, I never related to any of them or really cared about what happened to them. I do not recommend this book for purchase.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    With apologies to Mr. Jakes...

    I have read most of the books written by John Jakes. The Kent Family series and the Crown Family series are two of my favorites of all-time. That's why it pains me to say that I couldn't finish this book. I kept waiting for it to "kick in" and it never did, or at least, not in the first 175 pages - which is about where I quit reading. Some of the characters where at least semi-interesting so I'm not exactly sure why I didn't like it. Basically, I was just bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful story set in Newport during the late 1890s

    If you have ever been to Newport you will have been fascinated with it as I have been. This is a wonderful story of what life was like in Newport during the 1890s for all classes. Sam, who has clawed his way to the top through thuggish ways that led to the death of his wife, takes his daughter Jenny to Newport, where they previously weren't welcome because their money hadn't been in the family for generations. The elite, rich society of Newport - vacationing a couple of summer months in their cottages (now known as exquisite mansions) - don't care whether you earned your own money, or how much you had, just how long your family had it. There Jenny meets all types of characters, mostly rich and cruel, and a handsome young man who vies to win her even though he has no money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A Great Read for Finding History in a Romance Novel

    Having been to Newport so many times and aiming to make Rhode Island my future home, knowing where I want to be in life after much maturing and learning some difficult lessons, I, of course, want to read as much about the Ocean State as possible-past, present, and future. Today, when I tour the Newport Mansions I have a very good perspective of what life at the turn of the century was like there-both the good and the bad aspects. The good-Alva Vanderbilt learning to let go of her daughter Consuelo so she could divorce her mother's choice of suitor and marry her own. Also, Alva's fight for women's right to vote, and including all women, regardless of social class in her meetings and gatherings was a big step for the times. The bad-those who used their social class as a weapon. The book was the typical 'good guy gets the girl he wants' ending, which was sweet, but I got more from the history than anything else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Very boring

    I have read Jakes books in the past, and expected better. Was very disappointed. Boring had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A great debut to another series.

    This is a good book about the gilded age in American history. The characters are realistic and well developed unlike some of his recent single novels. I really enjoyed this book and can't wait for the second novel in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book, I could not put it down. The characters are well developed and in the end I really wanted to see how everything would pan out for them. Jakes attention to detail is wonderful, it makes you feel like you are actually there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Excellent

    'Gods of Newport' is a great novel, I could not put it down! Jakes writing makes you feel like you are in the room with the characters. The characters are well written and in the end you will come to like them. The period detail is fantatstic. The perfect vacation read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    John Jakes writes another good book

    A novel written by John Jakes always holds my attention. THE GODS OF NEWPORT is no different. Mr. Jakes is an excellent writer and in this novel he writes of the turn of the century from the 1800¿s to the 1900¿s. Newport was the ¿mecca center¿ for the rich and ultra rich. If you ¿made it¿ in Newport society, you were accepted in the social circles of New York City as well. Known names such as Vanderbilt give you the idea of just how wealthy these ¿Newporters¿ were expected to be. Sam Drive wants to be a part of this society. He wants this for his daughter, Jenny, as well as for himself. He was not of OLD MONEY but came up from the ranks of the poor. He has his sights set on a wealthy and titled husband for Jenny but she has other ideas even if she is slow to realize them. Sam builds a house in Newport and the architect tries to woo Jenny with less than satisfying results. Meanwhile, Prince Malloy sees Jenny at the local tennis club and picks her out as yet another conquest to ¿love¿em and leave¿em¿ to get even for the way the rich treated his deceased mother. Cupid has other ideas and when Prince and Jenny finally manage to get together, they find true love. Alas, Sam steps in and creates trouble for Prince to push him away from Jenny. He takes her to Europe and a ¿count¿ takes up with Jenny with Sam¿s approval. Sam even manages to get them married. Is this the end of true love? Oh, I can¿t tell you that but besides this main theme, there are other smaller scenarios going on so pay attention to who¿s who when listening to this audio book. I will say that the ending is left hanging, in my opinion. Mr. Jakes doesn¿t usually do this but in this one I felt he left some unanswered questions. Edward Herrmann read this novel and did a splendid job. He used different voices for the different characters which made listening to his reading very easy. No wonder he has so many theater credits to his name. If you have read other John Jakes novels, you won¿t be disappointed in this one. He adds yet another great book to his list of credits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2