Customer Reviews for

Going Rogue: An American Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 1347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(643)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(310)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

118 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

True Reviews: Let's Rate Books for the Book, Not Just our Opinion of the Author

Talk about not judging a book by its cover...those who readily admit they will never read this book yet rate it poorly. How is it that there are so many reviews and ratings for a book that isn't even released yet? No, these ratings must be for the author herself.

As ...
Talk about not judging a book by its cover...those who readily admit they will never read this book yet rate it poorly. How is it that there are so many reviews and ratings for a book that isn't even released yet? No, these ratings must be for the author herself.

As it is always hard to determine tone through typed words, this is not at all meant to be harsh or unkind. I merely suggest reading a book (or even part) before submitting a review...then at least there would be ground for disagreements and issues for discussion. Otherwise, it's like rating an item on Amazon.com because you disliked the commercial, even though you don't and won't ever use or own the product. Just a thought...

posted by 351794 on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 321 people found this review helpful.

Sarah's ghostwriter

Per Google and the Rachel Maddow show 9/30/2009, Sarah's ghostwriter is Lynn Vincent, "collaborator" on numerous other books. Go ahead and Google and see what you think. (P.S. Obviously have not read the book, but a star rating is required for this review. I do not pla...
Per Google and the Rachel Maddow show 9/30/2009, Sarah's ghostwriter is Lynn Vincent, "collaborator" on numerous other books. Go ahead and Google and see what you think. (P.S. Obviously have not read the book, but a star rating is required for this review. I do not plan to read the book.)

posted by liberal66 on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1349 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 68
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    True Reviews: Let's Rate Books for the Book, Not Just our Opinion of the Author

    Talk about not judging a book by its cover...those who readily admit they will never read this book yet rate it poorly. How is it that there are so many reviews and ratings for a book that isn't even released yet? No, these ratings must be for the author herself.

    As it is always hard to determine tone through typed words, this is not at all meant to be harsh or unkind. I merely suggest reading a book (or even part) before submitting a review...then at least there would be ground for disagreements and issues for discussion. Otherwise, it's like rating an item on Amazon.com because you disliked the commercial, even though you don't and won't ever use or own the product. Just a thought...

    118 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A fascinating look at Sarah Palin

    I just finished. More than half the book deals with Palin's life before the presidential campaign, where most of us were introduced to her. We learn about Palin's fondness for caribou meat, and that Palin is an admirer or the right's beloved Reagan. One is led to think she sees herself as being the one to carry on his legacy. She gives us 6 chapters that provide details of her life, her early days in AL to the presidential campaign and decision to resign as governor. Palin tells us many of the things that happened inside the McCain campaign. For example, even when she wanted to answer many simple questions such as "How do you feel? What is it like? What's your message to Alaskans?" she was instructed not to answer. "Not allowed," she writes. "Too dangerous. The national media might pick up the interview." Having read the book, I think emotional intelligence is what sets her apart. I just finished the book "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and can see the connection.

    77 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    Sarah's ghostwriter

    Per Google and the Rachel Maddow show 9/30/2009, Sarah's ghostwriter is Lynn Vincent, "collaborator" on numerous other books. Go ahead and Google and see what you think. (P.S. Obviously have not read the book, but a star rating is required for this review. I do not plan to read the book.)

    70 out of 321 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Going Rogue is more like Going fluff

    Sarah Palin states in her book that she is questioned on abortion but gives few actual specifics. For example when questioned if abortion should be illegal for a young teenage girl who is raped, she dodges the question of legality. She does not state if she would make that type of abortion illegal or not. The most she states is that she would support a vague support system for the baby and mother and would not send the mother to jail. Left unsaid is if she would send the abortion doctor to prison or the very specific question of should such an abortion be illegal. I think Palin dodges it because she supports a total ban on abortion and most Americans (including independents and swing voters) do not want a ban on all types of abortions, especially if a teenage girl is raped by her own father. So for a politican (and that is what she is for all her populist rhetoric) she walks a narrow path in order to appear to more voters. So much for the "Straight talk express" that she was a quasi-member. Palin skirted other issues or changed her tune while running for the VP slot. For example, her position on global warming evolved from one of doubt to being unsure. She definately downplayed her far rightwing religious views. She definately does not want the American people to know of her belief in witches as evidenced by a youtube video. In fact, her politics are not much different then Pat Robertson but being more attractive. Palin is a woman who believes that those who don't share her beliefs aren't "real Americans" like her. She stated this at a campaign rally in North Carolina. I guess the region of the country that in't part of "real America" is whoever doesn't vote for the rightwing. She frequently hides behind the military when criticized intead of meeting her critics head on. In contrast to Palin, Mike Huckabee wrote a book that actually listed real ideals and policy ideas for America. I might not agree with Huckabee but he is a person who has thought through various ideas. The rightwing tries to make Palin out as some victim of leftwing sexism but that is a red herring. She is not ready and never will be for big time politics, like Dan Quayle. Quayle, like Palin, wasn't opposed for his sex but because both are empty suits.

    52 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    Sarah America takes the literary world by storm

    Sarah Palin is an amazing woman who transcends traditional boundaries and represents all Americans regardless of their political affiliation.

    Her eagerly awaited inspiring tale is already a bestseller. The response to this book has been unprecedented, as people from all walks of life have pre-ordered her story in incredible numbers.

    Read the real story behind America's next great leader, Sarah Palin. Going Rogue. This is the Sarah Palin that Hollywood and the liberal media don't want you to know about.

    52 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a small world after all...

    That dweeb actor Matt Damon feared if Palin were to become president and McCain had won and then died in office, he compared it to being "a really bad Disney movie". http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6urw_PWHYk I wonder if he doesn't realize the really bad Disney movie the country is currently in?! We have a 'Mickey Mouse' leader, who countless of times has "acted stupidly" with his 'Goofy' Harvard mouth, bad mouthing people exercising their Constitutional Rights to peaceably assemble and express their grievances. Being 'The Absent-Minded Professor', bad mouthing MA cops. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXlu-hwPrrw When "Finding Nemo", you might want to look under the bus. It seems to be a popular place where you can find most anybody, such as Obama's typical white person grandmother, his Rev. Jeremiah Wright, the Mass. Police, his friend Harvard Prof. Gates, Eastern Europe... mighty crowded under that bus. He travels 'Around The World in 80 Days' while his czars, I like to think of them as "Ratatouille's", are becoming reminiscent of 'The Apple Dumpling Gang'. I just hope he doesn't become "Chicken Little" and play politics with the lives of the brave men and women in Afghanistan because he has to listen to the left wing loons of his party as opposed to being "The Mighty Duck" and listen to his Generals! But if "The Emperor's New Groove" is to listen to the leftwing loons, I hope it doesn't come at the expense of servicemen lives. He and his team came into office as "The Incredibles" but are fast becoming "Operation Dumbo Drop"! While that "National Treasure" Sarah Palin may be the "Underdog", I bet if the presidential election were held today, I doubt Obama would retain the Independent vote that helped eek him into office and "Now You See Him, Now You don't". However, with Palin, there's "Never a Dull Moment" and her administration would be "The Neverending Story" to the sorry press we have today, but Palin is "The Miracle Worker" and that is precisely what this country is going to need after four years of "The Misadventures of Merlin Jones"! So I can't wait for Sarah's book and more importantly, the second book highlighting her time as the first female President of the United States entitled "Follow Me, Boys!" while the lefty loons go to "A Far Off Place"! http://disneydvd.disney.go.com/a-to-z.html

    47 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    American Icons

    It is a shame that people polarize themselves to support their beliefs, most our our politicians and current President have a gift to lead; they exercise that gift to their ability, which at times is not perfect...Who is? Sarah Palin is a leader like many of her fans and opponents, I applaud her for fulfilling her role in life. I am sure her book will inspire a certain group of people, I especially like her religious convictions. I am a independent bookstore owner, and I will carry her book even though I did not vote for her. Now that is America!

    46 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sarah 2012!

    I can't wait to read this book. Sarah says what we all want to say. She represents what is great in America.

    45 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    It's a Masterpiece

    In this book former Governor Palin outlines conservative solutions to fix the problems facing our nation.

    45 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Palin Power

    An ordinary American woman who has done extraordinary things. An American leader who is not embarassed or afraid to defend America. What an amazing life!

    45 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I ordered my first copy yesterday

    I look so forward to reading her actual account of her life and what her hopes and dreams are for our country. I read her entire speech when she recently went to China and if her book is anywhere near the masterful piece she wrote for that event it will be huge.

    42 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is going to be a best seller.

    During the 2008 elections, Sarah Palin turned the political world upside down, and she's not done yet. Whenever Palin says anything the media is set on fire. This book will be a number one, I just know it.

    41 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Can't wait!!

    I look forward to reading Gov. Palin's book. Yes, I believe she wrote it -- without the aid of a ghost-writer. I want to learn about her principles and values. Gov. Palin is remarkably similar, philosophically, to Margaret Thatcher and Pres. Reagan.

    As the press continues to villify Gov. Palin, I become more convinced that they are afraid of her. Margaret Thatcher was called the "Iron Lady." Sara Palin will be the Iron Lady of the United States. She is the one who can lead the nation back from the precipice of socialism.

    40 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Sarah Palin is the face of America!

    Despite her young age, Sarah Palin has already lived a rich and extraordinary life. I have no doubt that she will be our nation's President one day. There are very few individuals who could have been air-dropped in the middle of a national presidential campaign and, despite having been relentlessly smeared and abused by the liberal media, her handlers, even her former future son-in-law, confronted this assault with such resilience, grace and dignity. She is still standing, and has won the hearts and minds of a great many Americans. Sarah Palin is the voice of Americans who believe, as the Founding Fathers did, in life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Godspeed Sarah, I can't wait to read your amazing story without the filter of the media.

    40 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Sarah Palin's Going Rogue will sell out before it is released

    I'm sure that there will have to be several printings of this book, millions more will want it after the original printing is sold out. it will sell out before it is released.

    39 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    A Must Read!

    Former Governor of Alaska finally gets to tell her side of the story without the bias of the mainstream media.

    39 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Going Rogue: An American Life

    This is a long awaited expose' on the REAL Sarah Palin written BY the Real Sarah Palin.

    39 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Need electronic version of this book

    Wish I could order it to use on my iPod or Kindle.
    Can't wait to read this book by our future President!

    38 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    anxious

    I'm anxiously awaiting this book. I ordered this morning, and it was at #688, within an hour it was at #29, and now it's #1. Despite the fact that amazon doesn't even have it on its search engine, and to get to their page you have to google for the link, it has risen to #23 the last time I looked. If they were on the ball it would be #1 over there as well. It was a brilliant move on Palin's part to get the book out as early as possible, both to catch the Holiday Book Buying Season, and to beat a couple of anti-Palin types who are scribbling out their screeds in crayon, and were geared up to release their books in the spring when Palin's book was originally scheduled for release.

    38 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    I find Sarah a very interesting woman, and her life so much more interesting than most women and mothers that I have heard about, that have a life both in Government and private.
    For me, ANY, mother/wife that can balance all this and put up with all of the bashing and put downs and give speechs that make sence and make middle americans feels that we are all on the same page, is someone that I feel is worth reading.
    I do not think that she has to be Demo or a Repu to make sence and understand what is needed and what we as Americans need.

    37 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1349 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 68