Customer Reviews for

Going Back for Romeo (A Highlander Time Travel Romance)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

OMGosh! Finally! A really good supernatural romance that creates true love between its characters. Beautifully written with delightful twists instead of nasty surprises. I hope this writer succeeds in all her publishing endeavors for I want more of her stories. I can sh...
OMGosh! Finally! A really good supernatural romance that creates true love between its characters. Beautifully written with delightful twists instead of nasty surprises. I hope this writer succeeds in all her publishing endeavors for I want more of her stories. I can share this on Facebook and not be ashamed!

posted by 10836108 on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didnt really like it

I love scottish romances. This one however i didnt like very much. Maybe because i read alot if this type of book, I might have been comparing it to other authors books. It tended to drag on, i found myself skimming quite a bit. I just didnt care for it. Sorry :(

posted by 9294402 on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Awesome

    OMGosh! Finally! A really good supernatural romance that creates true love between its characters. Beautifully written with delightful twists instead of nasty surprises. I hope this writer succeeds in all her publishing endeavors for I want more of her stories. I can share this on Facebook and not be ashamed!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Going Back for Romeo by LL Muir

    I am going to be completely honest about this…as I fully believe that you my readers deserve nothing less and I know that I expect nothing less from you. I went into this book fully expecting that it would be entertaining but not really “good” if you know what I mean. I mean…look at that cover…add Highlanders…time travel…witches…Romeo & Juliet… Isn’t it all really just a bit much?

    NO, it is all exactly just right!

    We are thrown right into the action with Laird Ross entombing his still living sister who has been condemned a witch and the book just runs from there. All of the characters are likeable and relatable. Jillian with her interesting background story makes a wonderful heroine. Monty with his tortured past is all you’d want in a Highlander. and the secondary characters all come alive through LL Muir’s story telling. And the author writes with such heart and wit that you’ll race through to the end before you even know what has happened.

    I will admit that there were two small scenes were some of the story was told through flashbacks and I feel it would have kept the continuity had it all been told in chronological order and there was one scene that still has me scratching my head. However , it honestly didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story one bit.

    I can’t believe how much I enjoyed this book! Honestly I can't really put my finger on any one thing...but I really did. The author must indeed be a witch as her same named characters are to have made such an impression on me:) And I want the next installment…now please!

    If you are looking for a quick fun read with loveable and kooky characters and a lot of humor…this book is for you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Reading Going Back for Romeo was like sinking into an awesome new ride at an amusement park. Once it starts, you won't want it to end.

    While Jillian tours the ancient Ross Castle in Scotland, she discovers three things: First, men in kilts are even more attractive in person. Second, Grandma's warning about staying out of Scotland may just have been warranted. And third, she might have exactly what it takes to break an old curse that's keeping two lovers apart. Lovers from the past, that is. What Jillian also discovers along the way is a (devilishly attractive) love of her own. One she may just have to leave behind. This book is definitely one to put at the top of your list. So hop on, buckle up, and keep your arms and legs inside at all times; Going Back for Romeo will take you for one wicked ride!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Marilyn's Review May,27,2012

    L L Muir is a fabulous author! This srory had everything! I laughed, I cried and I fell in love with the
    hero. I can hardly wait for her next book in this series. This is one book that you definetly will not be able to put down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it.

    I really fell in love with the characters in this book. The story from the beginning pulled me in. I stayed up to finish it until 5 this morning! Some parts in the book were confusing and situations left out but were addressed in later chapters. Hope to read more from this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    The Ultimate Scottish Time Travel!

    Loved this story. The characters were wonderful. Everyone got what they deserved in the end, but you didn't realize what they deserved until you got there. I'd like another please!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantaburiffic Scottish Romance Novel!

    In the words of Jilly McKay....Holy. Crap! LoL! This was a fantabulously written Scottish Romance novel! It's contemporary, it's historical, it's laugh-out-loud fun and adventurous. Filled with witty, fun-loving characters, L.L. Muir has created a novel that I put high on my favorites list and will be happy to read this one again and again...and again! Jilly McKay. LOVED her character. She was witty and on adventure in Scottland at the Castle Ross. She hails from Wyoming but two 'innocent' (or not so innocent....???) 80 year old ladies, Lorraine and Loretta...who happen to be twins....has talked her into visiting the Castle Ross in Scotland. Why? They think she has the 'Immediate Blood' of McKay-Ross clan and can be bewitched back into history to visit Laird Monty, a Romeo of sorts. Laird Monty Ross. Wowza. I totally want one! He's sweet, he's sexy, and fun loving, like Jilly. Forced to do something he didn't want to do, it left him hallow inside. That is, until he meets the beautiful Jilly McKay. Could she be the Juliet to his Romeo??? Reading this book had me laughing so many times and at others, I found myself saying Jilly's famous words: Holy Crap. This book is definitely a 5 Book worthy Holy Crap Moment ;-). If you're looking for something fun and romantic to read, then grab a copy of L.L. Muir's Scottish Paranormal Historical Contemporary and be swept away to Castle Ross for a fantastic adventure that is full of twists and turns at every corner! This review originate at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Time travel to a Highlander in a castle, need I say more?

    Loved the book. A woman ignores the warnings of her grandmother and travels to Scotland with the idea she could travel back in time to save a love between two people. What she doesn't bargain for is falling in love with the Laird in charge who appears to be ruthless to everyone else but she sees him differently. Will she return to her own time leaving her love behind?

    The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that at times, the book was over-indulging with explaining the surroundings, etc. I would have liked more time spent on the romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    What a Wonderful Story!! Time Travel, a Hunky Highlander And a Warm And Funny Love Story. I Enjoyed Every Word. My Only Complaint? It Came to an End Too Soon!!

    My favorite romance book genres combine romance; comedy; time travel; hunky highlanders showing how to be a true man and their sexy knees

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Didnt really like it

    I love scottish romances. This one however i didnt like very much. Maybe because i read alot if this type of book, I might have been comparing it to other authors books. It tended to drag on, i found myself skimming quite a bit. I just didnt care for it. Sorry :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Thumbs up!

    Great read. Wonderful well written story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Fun read

    I love time travel and this was a good read, loved the characters and look forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    I couldn't put it down

    I had my doubts but i really loved this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Leaves you wanting more

    I loved this book. Just waiting on the next installment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    waiting for the next one yummy

    cannot wait for the next one in the series to come out a great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book hooked me within the first few pages. Great Read.

    This book hooked me within the first few pages. Great Read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    LOVED IT! GOING BACK FOR ROMEO (BOOK 1, THE CURSE OF CLAN ROSS)

    LOVED IT!

    GOING BACK FOR ROMEO (BOOK 1, THE CURSE OF CLAN ROSS) was an absolutely delightful time-travel Scottish romance, complete with all the satisfying read elements: humor, poignant romance, feisty heroine, a hero worthy of love, intrigue, threats on the Laird's life (or is it the heroine who's under threat?), witty dialogue, humor, laughter, significant emotional highs and lows.

    I so enjoyed watching our hero (Laird Montgomery "Monty" Ross) redeem himself and grow from a tormented character whose choices had seemed (at the time) to be the best ones possible....to a man who owns up to mistakes, the wishes of women he loves (sisters as well as his lady love)-- and for 1495, that's very progressive of him! It was clear, early in the story, that our hero and heroine were perfect for each other, could be the exactly right fit to bring out the best in one another....and I so wanted to see them get their happily-ever-after.

    Sensuality Level: PG (marital intimacies glossed over in such a beautiful way!)
    Language: wholesome side of PG

    Highly recommended to fans of historical romance, medieval romance, time travel romance, and just plain ROMANCE fans. I'm hooked-- will definitely read more of LL Muir's books. Kudos to the author. ~Kristin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Silly but inoffensive

    Definitely a light read. I can enjoy a time travel romance and an attractive Scotsman as much as anyone, but this one fell a bit flat. I would say the characters were one dimensional and the dialogue not snappy and amusing. I just was not caught up enough to believe the plot and gave up way before finishing, which is unusual for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Pretty Good

    The plot was different and the idea very good. The writing was only ok but still a fun quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good Read!

    I love time travel and this didn't disappoint. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2