Customer Reviews for

Going Home: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution,

If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution, you will love AA's book. If your a fan of One Second After, Lights Out, or the Patroit, you need to buy this book. Going Home sets a new "high bar" for this genre.

For those of us who have follo...
If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution, you will love AA's book. If your a fan of One Second After, Lights Out, or the Patroit, you need to buy this book. Going Home sets a new "high bar" for this genre.

For those of us who have followed this story a chapter at a time on another website, we are excited to finally see this in Kindle and soon to be in paperback and hardcover.

This is a story of a man who against all odds, makes a epic journey to get home to his wife and kids. This story has it all: struggle of the common man in uncommon situations. Start with a CME(coronal mass ejection), a corrupt governmental agency and rouge members of the military doing their bidding and taking advantage of this event. A complete collapse of the electrical grid, fried electronic devices turning the clock back on us to the 1800's. But there is hope :members of the military and the common man who believe in the Constution of the United States and are duty bound to uphold and defend it against those trying to create a "new world order".

Although this is a work of fiction, the events that happen in AA's book can happen. We are approaching the solar maximum where solar flares will increase until 2014 and then decline on this 11 year cycle. Do a Google search for The "Carrington Effect or Event". A massive solar flare can cause our electrical grid to collapse around the world. Power distribution stations will be fried along with transformers at those stations and on power poles.

Or toss a Iranian or (enter your own rouge nation here) nuke high in our atmosphere and create EMP event and it will have the same effect. Want to know what effect an EMP would have on us, Google "2008 Congressional EMP Report"

It would take years to restore our outdated electrical grid. As of this writing, people on the east coast are still without power after hurricane Sandy a month after the event. Imagine a nation wide or worse hemisphere wide Carrington Event. Chaos, riots, no food or medicine and gangs all at your doorstep. Sounds fun dosent it? NOT!

Like I said Going Home is work of fiction, but there are many things that could happen to trigger these same outcomes for us all. Its worth a read, to see how, at least in AA's mind these events play out.

Are you ready for something like Going Home to happen to you?

posted by AD1 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An "event" leaves Morgan a keen survivalist stranded m

An "event" leaves Morgan a keen survivalist stranded miles from home. The story describes the adventure, danger and the gear he uses during his journey home. I have rated the book with 3 stars normally it would be a 4 star book but the overuse of acronyms and ...
An "event" leaves Morgan a keen survivalist stranded miles from home. The story describes the adventure, danger and the gear he uses during his journey home. I have rated the book with 3 stars normally it would be a 4 star book but the overuse of acronyms and branding has killed off that star. Morgan joins forces with some others also seeking to go home, building friendships and together confronting all the hurdles placed along their route. Very little background is given as to how the event happened and the causes, I suspect this maybe reserved for the second book "Surviving Home". Overall it is a good story however you are distracted by the specialist indulgence.

posted by BasingstoneBook on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution,

    If you are a fan of survival tales, the new NBC show Revolution, you will love AA's book. If your a fan of One Second After, Lights Out, or the Patroit, you need to buy this book. Going Home sets a new "high bar" for this genre.

    For those of us who have followed this story a chapter at a time on another website, we are excited to finally see this in Kindle and soon to be in paperback and hardcover.

    This is a story of a man who against all odds, makes a epic journey to get home to his wife and kids. This story has it all: struggle of the common man in uncommon situations. Start with a CME(coronal mass ejection), a corrupt governmental agency and rouge members of the military doing their bidding and taking advantage of this event. A complete collapse of the electrical grid, fried electronic devices turning the clock back on us to the 1800's. But there is hope :members of the military and the common man who believe in the Constution of the United States and are duty bound to uphold and defend it against those trying to create a "new world order".

    Although this is a work of fiction, the events that happen in AA's book can happen. We are approaching the solar maximum where solar flares will increase until 2014 and then decline on this 11 year cycle. Do a Google search for The "Carrington Effect or Event". A massive solar flare can cause our electrical grid to collapse around the world. Power distribution stations will be fried along with transformers at those stations and on power poles.

    Or toss a Iranian or (enter your own rouge nation here) nuke high in our atmosphere and create EMP event and it will have the same effect. Want to know what effect an EMP would have on us, Google "2008 Congressional EMP Report"

    It would take years to restore our outdated electrical grid. As of this writing, people on the east coast are still without power after hurricane Sandy a month after the event. Imagine a nation wide or worse hemisphere wide Carrington Event. Chaos, riots, no food or medicine and gangs all at your doorstep. Sounds fun dosent it? NOT!

    Like I said Going Home is work of fiction, but there are many things that could happen to trigger these same outcomes for us all. Its worth a read, to see how, at least in AA's mind these events play out.

    Are you ready for something like Going Home to happen to you?

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    I read this book initially as the author wrote it, on a forum.

    I read this book initially as the author wrote it, on a forum. I read it again once it came out in print. I have read it a third time to prepare myself for the release of Surviving Home. Each time, I enjoyed the book more! Mr. American does an excellent job with character development, and really knows how to draw you into a tale. As you read the book, you will find yourself engrossed in the plight of the protagonist, Morgan, as he makes his trek home to his family. This is a book that you just can't put down, even on the third reading!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Call it PAW fiction, EOTWAWKI fiction,Survivalist fiction, Prepp

    Call it PAW fiction, EOTWAWKI fiction,Survivalist fiction, Prepper fiction, or Future History. Call it whatever you want.Just don't forget to add that this is a great read. I think we are privileged to be witnessing the first offering of a major author. W.E.B. Griffin, Harry Turtledaub, Brad Thor move over. This book is different than all of your works, but the writing is absolutely on par.

    With a very human voice, A. American tells the story of a horrific tomorrow, and one that's very, very possible. Done with attention to detail, but not droning on in "tech specs," and with an obviously keen understanding of the human roller-coaster -- from tragedy to humor, tears to laughter, fear to courage. The reader is right next to Morgan Carter and the other characters all the way and becomes invested in their lives.

    I only wish a larger publishing house had grabbed the manuscript first, and that there was the roll-out and promotion that this book deserves.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An exceptional tale of a man (and some new-found friends) as he

    An exceptional tale of a man (and some new-found friends) as he tries to get home after the power goes out...to everything. It can be course and gritty, just like real life, but this is PAW fiction after all, not Mr. Rogers Neighborhood. If you're a "prepper", or are starting to think about "what may come", this book is for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What would you do? You are 250 miles from home and the "sys

    What would you do? You are 250 miles from home and the "system" shuts down cars quit running no electricity. The society is going to collapse soon. All you have the stuff in your car to get home.....can you do it? Follow Morgan on his journey home. AA did such a great job writing this story I felt like I could be Morgan. Every character i was able to visualize who should be the actor for a movie version. I stumbled across this story while it was being developed on a forum. I spent 4 nights after the family was put to bed reading one installment after another. Then all of a sudden I was caught up with the writer as he was producing the story. It was a bunch of fun seeing the story come together. Buy this and you won't be able to put it down once you start. You might even find yourself making a "Get Home Bag" for your car like I did. I bought four four Christmas gifts .... It is that great!!! Going Home II coming soon!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    A Riveting Story

    This is a riveting story from start to finish. It is well written, and has an addicting way of drawing you into the characters and the story. Be warned, once you start, you will not be able to put this down until the end, and it will leave you wanting more. Luckily Book II is just around the corner.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    A Riveting Story

    This is a riveting story from start to finish. It is well written, and has an addicting way of drawing you into the characters and the story. Be warned, once you start, you will not be able to put this down until the end, and it will leave you wanting more. Luckily Book II is just around the corner.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    This is a riveting story from start to finish. It is well writte

    This is a riveting story from start to finish. It is well written, and has an addicting way of drawing you into the characters and the story. Be warned, once you start, you will not be able to put this down until the end, and it will leave you wanting more. Luckily Book III is just around the corner..

    I found the web site on the back of the book very useful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Quite simply a great read. If you enjoy the genre of SHTF books

    Quite simply a great read. If you enjoy the genre of SHTF books, then much like 299 days, Joe Nobodies series, or Truth's Blood, you will certainly enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    If you enjoyed PAW or dystopian fiction, this book is for you!  

    If you enjoyed PAW or dystopian fiction, this book is for you!  I have had the great opportunity to read this book as it was being written, and I must say that AA has a great voice, and will one day (soon) be an author that is easily recognized by name!
    AA spins a great tale, and in my humble opinion puts others like William R. Forstchen (One Second After) to shame (and I loved OSA).
    Thanks for the great work, AA!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    This is one of the best books wrote on what is /can happen in th

    This is one of the best books wrote on what is /can happen in the near future. It is very much a can't put down book. I recomend this book to all that have a idea what is going on in this world and the reason why to start preparing now. Don't put this book off, it is that good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    Imagine crouching in a dark alley, trying to melt a page of this

    Imagine crouching in a dark alley, trying to melt a page of this book in a spoon so you can shoot it and get your fix....ya, it's kinda like that.  This book should carry a warning label due to it being highly addictive. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Captivating! I could not put the book down. Very informative and

    Captivating! I could not put the book down. Very informative and detailed. Will purchase all in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I read the Nook version. I could not put it down! It's one of th

    I read the Nook version. I could not put it down! It's one of those rare books that teach you important things while entertaining you. This book was fun to read except for one very irritating thing... it is loaded with typos. I'm not sure if it is because of poor translation from written book to e-book or something else. Whatever the reason it was extremely irritating to me. I read word for word rather than skim. I don't want to miss anything. I really wish someone would have thoroughly proofread the book several times before publication. All-in-all it was a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great read!

    This one will make you think about how you might handle the same situations. Full of good advice too. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great read!

    Awesome book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    This book really hits home for me as I work in Brazil for 30 day

    This book really hits home for me as I work in Brazil for 30 days at a time.  It really made me think about the planning I have in place, and what I need to look at again.  As for survivalist/SHTF/TEOTWAWKI books... it ranks right up there with Lights Out and One Second After.  Well done A.A.  I am glad I only read the first chapter way back when on the board.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read! Stumbled across this book a couple of days ago and j

    Great read!
    Stumbled across this book a couple of days ago and just finished it. Now what am I going to do? Really was a good read and will get you thinking...what if?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    I first read this on a website chapter by chapter. All the cliff

    I first read this on a website chapter by chapter. All the cliff hangers kept me wanting more, and wishing he would devote all his time to give us readers more chapters. When it finally came out, I purchased the hard cover. Reading it a second time was just as awesome as the first time. I couldnt put it down. Thank you for writing a great story, and I cant wait for the next book. I have recommended this book to my friends, and they are all saying the same thing, impossible to put down. One friend actually hasnt read anything since high school, and he was done within 5 hours. Great read, thanks again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    I really thoroughly enjoyed this book. I do wish there was a li

    I really thoroughly enjoyed this book. I do wish there was a little more backstory on the "Event"; but all things considered, it was an excellent read! I do agree with an earlier review concerning the use of a lot of branding or what I consider to be name dropping; but it does give someone points of reference for their own prepping.

    Still an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3