Customer Reviews for

Going Under

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “GOING UNDER is my favorite book in the series so far. It had everything I wanted.” ~Under the Covers

    First of all, I’m totally biased in regards to this story because I’ve been wanting Gage to get his HEA from the very first book of the series. He’s the good boy that’s really sort of a bad boy, that I couldn’t get enough of. And GOING UNDER didn’t disappoint. This story was not what I was expecting but it delivered on everything I wanted.

    I know a lot of people have the bad habit of picking up books out of order, but I find that in this world and with the continuous storyline, you’d do better reading in order so you are not confused. CHAOS BURNING set the stage for the events in this book. Our Others are basically dealing with the aftermath of the Magister and the fact that now humans know of their existence.

    In dealing with this, Meriel has to hire a PR to take care of the many concerns regarding humans and their fear of Others. Enter our heroine, PR guru Molly Ryan. She’s dealt with her own issues due to the outing of Others. She lost her job because of it and now has the opportunity to make a difference using the skills that she’s best at. She’s a tough chick, not afraid to wear the pants in a mans world and go head to head with people. She knows what she wants and what needs to be done to reach the desired goals. That to me is so important, because I HAVE to love the heroine. And especially Gage’s heroine, couldn’t have done better.

    Then, there’s Gage. He was enamored from the get-go. Ahhh yes, how the mighty have fallen. Tough on the outside but a smoking hot teddy bear on the inside. He didn’t struggle as much as I thought he would to let Molly in, even if it was physical to begin with. Their chemistry was perfect and sizzled off the pages. Their romance was perfectly entwined with the rest of the story and not once did I feel as if it was putting the brakes on the flow of the drama around them.

    Gage, being such an alpha male, has to deal with having a female that needs to be out on the frontlines. There are times she will be exposed to danger. And he just has to be able to deal with that as best as he can without restricting her. And I love that he can.

    GOING UNDER is my favorite book in the series so far. It had everything I wanted. A great storyline, a lot of forward movement in the world and developments, a new fresh storyline, and the main couple was extraordinaire. I really can’t wait for the next installment!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    You fuck

    T

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    So I saw this on NetGalley and requested immediately. Hey, it's

    So I saw this on NetGalley and requested immediately. Hey, it's Lauren Dane and I've enjoyed most of her books. However, I failed to notice that this is the third book in an on-going series. Nevertheless, I bought the other books in the series, since my series OCD demanded I do so before starting this one.

    I am glad that I took the time to do that. Although Lauren Dane does give a bit of back story of what happened in the last book, I don't think that it was enough for me to read it as a stand alone book.

    The blurb does a great job of explaining what the story is about so I'll go directly to my review. Although I've enjoyed most of the books by Lauren Dane, it seems that her paranormal ones just don't mesh well with my taste. The paranormal ones I've read have only gotten a 3 stars rating or lower. And for this title my rating has not changed.

    I'm going to this one a bit differently, because I am stumped in what to say.

    Pros

    - Great character development with Molly. I felt that Gage needed a bit more work though.

    - Wonderful account of the struggles The Others have had to face since their 'outing' to humans.

    - Good development and resolution to the plot.

    - Near perfect pace to the story. Although it dragged in places, Lauren Dane managed to maintain the pace of the story enough for me to not let it affect my enjoyment of the story or my rating.

    Cons

    - Too much sex. Yes, I said that. I just found that some of the sex scenes added nothing to the story and didn't fit the characters personalities as portrayed in the book.

    - The romance and the plot didn't flow seamlessly. To me it felt like the romance was added as an afterthought, rather than being a part of the story as a whole. This wouldn't matter so much if the book wasn't marketed as a Paranormal Romance.

    - Gage got on my nerves with his reluctance to admit that was in love with Molly. His admission of love came to late, in my opinion. This just served me to distance myself from him, which made it harder to connect with him fully. Not something I like to happen with my main characters.

    All in all, Going Under is a good, enjoyable paranormal book with a little romance thrown into the mix to appease the romantic in me, but not enough for me to fall in love with it.

    I received this title from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange of my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Robin

    Chows down on a cheeseburger.(yum!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    RESTURANT-SKY TOWER GRILL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Love Lauren Dane, love this series

    This is a full length book, not an ebook novella. I would definitely read them in order as previous happenings are key to what happens in this book. This series is the first witch/magick one I've read but it just wet my appetite to check out the Witch's Knot series

    You just can't go wrong with a Lauren Dane book. Her women are smart and strong and sexy and the men are true Alpha Males. Hot, hot, hot! Her diologue is witty or funny or poignant. I laugh, I cry and I get horny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Love her work

    follow her work and read everything she pens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Lacy!!!!

    Click related titles of this book then go to the first on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    To ema

    Omg how the fu.ck does a ten year old kid know about se.x! Thus world is cmeing to a end!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    From emma

    Yeah. Ok whatever....u had se.x with a 10 year old btw.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Going Under is book three in a series, but I didn't feel lost when reading it! (Although I do wish I had the background of books 1 & 2, as well as the pleasure of reading them!) The Others (witches, weres, vampires) have been outed and the world knows they exist. In true 'normal human' fashion, there is intense fear and unfound hatred for the Others by many, from their neighbors to top political figures. The hate crimes against the Others is escalating, their voices are not being heard. They face possible confinement in camps, stripped of their rights as citizens.

    Molly Ryan was raised in the human world, outside of the Other clans, and never really related to being a witch until she was railroaded out from the PR company she had built. Molly takes a position as the PR rep in Seattle with the Owen Clan, a large and vocal advocate group of Others for Others. She is good at what she does, almost too good, because for every person she brings to the Others' side, she gains an enemy who wants to see her dead. Molly is the ultimate voice of reason in the chaos, able to rise to any occasion without losing her cool in public.

    Gage, head of security for the Owen Clan, becomes Molly's almost full time bodyguard. He is obsessed with her safety and is becoming obsessed with her as a woman. he is the ultimate good 'bad boy'...nothing overt, just a quiet strength and way of carrying himself.

    What Molly and Gage find together is an attraction that is built on both respect and the obvious physical attraction they have for each other.

    What drew me in and held me was that, even with all the violence and hate, it was still a mellow read. The ability for the main characters not to fly off the handle or go over the top was refreshing! Okay, there was some steam, but, not too hot to handle! Lauren Dane has a gift with putting it all together and telling a great story!

    This edition was provided by NetGalley and Berkley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book and it's series! I like how it connects with tw

    I love this book and it's series! I like how it connects with two of Lauren's other series and that we got to see the connection thru favorite characters. Well written, intense and exciting I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Lauren Dane is definitely one of my favorite authors. I'm always

    Lauren Dane is definitely one of my favorite authors. I'm always not~so~patiently waiting for her next release. Bound By Magick is a favorite series of mine and it continues to get better with each new release.  I LOVED Meriel and Dominic in Heart Of Darkness and I ABSOLUTELY ADORED Simon and Lark in Chaos Burning (Chaos Burning is by far my favorite of the series and Simon and Lark are one of my all-time favorite couples~Lark has to be one of my all-time favorite heroines~just love her character.) So you can imagine how excited I was to finally get to read more about Gage~who had been in the background since the series began. 




    This is where my review gets hard for me to write because Going Under fell short of the mark for me. I didn't feel that spark between Gage and Molly that I felt with the other couples even though I liked them both so much. (Well, Gage did act like an asshat to Molly through most of the book and I wanted to kick him in his junk!! He was so nice to everyone else but her.) I'm not sure what the problem was for me but I just couldn't connect with them. The writing was great as the norm with a Lauren Dane book, so I am sure that the problem is all me. I plan to re~read again at a later date to see if I still feel the same way. 




    Oh...Gage...The way he treated Molly and how back and forth he was with her had me not liking him all that much in this book. He would be thinking sweet things about her but instead of saying them he would say something insulting and mean. Which took me by surprise because I loved him in the previous two books and he didn't treat the other characters in the book like this. He was so nice to everyone else. I just couldn't understand why he treated Molly that way. And it took him a long time to redeem himself in my eyes~luckily he finally did. I guess I had a love/hate relationship with Gage. Oh...I LOVED Molly's character so much. She was strong and vulnerable at the same time. I loved her ability to charm people and she was so smart and funny and feisty. I so wish I had her character's ability to talk to people. lol  I loved how she knew exactly the right thing to say in any situation and I also loved how she dealt with all the conflicting personalities. My heart broke for her in all that she had to endure. And when Gage wasn't being an asshat, I loved how he supported, protected and loved her. I loved Fain and cannot wait for his book. I am hoping to see more of Simon and Lark and also Gage and Molly and how their relationship progressed from the end of this book. 




    With all the twists and turns in this story I am so looking forward to what Lauren Dane has in mind for the next book. I cannot wait to see what happens next. There was such pure evil in this book that at times it was difficult to read, especially the horrible things that happened to the Others just because they were not human. This unique and complicated world Lauren Dane has created for Bound by Magick along with the interesting and lovable mixture of characters, just blows me away every time I return. And is exactly why I continue to look forward to returning. So even though I was a little disappointed in this book, I was still entertained and so look forward to more. 




    4 out of 5 rating!!




    ***ARC provided by Lauren Dane. Thank you!!  Mariann at Belle's Book Bag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    It was a delicious  read I couldn't put down. The way the author

    It was a delicious  read I couldn't put down. The way the author has drawn us into a world where vampires, werewolves and withes are running lose all over the world and the troubles they face against prejudiced and scared dumb humans really makes you side with them. I loved this book and I find myself waiting impatiently for the next installment!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1