Customer Reviews for

Going after Cacciato

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat Confusing, but overall awesome story!

*SPOILER ALERT* Overall I enjoyed reading Going After Cacciato and I feel anyone who is interested about war or the effects of war should read it. O'Brien intended his audience to be people interested about war or even just a more adult audience. This is because the boo...
*SPOILER ALERT* Overall I enjoyed reading Going After Cacciato and I feel anyone who is interested about war or the effects of war should read it. O'Brien intended his audience to be people interested about war or even just a more adult audience. This is because the book jumps around to almost three whole different stories which can get a little confusing at times. Also there is some suggestive language in it so it would not be recommended for younger children. As I said previously the book jumps around quite a bit to three different parts. It took me a little while to understand this but after reading a couple chapters I understood this and began to like the book even more. I also thought the book had a good ending, even if it was predictable. The final chapter is where Berlin is back to dreaming about going after Cacciato and they get really close to catching him but in the end he gets away and Berlin and his squad give up the chase. They feel there could be worse things that could have happened and think that even if it is a slim one, that he has a chance to survive on the run the rest of his life. After reading the whole book I feel that O'Brien picked a good title for the book. It is a simple one but it makes sense to what a lot of the book is about, which is going after Cacciato who is going AWOL from his unit (ultimately this is a dream). I found the whole book interesting but I found it most interesting after researching the book a little that the book was factual in that many soldiers who returned from Vietnam had strange dreams similar to Paul Berlin. The war was very traumatizing for many soldiers and some couldn't get the vision of war out of their head even when they were sleeping. Going After Cacciato does a great job of showing this and I would recommend reading it.

posted by 8078714 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Breath taking, yet confusing

Going After Cacciato was a descriptive novel, yet it lacked certain details. Paul Berlin's dreams and fantasies were capitvating and allowed the reader to see them clearly. The novel, however, lacked order and takes a reader of course.

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Somewhat Confusing, but overall awesome story!

    *SPOILER ALERT* Overall I enjoyed reading Going After Cacciato and I feel anyone who is interested about war or the effects of war should read it. O'Brien intended his audience to be people interested about war or even just a more adult audience. This is because the book jumps around to almost three whole different stories which can get a little confusing at times. Also there is some suggestive language in it so it would not be recommended for younger children. As I said previously the book jumps around quite a bit to three different parts. It took me a little while to understand this but after reading a couple chapters I understood this and began to like the book even more. I also thought the book had a good ending, even if it was predictable. The final chapter is where Berlin is back to dreaming about going after Cacciato and they get really close to catching him but in the end he gets away and Berlin and his squad give up the chase. They feel there could be worse things that could have happened and think that even if it is a slim one, that he has a chance to survive on the run the rest of his life. After reading the whole book I feel that O'Brien picked a good title for the book. It is a simple one but it makes sense to what a lot of the book is about, which is going after Cacciato who is going AWOL from his unit (ultimately this is a dream). I found the whole book interesting but I found it most interesting after researching the book a little that the book was factual in that many soldiers who returned from Vietnam had strange dreams similar to Paul Berlin. The war was very traumatizing for many soldiers and some couldn't get the vision of war out of their head even when they were sleeping. Going After Cacciato does a great job of showing this and I would recommend reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Good read... Keeps you on your toes!

    Going After Cacciato is a novel that takes place during the Vietnam War. Although it is a ¿war story¿ there is very little to connect it back to a traditional ¿war story.¿ If you are looking for a novel bursting with with guns, bloody battles, and death you should look else where. That is not to say there are not war scenes in the novel; they just are not heavily present. Tim O¿Brien puts his traditional twist on the novel. While Paul Berlin, the main character, and the other members of his platoon travel to Paris in search of Cacciato, a solider that ran away, they face multiple events that get the reader to ponder on what is happening. Tim O¿Brien is continually keeping the reader on their toe¿s by switching the time period and perspective the novel is told from. This novel has it all from love to bloody war battles, so if you want to read a novel that has you pondering until the end, read Going After Cacciato.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is simply amazing.

    i would recommend this book to anyone. Its such a good book, it involves everything you could imagine. I have read 3 of Tim O' Briens books and they are excellent. But this book is by far the best i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Going After Cacciato

    Going After Cacciato is a great book that always keep you wondering whats next. Tim Obrien does a good job of keeping the book intresting by the main character Cacciato always doing somthing you wouldnt expect. Cacciatos squad got a big wake up call when they got the mission of going after him when he goes AWOL to Paris. When i read this book it sent me on an intresting adventure through mountains, rivers and forests with suspense lurking everywhere. Paul Berlin the squad leader going after Cacciato has tough decistions to make such as possible ruining someones love with another person to keep moving on to get Cacciato. Cacciato is on the run but his squad is on his tail throughout this adventure book. Will they get him and bring him home or will Cacciato make it to Paris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Connecting With Going After Cacciato

    The piece is about a soldier 'Cacciato' who was a deserter during the Viet Nam War. There are engrossing views of the jungle and the writing is given from fear in a bewildering process. The characters displayed enormous amount of courage in a war that changed our history and society forever. I was exasperated by the moral lessons that we have learned in one of our most deadliest of wars. The readings evoked fear and anger with the relationships that were tried beyond limitations in a time of the unknown. I was left with a feeling of pride that when we are shaken, we are willing to embrace our relationships under extreme circumstances and pay the highest price for freedom. Did they find there was more than finding Cacciato, or was the journey eternal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Thanks a lot Barniskis

    This was my second O'brien read and going in i had high expectations and they were nothing but fulfilled. A story that apears to be another nam tale turns into an amazing adventure spread across the world. A young private flees the war and his platoon is ordered to recover him and along the way they discover themselves and eachother. In the process Cacciato becomes a loveable character and finds a place in your heart as that kid you used to be. So if you love action,heroism and much more read this book. Hoooooooooohaaaaaaaa!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Interesting Storyline

    Overall the book was great. It did bounce around a little here and there but the story was great and very interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    Great Book

    I had to read this novel for my english class, and I expected it to be boring. I was drawn into the book and enjoyed it very much. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1