Customer Reviews for

Going Bovine

Average Rating 4
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Hilarious!

Wow, the book got a prize! I'm not surprised; it is possibly the most random, hilarious story I have ever read. If you're looking for something pretty much completely random and pointless that you will never quit laughing at/about or quoting, then look no further than "...
Wow, the book got a prize! I'm not surprised; it is possibly the most random, hilarious story I have ever read. If you're looking for something pretty much completely random and pointless that you will never quit laughing at/about or quoting, then look no further than "Going Bovine": you will not be disappointed! I think that it's best for geeky types: there are a number of references to the science of parallel dimensions, supercolliders, and my hero, Stephen Hawking. :D Not hard to grasp, though. Just really, really funny.

posted by neji_pwnz on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great story!! But what's up with the language??

This story was very creative. But was the foul language necessary to portray the teenage drama this kid is going through? Libba Bray is a talented and funny as all get out author, but the language was way too much in this book!!

posted by expectgr8things on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Great story!! But what's up with the language??

    This story was very creative. But was the foul language necessary to portray the teenage drama this kid is going through? Libba Bray is a talented and funny as all get out author, but the language was way too much in this book!!

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    The novel Going Bovine by Libba Brays, is best described as





    The novel Going Bovine by Libba Brays, is best described as a dark, surreal mix between The Wizard of Oz and Don Quixote, which are in fact referenced a couple of times in the story. Firstly, the story kicks off with the main protagonist Cameron Smith, who is a pessimistic, whiney, excuse of a high school student with essentially nothing going for him. Just as he thinks things can’t get any worse, he finds out through an intense hallucination amidst class that he has a rare, fatal disease equivalent to mad cow disease for humans. However, within his various hallucinations is a beautiful, pink haired punk angel named Dulcie, who she claims is an angel messenger. Dulcie then explains to Cameron that he is the one that is basically going to have to save the world from the ‘Wizard of Reckoning.’ And to do so he will have to find Dr.X, who also supposedly has Cameron’s cure. Unfortunately, Cam must blindly travel throughout America, led by ‘random signs.’ And his companions for his journey are germaphobe dwarf Gonzo, and an enchanted yard gnome that claims he is the Norse God Balder. Along Cam’s trek, he encounters many other eccentric characters including jazz grandmaster Junior Webster, the entire CESSNAB cult (people obsessed with pure happiness), and many others. The ending to the novel is easily one of the most frustratingly open ended ones I’ve read in some time. 
    I would not recommend this novel for many reasons. Firstly, the plot is fairly hard to follow and is very random, to say the least. The concepts are not only ridiculously irrelevant, but also poorly designed in my opinion. Secondly, the plot also tends to drag a great deal in the middle of the book. But primarily, the ending of the book was kind of a letdown, as I tend to like happy endings. On the other hand, I did like a few elements of the story, like the changes Cameron goes through. He ended actually living during his adventurous journey. Also the style of writing was funny and sarcastic. So in conclusion, I’d see a lot of other readers liking this book, but it just wasn’t for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Not my favorite

    I get the book but struggled through some of the book because i was not engaged in much of the "adventure" because it felt very manic or depressed in the descriptions of the goings on rather than feeling the progression of both the disease and the lunatic quest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    definitely interesting.....

    Going Bovine was certainly........quirky? Overall, it was pretty good and compelling, but it never failed to be insane. I would recommend it to anyone who like a quirky read.....or talking lawn gnomes and hypochondriac midgets......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd journey

    We decided to read this book for our book club. We're all moms of teen-age or soon-to-be teen-age children. We thought the book would be funny and a quick read. Two of the members hated the book and couldn't finish it. I perservered after the initial depressing beginning. I liked it. I can't say it was one of my favorite books, but it was thought-provoking and strangely funny. It was really emotional though. I cried as much as I laughed. I liked the gnome and Gonzo. It clearly is meant to make people think about their priorities and to remind us all to live every moment of our lives to the fullest - including the painful, or less-than-happy moments.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2