Customer Reviews for

Going Under

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I give Going Under 5 huge, larger than life stars and I need a d

    I give Going Under 5 huge, larger than life stars and I need a drink, like a really big one (with an umbrella or something) but like straight vodka. Yeah. But, before I indulge..
    Every now and then I read a book that strikes a cord so deep that I have to get my review out as soon as the last word is read. Going Under was one of those books. I cannot eat, sleep, or pay my dogs any attention until I address what an AMAZING and thought provoking book this is. It has the power to change the way you look at books and S. Walden has the ability to make the outside world disappear and allow only her fictional story exist. I have to share this read with all of you before I can move on with my life. Truthfully. So here goes.
    From the very beginning I knew this book would be emotional and raw. I knew from the heavy subject matter that things were about the get crazy. Brooke approaches her plan for revenge head-on and as a reader it was an unforgettable journey through her approach and her self discovery. The shift in beginning Brooke to end Brooke is massive. So much happens between the pages, some of which I still can't wrap my head around, it's jarring and heartbreaking but at the same time it was kind of perfect, especially in the end. It's the kind of book you find yourself mad at, screaming at and rereading to make sure you got it right; then you find yourself shell shocked and numb. I was a lunatic throughout this book, looney I tell you. Totally murmuring to myself and stuff. Yeah. It'll do that to you.
    The complexity of the characters and their well thought through (on the authors part) their lives, flaws, and everything in between is what kept me going back in for more. I couldn't get enough of Ryan, I was intrigued and disgusted by the swimmers, and fascinated with this mission that Brooke was on. She was a firecracker determined to set things right. Her plight was a redeeming quality, even when in the beginning she didn't have many of those to me. Her strength and pure force was something I never saw coming. I liked Brooke, throughout the entire book I liked her (even when I didn't) but she really transforms before your eyes. What was sometimes a juvenile story becomes a lot more.
    Ryan was without a doubt my favorite part of this book. He's mysterious and oh so adorable; he was this complicated puzzle that I tried desperately to figure out before Brooke had the chance but I had nothing, I was stumped. And, I'm so happy for that. The relationship he builds with Brooke is intense and they become cute and comfortable together. I was lost in the passion I had for this book, which ranged from every feeling known to man S. Walden's writing elicited them all. Her twisting and turning events also kept me focused on this book (and nothing else, no really, I don't think I've done anything around the house since I started reading it).""You don't know me from Adam," I said to her. She reached for a paper towel. "But that guy you're with is bad news.""Huh?""That guy you're with is-""No no," she interuped. "What you said before. What does that mean?""What are you talking about?""That thing you said about Adam. Does Adam like me?" she asked, her face flushing a rosy pink.Dear God.S. Walden is kind of hilarious, even in a non-hilarious setting. This book is drama-filled. But, it's well rounded in that we have plenty of opportunities to giggle and grin at her writing as we're allowing our tears to dry. I'd say she's an equal opportunity writer, in that she gives us all a reason to love her; so whether you want to laugh or become emotionally spent, she's your girl. And really, while the entire book has a serious undertone most of the actual suspense and drama occurs more towards the end, there's some deeply seeded things throughout but I fell apart at the end. :) Just sayin.
    An emotionally jarring, discussion starting, thought provoking, tear jerking book that I believe is a must read. It will sucker punch and blind you, no lie, but in its craziness and brutal force it will open your eyes while breaking your heart. Here's my prediction, this book will rock the charts. It will be big, huge, gi-freaking-normous and you're all going to enjoy it, every bleeping second!
    While I loved this book, I loved the tears I shed and the emotionally draining yet satisfying story; it is not a story for everyone. It is dark and rough, and it is a topic that not everyone is comfortable reading about. There are plenty of happy moments and some cute and hilarious ones but it handles some intense subjects. I do believe it sheds light in dark places and is overall a story of survival and standing up for oneself. It's a ray of sunshine in a dark corner, and S. Walden did a remarkable job!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Amazing

    Words cannot describe how emotional i feel right now. The book was so good. Definnitly worth the tears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    This book is definitely interesting to say the least I loved it

    This book is definitely interesting to say the least I loved it in a way where I feel kinda dirty...

    Going Under tells the story of Brooklyn, a girl who vows for revenge over the group of rapists who were (indirectly) responsible for the death of her friend, Beth. This book is definitely interesting to say the least I loved it in a way where I feel kinda dirty... It's definitely a story that displays the personality of a friend who's messed up, but still plots revenge as an act of guilt mixed with loyalty.

    Before dying, Beth (Brooke's friend) caught her boyfriend cheating on her with her best friend.

    I really think that this story is one of those that are more on the "erotic" side, but I hesitate to call it that because it really isn't THAT erotic. It's more "sexual content" that is easily skipable without being too confusing.

    I can honestly say that a few parts made me go like this:
    Buggy eyed kitty!
    Those parts didn't seem to faze me that much though. I don't usually read New Adult, but I had an easy time connecting with Brooklyn. It was because of her strong character and her intentions.
    I really liked her as a character and though I started out hating her, I quickly moved to forgive her and even went as far as to pity her a bit. I don't want to give away the ending, but what she did to avenge Beth also costed her things.
    She was so brave.
    I also have to say that this book is one of those that can get either bad or good reviews. It's got a LOT of rape elements so if you are a rape victim, please don't read this. I really don't think it's a good idea.
    But S Walden has a way of writing this book so I didn't even want to stop, even though there was part of me that thought it might've been wrong to read stories with "these" kinds of elements. The other element that made me kind of wary was probably the swearing. On one hand, the swearing of teens was spot on. Middle/High school is going DOWN the drain. But on the other hand it made me uncomfortable in some parts because there was just SO MUCH!

    The story went by fast enough so it made sense, but it didn't drag on. A part of me just wishes it was softer, but that's the (old) adult in me talking. The 13 yea old girl liked it, even though I COMPLETELY skipped anything sexual in this story.

    I would reccomend this book to mature girls who I think can read it and actually understand the in-depth sickness of the story, rather than just going "eww!!". That really isn't the point of the novel and that wasn't what I got from it.

    As lame as this sounds, I got a lesson from the novel that (sadly) has happened. Girls (and even guys too) are getting raped and this novel is a major dose of reality that some people actually need. I wouldn't say that I need it, but I do want to say that it's an amazing story of the battles that can be found in high school and how one girl can make a gigantic difference.

    I sound so lame!

    So, I really like this novel. And the coolest part is that me and S Walden have been exchanging emails! One of the characters in her novel is my real name (take a guess?) and Summer is actually the direct translation of my real (middle) name! AAHH! How awesome is that?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Love

    I absolutely loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    highly recommended

    This story touches on a very tough subject, rape. A powerful read, strong content though and not for younger readers at all. It is all about regaining your power.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Anonymous

    Wow! This book was really good. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Despite Brooke's attempts at humour to obscure her grief, from t

    Despite Brooke's attempts at humour to obscure her grief, from the book's first chapter in which she is attending her best friend's funeral, it is evident that Going Under will challenge its reader.
    Beth has committed suicide, and though Brooke feels guilt because she cheated with Beth's boyfriend, she also knows that Beth was carrying a secret far deeper which was the real reason for her death.
    What follows is the story of Brooke's quest to seek revenge for Beth and the reader discovers the frightening lengths she will go to in order to capture those responsible. At times we see Brooke slip into a depression and almost a hysteria as she becomes obsessed by the FSL and their activities.
    As the reader is aware who the group is and the appalling acts they are capable of I think we always fear for Brooke and those around her.
    Going Under is candid, confrontational and emotional, yet S Walden has obviously researched her topics brilliantly, and I personally felt her need to explain herself in her author's note was unnecessary. I definitely felt challenged by this story but I was also unable to put the book down and I thank S Walden for my review copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Story That Will Captivate You! Where to start this revi

    Amazing Story That Will Captivate You!

    Where to start this review? This book was an amazing shock to my senses. I mean I was so caught up in the story about brokenness, rape, death, friendships, and everything in between. This is such an amazing story about one girls journey to right a wrong that was done to her best friend.




    We get to meet Brooke who is in her senior year of high school and all she wants to do is move on from her past and stay out of trouble. This seems like it should be easy peasy but Brooke will soon learn some things are easy in life and some are not. Trouble finds her and all she can do is roll with it. As Brooke is gearing up for a great year she discovers a secret club at school that is connected with the death of her best friend. At first Brooke is outraged by then revenge sets in and she decides that she will get revenge and put this little club out of commission so they don't hurt another girl. See the club members have sex with the girls and rate them and then discard them like they never ever existed.




    Once Brook starts on her plans for revenge against the boys she is met with a lot of fight on their part because they are determined not to let her destroy the club or out them to anyone. Along the way Brook also starts to fall for a guy and that complicates things because she never thought she would fall for this guy. But Brooke is determined to take this club down and no matter what she will stop at nothing to get justice for her friend.




    Can Brook succeed in taking down the club or will they take her down? Will she be able to give her heart over to the one she loves?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Five stars!

    Must read. I could not put this book down. A must read. Word cannot describe how i feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Annoymous

    Intense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Warning: this is a story that contains controversial topics incl

    Warning: this is a story that contains controversial topics including rape.

    Going Under tells the story of Brooke, a high school senior trying to learn to deal with the guilt of of betraying her best friend Beth, shortly before Beth commits suicide. Brooke blames herself, but she knows there is more to the story and she vows to avenge her friend's death at her own expense to assuage her own guilt and find peace.

    In her quest for justice, Brooke finds love and discovers secrets behind Beth's suicide that are beyond what she could have ever comprehended. She realizes that exposing secrets may bring about consequences more dangerous and sinister than what she is prepared to handle. Brooke meets Ryan, someone who is wise beyond his years but seems to be harboring deep secrets that could possibly shed some light on what happened to Beth.

    This story runs the gamut of emotions - betrayal, guilt, shame, conviction, love, resilience and forgiveness. It teaches a lesson (or maybe several of them) while evoking real emotion and documenting the painful process of healing. The story is told in the voice of a teenager, so some of the behavior may seem juvenile, but is appropriate for the setting.

    I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a deeply touching and moving story that contains elements of mystery and romance. The author was able to evoke intense and gut wrenching emotions that were authentic, and I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Best book of all time!

    I really don't write reviews because i'd rather just read them but I had to share my feelings of this book. Going under is the best book I have ever read and that I think I will ever read! I try to think of things that could be improved or things I didn't like about it but I can't. I how it touched the subject of rape because its so important! And omg ryan... I loved him he was by far my favorite character. He was so kind and gentle and loving! Gretchen was so funny and brooke..I loved her she was strong when she needed to be but we also got to see her break down like a normal human being! I cant wait to read more from s. Walden!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    WOW!

    Read this book in less than day! Amazing writing, amazing story! Made me laugh, cry and want to beat up and murder many in the middle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Great read!

    I definitely recommend this book. I loved the writing style and although it was uncomfortable to read due to an intense subject matter, I was hooked and could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Wow

    This is story that will make you cringe at times and will also have you turning the pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Love

    I absolutley loved this book. I couldnt put it down and did need tissues at some points. You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. If you

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. If you are looking for a light, happy read this is not it. However, if you want to be pulled in and go through all the emotions with the main character Brooklyn, this is the book for you. I will warn you, if you have ever been a victim of a sexual assault you may want to skip this one. It takes you through from complete heartbreak to closure at the ending. One of the best books I have read this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Beautifly written

    The story touched my heart. A sad story about overcoming something horrible and come out the other side a bettter person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    WOW

    Perfectly written, amazingly moving and did not disappoint!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    This book was amazing!!

    This book was amazing!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2