Customer Reviews for

Going Home: Finding Peace When Pets Die

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

After reading this book I have shed some tears and felt how it was to lose a dog. I highly recoomend it to pet owners.

posted by 9788912 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a book for animal lovers!!! Worst book i ever bought.

I read the first 40 pages of the book looking for support after losing a beloved pet. This book read more like a horror story of cold and careless people. Here is a sample... A person adopted a cow as a pet. He later couldn't afford it so he had it slaughtered. He split...
I read the first 40 pages of the book looking for support after losing a beloved pet. This book read more like a horror story of cold and careless people. Here is a sample... A person adopted a cow as a pet. He later couldn't afford it so he had it slaughtered. He split the profits with the friend that took the animal to the slaughter house. This isn't what any true animal lover would ever do. This book didn't bring me any comfort but rather it has given me even more grief and depression.

posted by 2886446 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    A Must Read

    After reading this book I have shed some tears and felt how it was to lose a dog. I highly recoomend it to pet owners.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Not a book for animal lovers!!! Worst book i ever bought.

    I read the first 40 pages of the book looking for support after losing a beloved pet. This book read more like a horror story of cold and careless people. Here is a sample... A person adopted a cow as a pet. He later couldn't afford it so he had it slaughtered. He split the profits with the friend that took the animal to the slaughter house. This isn't what any true animal lover would ever do. This book didn't bring me any comfort but rather it has given me even more grief and depression.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Found it at the right time!

    I had to have my cat of 17 years put to sleep back on Sept 30 of this year. Heart wrenching but the right choice. After a weekend of tears and sadness I started to feel less grief at her absence. I happened upon this book just after Jon Katz had appeared locally at the WI Humane Society - I wish I could have heard him speak. The book itself is well done. It was comforting for me to read and brought up the tears again - but that's ok. It's normal to grieve a pet. It's comforting to know you aren't alone when you experience a high level of grief over a pet. It really is a beautiful book - quick to read, and resonates deeply.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Very good and very helpful

    I'm still mourning the loss of my beloved dog and reading this book helped me sort through my thoughts and feelings. I think the various anecdotes and author's insight can be helpful to all sorts of people. If you've lost a pet, have a terminally ill pet or have an elderly pet I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    A person.

    You can teah ctas how to do tricks. Just get somw good cat treats. Hold the treat above their nose until they sit down, and then immediately give them the treat and say 'sit'. This should work, but it may take a few days. It also works with 'speak', but it takes a while longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Silver

    Informitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Stormy: mypet

    If we can post anout our pets...for theboet of the day, this is my post. Jasmine! Shes my black labrador retreiver(lab for short) and shes FAT! LIKE A WALRUS! She wears a purple flower collar around her neck, she has a son that she like to nplay with, and she has a long tounge that she likes to give kisses w ith! She has floppy ears, and bounces around. She loves to play with the horses at the barn she lives at!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Misty

    I wanna subscribe! Go to 'md' res three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Yo

    Make the pet of the day my kitty Coco! She is a female tortoishell. Half her face is kinda a tan color. The other half is black. She's kinda lazy and likes to lay on a specific chair. She's so adorable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Pet stuff!

    Okay. So here is some real life stuff about pets. It might be cool if you teach a skill in every news paper. For instance<br>
    <br>
    Day 1) Sit<br>
    Day 2) Lay Down<br>
    Etc.<br>
    <br>
    Pet crafts;<br>
    <br>
    Doggy mask!<br>
    You need: paper, markers, scissors, popcicle stick, and tape or glue.<br>
    Directions:<br>
    Cut the paper into a circle. <br>
    Cut out eyes. <br>
    Cut out floppy ears, glue/tape them to the sides.<br>
    Color with spots, solids, mixes whatever!<br>
    Glue bottom onto popcicle stick. <br>
    Ta da!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Jon and Co.

    Jon: Human male with 6 pets <p> Ace: German Shepard. Retired police dog, icey blue eyes and black fur, with brown paws, brown muzzle and brown spots, male <p> Bane: Dalmation. Retired firefighter dog, green eyes, black with white spots, female <p> Kale: Pug. Light brown fur, brown eyes, pink nose, white spots <p> Cole: Great Dane. Blue gray fur, icey blue eyes, black tipped tail <p> Hayden: Tibetan Mastif. Snow white fur, green eyes, black specks <p> Bane: Pit bull. Cream colored fur, brown specks, icey blue eyes, pink and black spotted nose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    The Daily Pawprint (volume 2)

    **PET OF THE DAY** <br>
    Today's pet is Biscuit, a cute male Boston terrier. He is black and white like the average Boston terrier, but also has a unique white ring that goes all the way around his neck. He was found at a garage sale. What a way to save a pet! Thanks for submitting!!
    <p>
    **Iggy's Diary**
    <p>
    Iggy here. I am the author's guinea pig, a cute orangish-tan and white spotched male guinea pig to be exact. My owner owns a rabbit, another guinea pig who is my buddy, a dog, a cat, two dwarf hamsters, a hedgehog, and the little and older brother owns a snake, red-bellied toad, hermit crabs, and hissing cockroachs! The room they both share is like an exotic pet store!! I like my girl owner's room better. Everyone there is furry except for the hedgehog!! He's spiky.
    <p>
    I will post my diary here from time to time, but maybe next time another pet will say something. Anyways, today my owner got a new cage addition in the mail in this big box that my bunny friend liked in her pen. The cage addition was a new platform piece and some fleece. I don't use bedding, I use fleece because it's better for me and my pig friend, Raven. (She's a girl, but my owner had me taken to the vet for an "operation so we wouldn't have babies.") I love my new platform and like to sit on it. It's fun!! <br>
    LOVE....Iggy
    <p>
    **HEALTH TIP**
    <p>
    Does your dog have fleas? Most flea shampoos are expensive and can irritate your dog's skin. Just rub an orange slice onto your dog's coat and the fles will jump off. Here's another little tip - don't ever use flea collars!! If you look on the back of aa package of a flea collar it says, 'This is hazardous to domestic animals and children.' A dog is a domestic animal!!! This goes for cats too.
    <p>
    **Announcement** <br>
    Hey, pet lovers!! Do you love this newspaper? Then why not subscribe? When you comment on here, just add the location of your Clan or chatroom or whatever (you don't have to be leader) and we will send announcements about the latest issue there. Simple!
    <p>
    **Ask TDP**
    <p>
    "Should I give my dog bones from chicken or other meat?"
    <p>
    TDP: No!! Dogs can choke and many have, on these bones. They are expensive and life-threatening to have removed, and many have died. Rawhide is more acceptable for dogs, but the should be a year old, since puppies may not be able to digest rawhide. Also, monitor him and when the rawhide can fit into his mouth, take it away. That's way too small. Hope this helped!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Not a big fan

    Parts of this book was good. But i was hoping for more. I like his other books better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Kncok kncok knpxk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Baby wolf to kat

    *smiles at you then looks into your eyes*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Cali

    Hello wanna b pen pals. My mailbox is at grace result three i think...its on the first page lol ...love cali!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    KITCHEN

    KAT a granite island thingie with a bowl of lemons and limes on it plus an oven microwave and coubtee abd cupboards with kitchen supplies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Thank you

    I am less then a few days away from having my beloved dog euthanised because of severe behavioral issues. I have been struggling with the decision for almost a year and have been doing alot of crying and second guessing the decision. After reading this book I feel more confident about the decision and better equipt to cope with the grief that will follow. Thank you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Hawkclaw

    "B-because I thought maybe one day... After I met you... Th-that we might have kits," she replied bashfuly. "Oh, it's at "can you stand" first result."

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Wonderful!

    This book completely helped me grieve my dog. I cried and laughed.....but mostly just felt relief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2