Customer Reviews for

Going Under

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book. I had never read anything by Geor


    I absolutely loved this book. I had never read anything by Georgia Cates and happened to read an excerpt from Going Under at the end of Shelly Crane's book. I immediately went to her website and found that the book was going to be released in a matter of days, and was thrilled.

    Jessie Boone is your typical oh so hot bad boy, who you can't help but fall in love with, especially as you begin to learn more about his story and his past. He's at a new high school, a star football player, he comes from the wrong side of town, and he has past that he would like to keep hidden. Claire Deveraux is the classic "high school sweetheart," a cheerleader, smart, sweet, and just happens to date the guy who got replaced by Jessie on the football team. What starts out as a game of revenge turns into something so much more. Jessie is the only one who sees past Claire's facade of being perfect, and she is the only one who sees past Jessie's hard outer shell to the great guy he is on the inside. The only problem is that they are from two different worlds, and as the reader, we get to experience what happens when those worlds collide.

    This story will pull at your heartstrings, causing you to experience a wide variety of emotions. Georgia Cates has done an excellent job of putting you right in the middle of everything that is going on, all the heartache, the joy, the romance, the passion, the drama - you experience it all. The story line is excellent and the characters are all well written and easy to connect to. I love Claire's snarky friend Payton, and the other supporting characters in the book. I was hooked from page one and there was not a dull minute in the whole book. The ending absolutely blew me away - that is all I can say about that without giving too much away. You are drawn into the story immediately, and although you felt like your heart would break sometimes, Georgia inserted some humor at just the right point,and you were able to laugh so you weren't overwhelmed by what was going on. Georgia certainly delivered in the romance area, it was really hot. I absolutely loved Jessie Boone and he ranks right up there with some of my other favorites, like Beau Vincent from the Vincent Boys. I would definitely recommend this book. Georgia Cates is a wonderful and talented writer and I think anyone who reads this book will be awed by it as well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    I am falling in love with this book it is so amazing and Im almo

    I am falling in love with this book it is so amazing and Im almost finished with it. It kind of reminds me of perfect chemistry and the coincidence of Callie and Kayden
     

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wonderful Surprise

    This book took me by surprise with how wonderful it was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chic Lit with some Suspense!

    Going Under by Georgia Cates is definitely Young Adult Chic Lit, which I happen to love so, I loved this story. I always enjoy sarcastic bantering between the love interest, and this book provided that without going overboard. Jessie is the cool, secretive bad boy. Claire is the popular cheerleader. Jessie and Claire's characters grew into their own and matured as the plot progressed.Their relationship definitely didn't have an easy start, nor did it remain easy. Georgia Cates knows how to get her readers involved in the lives of her characters, and it was easy to lose yourself while reading. Going Under was entertaining and fun, with some suspense thrown in the mix. Chic Lit and Young Adult fans alike will enjoy this book. I received Going Under by Georgia Cates from the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Wow

    This was a great book. I really enjoyed this book and read it in less than a day. I recommend this book for anyone who likes a good romance with some comedy and drama.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thanks to Going Under I have learned some very colourful new voc

    Thanks to Going Under I have learned some very colourful new vocabulary, thank you Payton. I found myself laughing at every new word. I loved Going Under. The characters were funny and lovable. I loved the tension between Jessie and Claire. They sure heated my Kindle up. I thought it was going to burst into flames. It was a definite love hate relationship. This was a romance about two people who have stereotyped each other. I enjoyed watching Claire and Jessie learn to let go of their inhibitions and find out that there was more to each other than they thought. Though it starts out with them trying to use/get even with each other it quickly becomes something more, much more.

    Claire is the girl who has everything. She's got money, a flashy car and the hot boyfriend. Lets be honest, Claire is the girl we all love to hate. But I don't hate Claire. There is more to her than what meets the eye. Sure she is a princess in her own way, but not in the ways that make her unlikeable. I think Jessie opened Claire's eyes about her life. Made her see more to it than what she thought it was. Her and Jessie are a perfect match. Claire is confident and sure of herself. She doesn't take crap and she sure doesn't follow the band wagon. She does what she believes is right not what everyone else is doing. It takes a lot to be able to be yourself and not try to be like everybody else. Claire you rock!

    Jessie is a guy who doesn't give himself enough credit. He is always putting himself down and thinking he is not good enough for Claire. Because of this he makes problems where there never should of been any. I loved Jessie, he shows that not all hot boys are arrogant jerks. He feels insecure and doesn't want to be rejected. I feel for Jessie, especially with all the stuff going on with Rita. If I could of joined the book and took him away I would of. My God, what a life he is living. I was happy to see him grow and finally see his worth, that he is more than he believed himself to be. One word for Jessie. Keeper. Jessie had me swooning more than once. He is the boy you bring home to meet mom and dad and have your HEA with.

    Ms. Cates writes a story where, I felt, the female/male MC's rolls were reversed. Usually the girl is insecure and the boy is all confidence. I loved seeing the opposite. Watching Claire and Jessie try not to fall for each other was down right funny, especially with Payton playing on the sidelines. Payton <3 In all honestly I don't think there could be a couple meant to be together more than them. Absolutely perfect! If your looking for a funny, tension filled romance, Going Under is it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    LOVED this book. I'm usually very picky about love stories becau

    LOVED this book. I'm usually very picky about love stories because I hate the cheesy-ness a lot of them entail. But this one was great. It was humorous and real at the same time. I loved the character interactions and emotions presented. Truly a great read that I would recommend to anyone and definitely looking for more books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    A laugh out loud story of high school drama rotating from the pe

    A laugh out loud story of high school drama rotating from the perspective of a bad boy down on his luck to a dreamy princess who’s got everything going for her.

    My favorite line (which drew me into caring for Jessie): “I had spent my entire life raising my hand to tell someone I didn’t have the things I needed and here I stood, 18 years old, still doing the same thing.”

    Jessie has an old Jalopy, no money, and a backpack full of his grandmother’s dope. He needs a football scholarship to get out of poverty and his grandmother’s stinking, dilapidated trailer. Since he was forced to switch schools, he has to steal the reigning quarterback’s position, and it just so happens Jessie wants his girlfriend, too.

    Claire lives in a protective cocoon where the only problem she has is an arrogant boyfriend and a dent in her fender. Her world is turned upside down when a new bad bay with alluring tattoos transfers to her school. He’s out for her boyfriend’s quarterback position, and he’s also out for her.

    Going Under has witty dialog, real characters, and all the classic stereotypes of high school drama along with the silly mind games that teens play. I loved it. I enjoyed reading both viewpoints of the boy and the girl. It was fun to go back and forth between the two voices and see how different life is on the other side of the tracks.

    I was especially drawn to Jessie, who grew up without decent parental figures or a stable home environment. For all his bad boyness, he has a big heart. I really identified with how people stereotyped Claire and thought everything was handed down to her, when she’d really worked hard to earn her valedictorian status. Great characters, great chemistry, and a lot of fireworks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Awesome Book & Author

    Love the plot and character. Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    AMAZING

    I absolutly loved this book. It is a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    CUTE FUNNY AND HEART WARN CUTE FUNNY AND HEART WARMING

    Never a dull moment, Payton needs her oen story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of drama and romance - breezed right though this great book

    Lots of drama and romance - breezed right though this great book! Jessie grew up on the rough side of town, but now he's starting a new year at a high school where some of the more privileged kids go. He's a great football player and ends up being an excellent addition to the team. The former starting quarterback, Forbes, who Jessie replaces, does not make it easy for him. Jessie retaliates by egging Forbes on and even makes him jealous by trying to flirt with Claire - Forbes' girlfriend. Claire is irritated by Jessie at first, but it's hard for her to deny her attraction to him. What started out as Jessie trying to get back at Forbes, and Claire getting back at Jessie for using her to make Forbes jealous, ends up being a lot more when they can no longer ignore the chemistry between them. Their relationship doesn't come easy though because of both Jessie's rocky home life and Claire's family.

    Loved the characters - I was rooting for Jessie and Claire throughout it all. Claire really was down-to-earth and had an interesting background, even though at first glance some might see her as just some rich girl. Jessie really is a great guy that you get to meet underneath that bad boy layer. Claire's best friend, Payton, is so blunt and it's just hilarious. Currently, there's a poll on Georgia Cates' webpage asking if Payton should have her own book - "Yes, totally" is my vote! The story had an excellent bit of both drama and romance, which totally had me captivated and reading the book in two sittings. Also, you gotta love those twists that you don't see coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    So, all I can say is who hasn't walked down the halls of their h

    So, all I can say is who hasn't walked down the halls of their high school (when they were in high school, admittedly it's been a while for me) and passed that one guy who is untouchable because he's from the other side of the tracks, but oh so hot? Jessie, Jessie, Jessie, my-my what have we here :) The great thing about this bad boy, under all that tough guy exterior is someone who really cares. And all that caring doesn't detract from his Alpha maleness. Claire, for me at first was frustrating, but I think she was a product of her place in society. As the story goes on we begin to see the real Claire, the one that is buried beneath the stereotypical popular chick. Going Under is a great book to just step out of real, messy life for a bit and enter someone else's mess- but who gets a happy ending :) Very enjoyable, at times very touching. Definitely a read to check out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Jessie Boone is a bad boy. He's from the wrong side of town, cov

    Jessie Boone is a bad boy. He's from the wrong side of town, covered in tattoos, is poor, and has a bad home life. The one thing he is good at is football. He needs a scholarship to get out of the mess of a life he's been living. Jessie has transferred to another school on the good side of town, where he is challenging the current quarterback for the starting position. Forbes Henderson isn't going to back down. He tries taking Jessie out of the running, but Jessie won't back down. He retaliates by planning to steal Forbes' girlfriend Claire.

    Claire Deveraux is the perfect daughter, student, cheerleader, friend, and girlfriend. When Jessie starts pursuing Claire, she decides to turn the tables. What Claire doesn't expect is to actually fall for the guy. He's crude and totally inappropriate, but when Claire gets paired up with him in class, she begins to see the real Jessie. Jessie starts to abandon his plan for revenge against Forbes when he really does fall for Claire.

    Once Jessie and Claire make the decision to pursue the relationship, Jessie's past comes back to haunt him. He has to make the decision to let Claire go and put her in harm's way or follow his heart.

    My Take:
    OH MY GOSH! I just don't even know where to start with this book. It's SOOOOO much more than I expected. I don't mean to be all fangirl about it, but seriously...this is the best book I've read in a while (and I've been lucky to read some really good books lately)! When I first read the synopsis of the book for the blog tour, I thought it was definitely up my alley. I never expected it to have so much depth to the story. This is not just some opposites attract kind of story.

    We meet Jessie first and right away I knew I would fall in love with him. I have somewhat of a weak spot for the bad boy I suppose. The thing is though that Jessie is smart, has tremendous athletic ability, responsible, wants to be better, and has faith for a better future. Despite the negative and violent life he's been exposed to, Jessie is able to overcome the adversity.

    Then we meet Claire. I'll admit that in the beginning of the story, I was somewhat indifferent to her. Yes, she's cute, smart, perfect in every way, but as the story develops you see that she's much more sincere. Claire's rich and has parents that fully support her, but she has a background story that surprised me a bit. I love that she was able to see the real Jessie and that she decides to follow her heart regardless of what her friends and family may think. So, ultimately, I ended up LOVING Claire.

    I have to mention Payton, who is Claire's best friend. She nearly stole the show for me. Payton is an absolute RIOT! Her personality reminds me so much of myself. She values her friendship with Claire and I love that she supported Claire even when she had her doubts about Jessie. She trusted that Claire would make the right decision.

    As I said before, I just can't say enough good things about the story. There were so many surprises as the story developed, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was much more complex than what I originally expected. I laughed and cried on the same page! As summer approaches, this book would be a perfect beach/poolside read. I couldn't put the book down. I HAD to finish it in one sitting. Adults and YA will connect with this story. Beautifully done! This book is going in my re-reads and favorites for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Awesome

    AMAZING BOOK BUY IT ITS WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Love it love it!

    This was a great book. I love that it was not a series that seems to be all everyone writes now which are great but i love it when its just one book and this book was awesome it had a great storyline and great characters. I loved the ending so good. I highly recommend this book to people who love a good romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I couldn't even finish it. And that's saying a lot.

    I couldn't even finish it. And that's saying a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    MOVIE THEATER

    NOW SHOWING:THE ATTACK OF THE 50FT WOMEN FROM MARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Enjoyed!

    I really enjoyed! Good characters and story, very real. Neither were too stubborn, just real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Cute story

    I hate when people give self published books bad ratings for editing or size. There's a reason the book is so cheap, if want a higher quality, longer, properly edited book then go spend the 10+ dollars on a book sold in stores as well as online. People buy .99 cent books then complain because its short and has editing mistakes, well I hate to break it to ya but "you get what you pay for."

    There were slow parts but I love the overall story and the love that the main characters had. I read it in a few hours and it was a nice relaxing read for the afternoon. I would buy more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3