Customer Reviews for

Going Cowboy Crazy (Deep in the Heart of Texas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Can a West Texas cowboy love a woman as much as he does football?

Faith Aldridge went to Bramble, TX looking for her twin sister never expecting to find an entire town of crazy people who refused to believe she was not her twin Hope. Faith does allot of talking but no one will listen as she tries to explain that she is the twin her b...
Faith Aldridge went to Bramble, TX looking for her twin sister never expecting to find an entire town of crazy people who refused to believe she was not her twin Hope. Faith does allot of talking but no one will listen as she tries to explain that she is the twin her birth parents gave up for adoption not Hope the Hollywood star. Then the unbelievable happens and her sister's old boyfriend steps in and takes over and Faith is swept away in the tornado that is Slate Calhoun.

Slate is the hometown high school football coach and all around favorite son of this small town and his relationship with Hope was always complicated but never intimate. Once Slate puts his lips to Faith and realizes who she is or is not it doesn't matter the fire between them explodes and the flames cannot be put out with just one kiss or even one very long night. Faith feels after she meets her birth parents that she is taking something away from her sister while at the same time wishing she had just a part of what Hope had walked away from. Faith had loving parents but not the feeling of family and roots that seem to be part of the town of Bramble.

Between the secrets, the lies and the birth parents she never thought to meet Faith is trying hard to take it all in without driving away, which she might do if she could get the town to return her car. It seems everyone is plotting against her and at the same time working toward her and Slate being a couple. In addition, when they find out Faith is not Hope what will happen to the town that loves her now?

From the first page of this book, you are drawn in, fascinated by the eclectic characters, and well told story of life in West Texas. Faith is a fish out of water in this town but as the story, progresses you realize she and Slate both are not what they appear to be, they are so much more. They have depth and drive that needs to be let loose and once it is the pages really heat up.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

!

Of course harriet klausner had ti ruin another book with her excessive book report. Its bad enough most of the reviews are plot spoilers, but klausner leads the way. Come on bn,do something already. This poster leads the way with her excessive posts that ruins the books...
Of course harriet klausner had ti ruin another book with her excessive book report. Its bad enough most of the reviews are plot spoilers, but klausner leads the way. Come on bn,do something already. This poster leads the way with her excessive posts that ruins the books, allowing other posters to feel they can do it to and get away with it. Ban her already, delete her posts, do something to her!!!!!

posted by 8888649 on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great book

    This was lots of fun to read. It made me smirk and giggle. Katie Lane knows how to work her characters.
    Highly recommend this book. I already purchased her next two.
    Thanks

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Adorable, Fun read

    I read all night and then had to finish on my breaks at work. Couldn't put it down. Slate was the perfectly cool hero and Faith was so sweet yet strong. And the townspeople were annoying but you couldn't help but love them. Gotta read the next one asap.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy is Right

    3.75 stars.

    Author Katie Lane's interest in romance began in the backseat of a '65 Mustang. She's now married to the owner of said Mustang and has two grown daughters. She resides in Albuquerque, New Mexico. She enjoys golf, motorcycles, and traveling in her spare time. Her other title, Make Mine a Bad Boy, comes out in June 2011.

    After her parents pass away, Faith Aldridge heads to Bramble, Texas, the only place where she can find answers. In search of Hope, the twin sister she never knew she had, Faith finds more than she bargained for. The small town thinks she is Hope, finally home at long last from her escapades in California. Worse, the town is determined to get her "reacquainted" with Hope's high school sweetheart, Slate Calhoun. But Slate's no fool. He knows that Faith might look like Hope, but Hope never had his blood heating the way her twin does. Now he's determined to keep this twin in his bed and out of his heart. What no one knows is that the real Hope is heading home with her own designs on Slate. To avoid heartache, both Faith and Slate must give in to what the heart wants, before the lies become truth.

    I wasn't sure about the premise for this book when I began reading. This was either going to be roll-your-eyes over-the-top, or laugh-your-ass-off hilarious. I'm leaning toward the latter, with the only exception being the town's reaction to Faith. Though the town and its occupants were the driving force behind the book, and it's most endearing quality, I had a hard time believing their reaction to Faith, and their response once Hope did return home. I also had a hard time believing Slate and Faith's motives regarding the truth, even though Faith would gain the answers she was so desperately hoping for.

    In saying that, this was quite a delightful and entertaining read. There were some moments of pure heartbreak too as we learned more and more about Faith's past. It begs the question, can you come home again if you never knew home? The author has a great knack for setting, plunging you into cowboy country deep in the south and making you feel like you're there, right down to the slang and y'alls. Recommended.

    Kelly Moran
    Bookpleasures

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, the first I've read by Katie Lane.  I do en

    I enjoyed this book, the first I've read by Katie Lane.  I do enjoy stories that bring sports into the story without taking over the plot line.  This one fits that criteria.  The only objection that I have is - and it seems to be a common problem in the Romance genre - is that the book ended abruptly.  The teaser chapter in the Nook version is from the next book in the series and seems to continue on from the end of this book.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    this is a fun read

    Reviewed by Alice H. for Readers Favorite

    In "Going Cowboy Crazy" by Katie Lane, we meet Faith Aldridge, one of two identical twins, who was adopted at birth while her twin sister remained home with the parents in Bramble, Texas. After the death of her adoptive parents, Faith decides to seek out her twin sister and this motivation takes her to Bramble. The twin sister Hope is in California, seeking to become an actress. While searching for her twin, Faith meets Hope's lifelong friend Slate, a hunk of a cowboy with issues of his own.

    Slate is a former star football player who coaches a mediocre team in Bramble. However, there is nothing mediocre about his attraction to Faith who he first believes is the twin sister Hope. Although the mistaken identity is corrected, the town chooses to believe that Faith is Hope and they concoct a scenario in which they will bring Hope and Slate together in marriage. Although the story is delightful, the reactions of the townsfolk are a stretch in believability for the reader. When Hope actually returns to Bramble with the idea of conquering Slate for herself, there is mass confusion and misinterpretation of motivation which leads to a somewhat chaotic conclusion.

    All in all, this is a fun read for fanatics of romance novels. There is sexual heat galore and the folksy manner of interaction between the townsfolk and Faith is a delight. The characters are rich with passion and purpose and most readers will be eager to find out how and if the mess the characters have made will be resolved.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    It was a light, funny and enjoyable read. Looking forward to see what trouble Hope gets into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Good

    Very interesting characters. Enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to Bramble, Texas

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Katie Lane’s first book in the A Deep in the Heart of Texas Novel Series is hilarious.

    I have to admit there was a point in the book, where I got so frustrated, I had to put the book down. I mean really, what kind of town and people in their right minds would do what they did to Faith Aldridge? Yes, the people in Bramble are NOT in their right minds… In fact, I’m sure that they have lost their minds somewhere deep in the Pecos River.

    I loved Faith but I wasn’t a fan of Hope. Talk about being identical twins with totally different personalities.

    Hopefully, with Make Mine a Bad Boy, I’ll like Hope.

    Source: Personal Purchase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great summer read

    Faith and Hope should be called night and day but I like how they got their names once it is finally explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recomend

    I would very much like to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Cute!

    Cute story. Our Heroine is soft.. sensitive and identical in looks to the twin she never relized she had. Our Hero is a Texas Cowboy! Very cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Good book with a great price.

    This book was a pretty quick read. I felt like some parts were just a little predictable, but it was still fun to read . I wish she would have told us what happened to a few of the characters at the end of the story , but still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Faith and Slate

    I really enjoyed learning about Faith and her family. The whole town of Bramble mistakes Faith for her twin sister Hope. Slate realizes that Faith isn't Hope by one kiss. I didn't like Hope she was to rude to Faith and everyone. Not sure why Hope was the sweetheart of Bramble when she was so rude.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was an extremely funny read. Faith Aldridge shows up in B

    This was an extremely funny read.

    Faith Aldridge shows up in Bramble, Texas to find out where in CA her identical twin sister Hope, who up until recently she never knew she had. When she walks into a bar hoping to get answers she is immediately mistaken for Hope who has been gone for 5 years. Hope is a big city girl from Chicago and has no idea how to take all these crazy people and their small town Texas ways. Seems the town wants her to get back with her high school sweetheart (which was really Hope) Slate Calhoun.

    After a few tequila shots Faith stops trying to convince the town she isn’t Hope. Slate steps in and takes a drunk Faith (who he thinks is Hope but something seems a little off) out of the bar to go for a ride. But Slate realizes after a few kisses that this woman is not Hope cause Hope's kisses never made him feel this way.

    Bramble, Texas is one crazy town. The secondary characters in this book will have you laughing so hard it'll bring tears to your eyes. There are also a few heartbreaking moments when we find out the reason Faith and Hope don’t know anything about each other.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Katie Lane’s first book in the A Deep in the Heart of Texa

    Katie Lane’s first book in the A Deep in the Heart of Texas Novel Series is hilarious.

    I have to admit there was a point in the book, where I got so frustrated; I had to put the book down. I mean really, what kind of town and people in their right minds would do what they did to Faith Aldridge? Yes, the people in Bramble are NOT in their right minds… In fact, I’m sure that they have lost their minds somewhere deep in the Pecos River.

    I loved Faith, I really did not like Hope. Talk about being identical twins with totally different personalities.

    Hopefully, with Make Mine a Bad Boy, I’ll like Hope.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I couldn't put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A GREAT WESTERN CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE!GOING COWBOY CRAZY BY KATIE LANE...

    GOING COWBOY CRAZY by Katie Lane is an intersting Western contemporary romance set in present day Bramble,Texas. It is the first in "A DEEP IN THE HEART OF TEXAS NOVEL".It is written with depth and details. It has romance,sweet sensuality,witty dialag, community,family,twins,and love.When Faith goes to Bramble to find her twin,she will not only find a family,her twin but also a place to come home to and love. Faith,was adopted out after her birth,her parents could not take care of two babies.Her adopted parents have died and she wishes to find her twin and her birth parents. Slate,Bramble's coach,their town hero,best friends with Faith's twin Hope and soon learns that love is only a heartbreak away.Faith and Slate become attracted to each other,while most of the town people believe she is Hope.The town plan a wedding,and of course Faith and Slate did not agree to this opposed wedding.But along the way they realize they truly are in love with each other and accept the wedding.But then Hope appears on the scene and tries to create trouble between her long lost twin and her long time friend,for Hope decides she wants to marry Slate herself.She has gotten herself into a bit of a pickle.This is a fast paced story full of quick humor,full loving town people,romance,and is a must read.This book was received for the purpose of review from Reading Romance Book Blogs and the publisher and details can be found at Forever,an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2