Customer Reviews for

Going Rogue: An American Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 1348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(643)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(310)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

118 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

True Reviews: Let's Rate Books for the Book, Not Just our Opinion of the Author

Talk about not judging a book by its cover...those who readily admit they will never read this book yet rate it poorly. How is it that there are so many reviews and ratings for a book that isn't even released yet? No, these ratings must be for the author herself.

As ...
Talk about not judging a book by its cover...those who readily admit they will never read this book yet rate it poorly. How is it that there are so many reviews and ratings for a book that isn't even released yet? No, these ratings must be for the author herself.

As it is always hard to determine tone through typed words, this is not at all meant to be harsh or unkind. I merely suggest reading a book (or even part) before submitting a review...then at least there would be ground for disagreements and issues for discussion. Otherwise, it's like rating an item on Amazon.com because you disliked the commercial, even though you don't and won't ever use or own the product. Just a thought...

posted by 351794 on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 321 people found this review helpful.

Sarah's ghostwriter

Per Google and the Rachel Maddow show 9/30/2009, Sarah's ghostwriter is Lynn Vincent, "collaborator" on numerous other books. Go ahead and Google and see what you think. (P.S. Obviously have not read the book, but a star rating is required for this review. I do not pla...
Per Google and the Rachel Maddow show 9/30/2009, Sarah's ghostwriter is Lynn Vincent, "collaborator" on numerous other books. Go ahead and Google and see what you think. (P.S. Obviously have not read the book, but a star rating is required for this review. I do not plan to read the book.)

posted by liberal66 on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 187 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Informative

    Informs the reader of details of her life

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Is she an emerging force in politics?

    My wife and I wanted to learn more about this newcomer in national politics. This book provided insights on character and philosophy. Whether or not you agree with Palin's politics, this read will assure you about her character and integrity.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    Get to know Sarah Palin

    It was nice to learn about the other side of Sarah, not the one the liberal media wants you to know. She is a hardworking woman who has led an interesting life. Enoyable and easy to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Excellent autobiography about an interesting person.

    The book well told the interesting personal story of one of the more vibrant and hopeful political personalities in recent years.
    It is her own story of how she came to be the Vice Presidental candidate.
    It was at times frustrating and explained things which so many of us in the electorate did not understand during the campaign. It is hard to imagine how annoyed Sarah Palin must have been with the restraints put upon her. A good read for anyone interested in the political process.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why the elite don't like Sarah Palin

    I am currently about half way through this book, but I have figured out
    why the Washington elite and the main stream media don't like Sarah Palin.
    It is because she is an ordinary, hard working, level headed American.
    And they just can't stand the idea that such a person has a legitimate
    chance to run for and possibly win the Presidency. I will vote for her
    if she runs because I am so tired of people that the main stream media
    tells us are so smart but have about as much common sense as a rutabaga.
    In fact in most cases I would give the rutabaga honors in that category.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Worth the Money

    It was an interesting read and an eye-opener. Sarah Palin was not treat well by her constituents, the Republican Party. It was an eye-opener as to how she was perceived in the public eye when in fact a lot of what we heard and saw was not the real Sarah Palin at all. She cares very much about family, Alaskians and the American people in general. I hope she does well and gets the honest reveiws she deserves.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Sarah Palin's American Life, a great read.

    Sarah Palin's Going Rogue, is in my opinion, and excellent biography, that tells the many ups and downs of not only the recent presidential election, but also her regular life. At times I felt that it was getting a little too political, but then I remember, the book was written by a politician. In many regards, the book does not seem like it was written exclusively for politics, and there are times when it hardly grazes the subject. From small town Wasilla, to the heated campaign trail, this book is exciting as well as interesting, and I would recommend it to anyone who keeps an open mind and would care for a new perspective.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Worth The Read

    An interesting and easy read. Will convince the reader that the author is capable, competent, and is very much 'one of us'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Going Rogue is going great

    I am in the middle of the book and I am looking forward to completing it. Sarah Palin is very humble and really seems to care about this wonderful country of ours. She is a smart woman and seems to have the citizens best interest in the forefront.
    She has definitely worked hard to get where she is at. She is a great source of inspiration. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Sarah Palin Going Rogue (Non-Politcal View)

    Book is well written. Has great past on former Gov. from AK. Also covers her views on politics and really gets heated up last couple of chapters. Great coverage on feelings from campaign trail and experience with both parties.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Enlightening!

    Sets the record straight on all the controversy surrounding Sarah Palin. Here is the "rest of the story" and the real story. Answers questions I had about the why of the bad press she received. Gave me an inside glimpse of behind the scenes politics which isn't always pretty, and didn't always make sense to her and doesn't to me either.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    Enlightening

    It provides great insight into a potential 2012 presidential candidate, completely unfiltered from a blatantly biased mainstream media. Although I would still like to know more about her positions on other issues, I'm liking what I'm seeing, reading, and hearing thus far. After reading the book, you really want to wish her the best in whatever future endeavors she pursues...be they inside the White House or out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Impressions are both happy and sad

    I loved the book. Not only because it has gifted me a candid glimpse into an American life of the charming, gifted and independent woman, but because it has gifted me also as candid glimpse into an American tragedy of all the gifted and independent people who are just incompatible with ever-more-growing and ever-more-incompetent bureaucracy (author calls it "Headquarters" in her usual politcorrect way) and thus are "thumped" without any pity at the first signs of being "rogue". It was a very happy reading - but a very sad one too. I'd even say - extremely sad. Because, to judge from the book, the Headquarters, even at the USA, seem to be the only real winner of any electoral race now, - not candidates or voters. Exept the lowest grassroot level of municipalities, probably. Rostislav, Saint-Petersburg, Russia

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Sarah is the best!

    Being a huge fan of Sarah Palins, I had to read her book and I loved it! So glad it is doing so well on the bestseller list. She deserves it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Good To Know

    I found it interesting and enjoyable to learn of Governor Palin's background and upbringing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    This was purchased for a gift

    I purchased this book for my husband because he wanted to read it. He loved it, interesting and understanding. He related to it because when he grew up he lived on a farm and worked hard and long hours. He related to the struggles and could understand how if you grew up in the city you might not understand rural life. Good Job, now book is loaned to our daughter to read and from there it will go to a neighbor and then back to me to read. Can't wait!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Sarah sets the record straight!

    This book is not only inspiring to women, but truly sets the record straight about what went on before, during and after the campaign as opposed to what was disseminated and distorted through the media during this time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book to get the real facts on just "what makes Sarah Palin tick" and what happened on the campaign for vice president with John McCain.

    I'd never heard of Sarah Palin until the Republican Convention in 2008. Yes, I'm a conservative thinking person, though I belong to no party anymore. I instantly liked Sarah Palin because she thought like I did and I believe she thinks like the majority of the people think in this country.....especially now after a year of such liberal leadership in the White House.

    Sarah's young life is an intersting story as is her ascent into politics starting with the Wasilla City Council to the Mayorship, Governor of Alaska and then the campaign for Vice Presidency. If one is at all involved in politics.....even just having an interest in it, the story of the McCain/Palin ticket is very interesting and disappointing how it was run-----but if ever involved in party politics one can see exactly how everthing happened. People run campaigns and take charge and make decisions that they think are "musts" for the campaign and turn out to be disasterous decisions. Sarah got played and after the campaign the liberals took after her and tried to destroy her life and the party did nothing to protect or stand up for her---in fact, in some ways set her up. It's the stuff that happens over and over in politics and it's a wonder why anyone ever sticks their neck out to try. I wish her nothing but the best. She's a level headed person, straight talker and a great American. Read the book whether you like her or don't---because after reading it I believe you will like her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I'm a fan!

    I like that she didn't really use the book as a venue to blast anyone who disagreed with her. It was an interesting account and I enjoyed learning about her. Her book, like herself, is very honest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightening

    This book showed another side of Sara. God love her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 187 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10