Customer Reviews for

Going Home: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution,

If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution, you will love AA's book. If your a fan of One Second After, Lights Out, or the Patroit, you need to buy this book. Going Home sets a new "high bar" for this genre.

For those of us who have follo...
If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution, you will love AA's book. If your a fan of One Second After, Lights Out, or the Patroit, you need to buy this book. Going Home sets a new "high bar" for this genre.

For those of us who have followed this story a chapter at a time on another website, we are excited to finally see this in Kindle and soon to be in paperback and hardcover.

This is a story of a man who against all odds, makes a epic journey to get home to his wife and kids. This story has it all: struggle of the common man in uncommon situations. Start with a CME(coronal mass ejection), a corrupt governmental agency and rouge members of the military doing their bidding and taking advantage of this event. A complete collapse of the electrical grid, fried electronic devices turning the clock back on us to the 1800's. But there is hope :members of the military and the common man who believe in the Constution of the United States and are duty bound to uphold and defend it against those trying to create a "new world order".

Although this is a work of fiction, the events that happen in AA's book can happen. We are approaching the solar maximum where solar flares will increase until 2014 and then decline on this 11 year cycle. Do a Google search for The "Carrington Effect or Event". A massive solar flare can cause our electrical grid to collapse around the world. Power distribution stations will be fried along with transformers at those stations and on power poles.

Or toss a Iranian or (enter your own rouge nation here) nuke high in our atmosphere and create EMP event and it will have the same effect. Want to know what effect an EMP would have on us, Google "2008 Congressional EMP Report"

It would take years to restore our outdated electrical grid. As of this writing, people on the east coast are still without power after hurricane Sandy a month after the event. Imagine a nation wide or worse hemisphere wide Carrington Event. Chaos, riots, no food or medicine and gangs all at your doorstep. Sounds fun dosent it? NOT!

Like I said Going Home is work of fiction, but there are many things that could happen to trigger these same outcomes for us all. Its worth a read, to see how, at least in AA's mind these events play out.

Are you ready for something like Going Home to happen to you?

posted by AD1 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An "event" leaves Morgan a keen survivalist stranded m

An "event" leaves Morgan a keen survivalist stranded miles from home. The story describes the adventure, danger and the gear he uses during his journey home. I have rated the book with 3 stars normally it would be a 4 star book but the overuse of acronyms and ...
An "event" leaves Morgan a keen survivalist stranded miles from home. The story describes the adventure, danger and the gear he uses during his journey home. I have rated the book with 3 stars normally it would be a 4 star book but the overuse of acronyms and branding has killed off that star. Morgan joins forces with some others also seeking to go home, building friendships and together confronting all the hurdles placed along their route. Very little background is given as to how the event happened and the causes, I suspect this maybe reserved for the second book "Surviving Home". Overall it is a good story however you are distracted by the specialist indulgence.

posted by BasingstoneBook on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    A worthwhile read- a realistic and reasonable approach to being prepared for disasters.

    A. American is great at making the characters real to you. You begin to care & feel for what they are going through, and it's easy to put yourselves right there with them. This is not your usual dark, bloody, end of the world with no hope apocalyptic scenario, and I think that's what I enjoyed most about this series.

    The main character, Morgan, is just one of us. An every day family man who, while he believed in being prepared for whatever might come, isn't one of the die hard militant survivalists HOPING for society to collapse. In fact, like most of us, he clearly dreads the thought. But when it happens (and the author makes this a very plausible, realistic scenario) he is prepared. This really makes you think about the future and what would happen to you, your family, and society in the event of something big happening.

    I have read all five books of the series and will definitely buy any publications he writes in the future- I really enjoy his story telling style. That said, I gave it fours stars when I really wanted to give it five because the technical parts of the writing were a little (and I do me just a very-little) lacking on minor issues. But, that's not important- it's a good story with good character development that will draw you in. Get this book, read it, enjoy it, and think about your personal situation. You will have a new, more reasonable and relaistic take on "being prepared".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    Going Home

    Good read. I can't look at the authors without thinking that another pen name might have been more suitable or A. N. American to be more grammatical. Tiny criticism of a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    like the story but

    Way to many unnecessary words. Reminded me of Steven King taking up a page and a half to tell me the sky was blue.
    Get on with the story, I don't need a whole page or more and about a thousand acronyms to get the idea he is packing his backpack.
    I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get on with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Wonderful read and recommend highly. Very suspenseful and a page

    Wonderful read and recommend highly. Very suspenseful and a page turner! You will love the characters. Can't wait to read the next 2 books in this series. His knowledge of survivalist equipment is amazing.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Well worth reading

    Thefirst 120 pages is full of jargon. The rest is very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For all of you doomsday preppers and survivalists that are curre

    For all of you doomsday preppers and survivalists that are currently stockpiling all your gear in the event of a nuclear attack or government shutdown, the latest series from A. American is definitely one you will want to check out. The back cover does an exceptional job at warning the reader that this book is definitely for mature audience and I definitely applaud that. This novel reminded me of the television show Jericho, which showcased what happened when the United States fell victim from a nuclear attack on various major cities. The town of Jericho is a small piece of the puzzle and Going Home, the first novel in the Survivalist series, takes this scenario a step further. Think of it like Jericho on steroids!!! For you adrenaline junkies, you will definitely want to hang on tight.

    The novel opens when Morgan Carter's car seems to breakdown 250 miles from home on a deserted stretch of road in Tallahassee, Florida. Believing it to be just car trouble, he immediately picks up his cell phone only to see the screen is black and even the charger is no longer functional. This means one of two things has occurred, either an EMP blast or CME, a Coronal Mass Ejection or Solar Flare has now rendered all electronics useless. Thankfully since he always packs for emergencies, he has all he needs to begin a long walk home to his wife and three daughters. But the long journey home will be far from easy as things begin to slowly unwind after people realize that they have to take care of themselves or risk becoming a victim.

    Morgan Carter is resourceful and finds that all his training up this point has definitely prepared him for survival he will need to make it home. Along the way he hooks up with Jessica, a twenty-two-year old girl who fell victim to the event at a rest area. Fearing the worst for her particular situation, she begs Morgan to let her come along and she will take care of her own needs. She is able to convince him of just that knowing that two can survive in this situation better than going it alone. It seems that having her along as well provides an asset to their survival he didn't seem coming and for once is thankful for the suggestion to let her come along. They add Thad, a large black man with some military training, to their alliance and soon find out that things are only going to get worse the longer they all journey back to their respective homes and families.

    I received Going Home from A. American compliments of Penguin Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a great novel and one I thoroughly enjoyed. Knowing that I would be encountering strong subject matter, once you understand the characters involved, it makes sense that profanity and violence in this situation would be expected. This is simply a survival story of Morgan Carter who will do ANYTHING he has to in order to make it home to his wife and daughters. Let me tell you that the journey will be anything but an easy one and walking 250 miles home will offer up dangers no one expected they would ever have to face. I easily give this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion and can't wait for Surviving Home which we get a sneak peek at in the end of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    good read learned some things

    I enjoyed reading the book, some parts I disagree with but overall was a good reading book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Excellent

    Very well written and really makes you think. While you may not start carrying survival gear with you, you will start thinking "what if" a lot. Have read the second book, Surviving Home, and can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    I just finished reading this self published book. The story and

    I just finished reading this self published book. The story and character development was great, and the story arc sucks you right in. If you like survivalist fiction genre, you will enjoy this book. My only caviat is the spelling and grammer especially in the first couple of chapters were mildly annoying and I am no English major. Otherwise a very engaging story, and I am looking forward to part 2 when it is released on NOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1