BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Going Cowboy Crazy (Deep in the Heart of Texas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Can a West Texas cowboy love a woman as much as he does football?

Faith Aldridge went to Bramble, TX looking for her twin sister never expecting to find an entire town of crazy people who refused to believe she was not her twin Hope. Faith does allot of talking but no one will listen as she tries to explain that she is the twin her b...
Faith Aldridge went to Bramble, TX looking for her twin sister never expecting to find an entire town of crazy people who refused to believe she was not her twin Hope. Faith does allot of talking but no one will listen as she tries to explain that she is the twin her birth parents gave up for adoption not Hope the Hollywood star. Then the unbelievable happens and her sister's old boyfriend steps in and takes over and Faith is swept away in the tornado that is Slate Calhoun.

Slate is the hometown high school football coach and all around favorite son of this small town and his relationship with Hope was always complicated but never intimate. Once Slate puts his lips to Faith and realizes who she is or is not it doesn't matter the fire between them explodes and the flames cannot be put out with just one kiss or even one very long night. Faith feels after she meets her birth parents that she is taking something away from her sister while at the same time wishing she had just a part of what Hope had walked away from. Faith had loving parents but not the feeling of family and roots that seem to be part of the town of Bramble.

Between the secrets, the lies and the birth parents she never thought to meet Faith is trying hard to take it all in without driving away, which she might do if she could get the town to return her car. It seems everyone is plotting against her and at the same time working toward her and Slate being a couple. In addition, when they find out Faith is not Hope what will happen to the town that loves her now?

From the first page of this book, you are drawn in, fascinated by the eclectic characters, and well told story of life in West Texas. Faith is a fish out of water in this town but as the story, progresses you realize she and Slate both are not what they appear to be, they are so much more. They have depth and drive that needs to be let loose and once it is the pages really heat up.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

!

Of course harriet klausner had ti ruin another book with her excessive book report. Its bad enough most of the reviews are plot spoilers, but klausner leads the way. Come on bn,do something already. This poster leads the way with her excessive posts that ruins the books...
Of course harriet klausner had ti ruin another book with her excessive book report. Its bad enough most of the reviews are plot spoilers, but klausner leads the way. Come on bn,do something already. This poster leads the way with her excessive posts that ruins the books, allowing other posters to feel they can do it to and get away with it. Ban her already, delete her posts, do something to her!!!!!

posted by 8888649 on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can a West Texas cowboy love a woman as much as he does football?

    Faith Aldridge went to Bramble, TX looking for her twin sister never expecting to find an entire town of crazy people who refused to believe she was not her twin Hope. Faith does allot of talking but no one will listen as she tries to explain that she is the twin her birth parents gave up for adoption not Hope the Hollywood star. Then the unbelievable happens and her sister's old boyfriend steps in and takes over and Faith is swept away in the tornado that is Slate Calhoun.

    Slate is the hometown high school football coach and all around favorite son of this small town and his relationship with Hope was always complicated but never intimate. Once Slate puts his lips to Faith and realizes who she is or is not it doesn't matter the fire between them explodes and the flames cannot be put out with just one kiss or even one very long night. Faith feels after she meets her birth parents that she is taking something away from her sister while at the same time wishing she had just a part of what Hope had walked away from. Faith had loving parents but not the feeling of family and roots that seem to be part of the town of Bramble.

    Between the secrets, the lies and the birth parents she never thought to meet Faith is trying hard to take it all in without driving away, which she might do if she could get the town to return her car. It seems everyone is plotting against her and at the same time working toward her and Slate being a couple. In addition, when they find out Faith is not Hope what will happen to the town that loves her now?

    From the first page of this book, you are drawn in, fascinated by the eclectic characters, and well told story of life in West Texas. Faith is a fish out of water in this town but as the story, progresses you realize she and Slate both are not what they appear to be, they are so much more. They have depth and drive that needs to be let loose and once it is the pages really heat up.

    20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    I had never heard of this author, so I was a little nervous about buying the book. Man I am glad I did! I couldnt not put my nook down. I was so wrapped up in the story line, it kept me on the edge of my chair the whole time. The attention to detail and story line was amazing. I cant say enough about this book and the author. I am going to keep reading her stories! LOVE IT!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    !

    Of course harriet klausner had ti ruin another book with her excessive book report. Its bad enough most of the reviews are plot spoilers, but klausner leads the way. Come on bn,do something already. This poster leads the way with her excessive posts that ruins the books, allowing other posters to feel they can do it to and get away with it. Ban her already, delete her posts, do something to her!!!!!

    11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great book

    This was lots of fun to read. It made me smirk and giggle. Katie Lane knows how to work her characters.
    Highly recommend this book. I already purchased her next two.
    Thanks

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Adorable, Fun read

    I read all night and then had to finish on my breaks at work. Couldn't put it down. Slate was the perfectly cool hero and Faith was so sweet yet strong. And the townspeople were annoying but you couldn't help but love them. Gotta read the next one asap.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    CAN SOMEONE TELL HARRIET KLAUSNER THAT: A REVIEW IS ABOUT HOW MU

    CAN SOMEONE TELL HARRIET KLAUSNER THAT:
    A REVIEW IS ABOUT HOW MUCH YOU LIKED OR DIDN'T LIKE ABOUT A BOOK
    A REPORT IS REPORTING WHAT A BOOK IS ABOUT.
    STOP REPORTING AND JUST WRITE A REVIEW, IT RUINS IT FOR THE REST OF US. CAN'T B&N BLOCK HER?

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    What's up with the pricing?

    Advertised for .99 - then tries to charge $5.00.
    Bummer

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The eccentric secondary cast makes Going Cowboy Crazy a zany over the top of the Alamo Texas two-step romance

    The poster child of conformist behavior, computer programmer Faith Aldridge recently learned she has a twin sister Hope living in Bramble, Texas. Wanting to meet her sibling, she shocks herself when she breaks out of her conformity mold to come to the small town. The locals assume Faith is Hope and the newcomer fails to rectify the mistake because she can hide behind her sister's persona.

    Faith as Hope meets her sister's friend high school coach Slate Calhoun. He surprises her when he informs her she is not Hope who left town for Hollywood. Meanwhile the townsfolk try to match Hope and Slate. She meets Hope's parents and considers leaving town, but Faith is in love with Slate. As Hope heads for home, Slate knows which sister feels right in his arms.

    The eccentric secondary cast makes Going Cowboy Crazy a zany over the top of the Alamo Texas two-step romance. Although the Bramble brood interference is frequently amusing, this is a two edged sword as at times it can interfere and become annoying. The lead couple is a wonderful pairing while the third wheel hopefully gets her own tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Best book ever

    You might want to be at lest 13 to read this book! But thats why i love the book it has spunk, excitment, love and romance a cowboy romance

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Too many book reports

    I see some people are complaining about harriet klausner. I have stopped reading her reviews/reports a long time ago. She tells way too much of what a book is about and usually after i would read her review it would wreck the book for me. She is not the only one that does this. If i see a review and it looks long i do not read it. I like short reviews that mention how much they enjoyed both the book and the author. Please people....do not write so much that you are giving so much of the story away...it ruins the book for other people.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy is Right

    3.75 stars.

    Author Katie Lane's interest in romance began in the backseat of a '65 Mustang. She's now married to the owner of said Mustang and has two grown daughters. She resides in Albuquerque, New Mexico. She enjoys golf, motorcycles, and traveling in her spare time. Her other title, Make Mine a Bad Boy, comes out in June 2011.

    After her parents pass away, Faith Aldridge heads to Bramble, Texas, the only place where she can find answers. In search of Hope, the twin sister she never knew she had, Faith finds more than she bargained for. The small town thinks she is Hope, finally home at long last from her escapades in California. Worse, the town is determined to get her "reacquainted" with Hope's high school sweetheart, Slate Calhoun. But Slate's no fool. He knows that Faith might look like Hope, but Hope never had his blood heating the way her twin does. Now he's determined to keep this twin in his bed and out of his heart. What no one knows is that the real Hope is heading home with her own designs on Slate. To avoid heartache, both Faith and Slate must give in to what the heart wants, before the lies become truth.

    I wasn't sure about the premise for this book when I began reading. This was either going to be roll-your-eyes over-the-top, or laugh-your-ass-off hilarious. I'm leaning toward the latter, with the only exception being the town's reaction to Faith. Though the town and its occupants were the driving force behind the book, and it's most endearing quality, I had a hard time believing their reaction to Faith, and their response once Hope did return home. I also had a hard time believing Slate and Faith's motives regarding the truth, even though Faith would gain the answers she was so desperately hoping for.

    In saying that, this was quite a delightful and entertaining read. There were some moments of pure heartbreak too as we learned more and more about Faith's past. It begs the question, can you come home again if you never knew home? The author has a great knack for setting, plunging you into cowboy country deep in the south and making you feel like you're there, right down to the slang and y'alls. Recommended.

    Kelly Moran
    Bookpleasures

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Huh?

    Finally, we get a new book (!) but what is up with the "cowboy" theme for the Spotlight? After half a year of having to look at Cowboy Trouble I was hoping for something completely different...No?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Hands down my favorite book ever!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Loved it!!

    Really great book i loved the whole story line and can't wait for the next one to come out! Highly Recommended if u like romance, humor, and a little sex u'll love this! Great Job Katie Lane!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Great

    I loved this book so much. I had to buy the whole series!!!!!! Great author. The couple together is so hot!!!!!!!! I don't usually buy the 2nd books, but this series is soooo good. J...
    :-@

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, the first I've read by Katie Lane.  I do en

    I enjoyed this book, the first I've read by Katie Lane.  I do enjoy stories that bring sports into the story without taking over the plot line.  This one fits that criteria.  The only objection that I have is - and it seems to be a common problem in the Romance genre - is that the book ended abruptly.  The teaser chapter in the Nook version is from the next book in the series and seems to continue on from the end of this book.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Cute book

    This the first one of the series and it is really good! They all are great fun and sexy reads! You wont regret reading these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Recommend.

    I enjoyed this book, however, l found the title and cover misleading. Wearing a cowboy hat and cowboy boots, in my opinion, does not make a cowboy. I had hoped to read about a cowboy with a ranch and horse and maybe a cow or some other sort of animals. Anyway, like l said, l did enjoy the story though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    It is a awesome book loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    this is a fun read

    Reviewed by Alice H. for Readers Favorite

    In "Going Cowboy Crazy" by Katie Lane, we meet Faith Aldridge, one of two identical twins, who was adopted at birth while her twin sister remained home with the parents in Bramble, Texas. After the death of her adoptive parents, Faith decides to seek out her twin sister and this motivation takes her to Bramble. The twin sister Hope is in California, seeking to become an actress. While searching for her twin, Faith meets Hope's lifelong friend Slate, a hunk of a cowboy with issues of his own.

    Slate is a former star football player who coaches a mediocre team in Bramble. However, there is nothing mediocre about his attraction to Faith who he first believes is the twin sister Hope. Although the mistaken identity is corrected, the town chooses to believe that Faith is Hope and they concoct a scenario in which they will bring Hope and Slate together in marriage. Although the story is delightful, the reactions of the townsfolk are a stretch in believability for the reader. When Hope actually returns to Bramble with the idea of conquering Slate for herself, there is mass confusion and misinterpretation of motivation which leads to a somewhat chaotic conclusion.

    All in all, this is a fun read for fanatics of romance novels. There is sexual heat galore and the folksy manner of interaction between the townsfolk and Faith is a delight. The characters are rich with passion and purpose and most readers will be eager to find out how and if the mess the characters have made will be resolved.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8