Customer Reviews for

Going Vintage

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Going Vintage is a sweet, heartfelt story that will leave reader

Going Vintage is a sweet, heartfelt story that will leave readers wanting more of Mallory and her lists. 

Mallory’s life is great. She’s got a great boyfriend and never feels alone. Until she opens Jeremy’s computer to discover that she’s not the only girl in his life....
Going Vintage is a sweet, heartfelt story that will leave readers wanting more of Mallory and her lists. 

Mallory’s life is great. She’s got a great boyfriend and never feels alone. Until she opens Jeremy’s computer to discover that she’s not the only girl in his life. Heartbroken, Mallory swears off technology and pines for the simpler times of 1962 when her grandmother was a teen. 
Leavitt created a smart and witty character in Mallory. Her voice is refreshing. Unlike some characters, Mallory’s eclectic taste in clothes and even sports bobbleheads give the character more depth than I expected. I really enjoyed her quirks.

I also applaud Leavitt for the family dynamic. Mallory’s parents are happily married, and her little sister comes across wise beyond her years. It’s nice to see a novel explore the family in such a way that makes you want to become a part of this group of unique and fun people. 
The plot flows nicely, and the novel is a quick, entertaining read.

Recommendation: Fans of Sarah Dessen and Miranda Kenneally should definitely add this to their must-read list. 

posted by Read4YA on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mallory is completely smitten with her boyfriend Jeremy, but whe

Mallory is completely smitten with her boyfriend Jeremy, but when she discovers he’s been having a long-distance, virtual love affair with some skank-ho with the screen name BubbleYum, she breaks up with him and humiliates him on Friendspace. A few days later, while cle...
Mallory is completely smitten with her boyfriend Jeremy, but when she discovers he’s been having a long-distance, virtual love affair with some skank-ho with the screen name BubbleYum, she breaks up with him and humiliates him on Friendspace. A few days later, while cleaning out her grandmother’s house, Mallory discovers a list of things her grandmother hoped to accomplish her Junior year of high school. This makes Mallory wonder what it would have been like to live in the 60′s, where things like being Pep Club secretary, making your own dress for homecoming and hosting a fancy dinner party are at the top of your “to-do” list. Mallory decides to find out. She’ll give up all technology (since it was at the root of her heartache anyway), dress in vintage clothing and try and accomplish everything on her grandmother’s list before homecoming. It seems easy enough, but Mallory didn’t plan on Jeremy being so clingy…. or hitting it off with Jeremy’s cousin, Oliver. Is she strong enough to stick to her laurels, or will these boys throw her off course?

Mallory was a cute and determined character. She seemed fairly average — not overly popular, but not a loner either. Her best friend is her younger sister, Ginnie, and while she has friends at school, there’s no one she’s especially close to. This is mainly because she’s been making out with Jeremy non-stop for the last year and hasn’t had time for friends.

Ginnie was cute and spunky and a lot more direct and outgoing than Mallory. She plays soccer and is good at pretty much everything she tries.

The two boys, Jeremy and his cousin Oliver, both serve their purpose to the story, but neither were particularly memorable.

The writing perfectly suits the story. Mallory is obsessed with making lists, and the book is peppered with them. Several of them made me laugh. The book is told from Mallory’s POV, and the voice was pitch-perfect. The story was light and cute, and the pace fit the book.

All in all, this was a cute book (in case I haven’t used that word enough). There was nothing wrong with it;  it just wasn’t for me. It’s light and fluffy, but for me, not overly engaging. I liked the idea of “going vintage”. I don’t think I could do it, even though I did manage to live  without cell phones, home PC’s and video games when I was in grade school.

Don’t get me wrong. This isn’t a bad book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. It will definitely appeal to those who like their contemporary reads light, their characters spunky and their romance innocent.

posted by OtotheD on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Going Vintage is a sweet, heartfelt story that will leave reader

    Going Vintage is a sweet, heartfelt story that will leave readers wanting more of Mallory and her lists. 

    Mallory’s life is great. She’s got a great boyfriend and never feels alone. Until she opens Jeremy’s computer to discover that she’s not the only girl in his life. Heartbroken, Mallory swears off technology and pines for the simpler times of 1962 when her grandmother was a teen. 
    Leavitt created a smart and witty character in Mallory. Her voice is refreshing. Unlike some characters, Mallory’s eclectic taste in clothes and even sports bobbleheads give the character more depth than I expected. I really enjoyed her quirks.

    I also applaud Leavitt for the family dynamic. Mallory’s parents are happily married, and her little sister comes across wise beyond her years. It’s nice to see a novel explore the family in such a way that makes you want to become a part of this group of unique and fun people. 
    The plot flows nicely, and the novel is a quick, entertaining read.

    Recommendation: Fans of Sarah Dessen and Miranda Kenneally should definitely add this to their must-read list. 

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I have had my eye on this book for a while. It was so cute!! I l

    I have had my eye on this book for a while. It was so cute!! I loved the creative storyline. Getting rid of all technology in todays world? That would be nearly impossible, and we saw how hard it was in the book. It was a really cute idea though, and I loved being able to watch it. 
    Oliver was the sweetest. I am obsessed with him. He joked with her when she needed it, and was sweet and a good listener when she needed it. He was so unexpected to Mallory, but turned out to be just what she needed. 
    I loved Mallory's sister and grandma. They really helped keep the story interesting as it went along. There was a lot of family drama going on. It was cool to see how well it was mixed in with everything else. 
    The ending. I have read quite a few reviews where people have said that they don't think the book provided closure. I however have to disagree. I don't want to give anything away, but I think the way the book ended was perfect. It manages to still be sweet and hopeful, but strong and capable. While at the same time, it is just open ended enough for a possible sequel??? I know I would definitely read this series if she wrote more! 

    I received this book for free in return for an honest review. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Going Vintage was a delightful read full of characters I wanted

    Going Vintage was a delightful read full of characters I wanted to be friends with, except maybe Jeremy.  Mallory was a quirky,often humorous character that gives up technology to go back to a time when things had to have been better, 1962 to be exact.  She discovers a list of goals her grandmother wrote and decides to make them her own.  On this journey, she discovers that life isn't always what it seems, learns a few things about herself and meets a boy who might be just close to perfect..  I loved her sister Ginnie and how close  they were and her relationship with her parents. Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down.  A refreshing contemporary with great characters, clean language and sweet romance that doesn't define the whole story.  It is so much more than that.  Loved it !

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Amazing

    This book is great if you have ever heard the song "Automatic" by Carrie Underwood, that is like the story of the book. Like they need to make a movie out of this book it is so amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Oh my friggin¿ word. This is exactly the YA novel I¿ve been wait

    Oh my friggin’ word. This is exactly the YA novel I’ve been waiting for. No, it’s what I’ve subtly, by means of critical and somewhat snarky reviews, been begging for. Yes, my dear bookworm friends, it has finally arrived. Allow me the opportunity to relish this moment. Deep breath. Okay, I’m probably going to say it more than once, but here goes: this novel here – Going Vintage, written by the exceptionally talented Lindsey Leavitt, is glorious YA perfection! I feel kinda giddy saying it, but it is the plain and simple truth. This book was amazing. It has everything!

    Before I break into song and dance, allow me two minutes to just give it to you straight without any frills, bells or whistles. THIS is what you should read next, no matter whether you’re a tween, teen, young adult, new adult, middle-aged bored housewife or smack bang in the middle of your golden years. You’ll love this book because you should and because if you don’t, you are soulless. There, I said it. It has characters that are so spectacularly real and authentic it breaks my heart that they’re only fictional. It has a story with a heartbeat that just wrenches all the feels out of you. But the real deal breaker for me – like it is with every rom com I read - is that it is insanely, ridiculously funny! I can’t sum it up any better than that, but still I’ll try.

    I loved, adored, worshipped practically every character in this book. Mallory has one of the strongest female voices I’ve ever come across in YA romance and I felt an almost instant connection to her. She is hilarious, realistic, curious, intelligent, insightful, decisive, and emotionally strong. She’s not popular, but neither is she unpopular, and she doesn’t even try to fit in because that would mean not being her true self. I was in awe of how she dealt with her boyfriend’s betrayal and their eventual break-up. Going Vintage is not only a story about surviving betrayal and the end of a relationship, but it’s also about getting over it and moving on by whichever means necessary. It’s a romance without all the mush and without the constant and never-ending make-out and swoon sessions so prevalent in most teen novels. Even though very little descriptions are offered as to the characters’ physical appearances, I had no trouble sketching them in my mind’s eye as they came alive on each and every page of this magnificently riveting book. The most redeemable quality of Going Vintage for me is the absolutely no frills, no fuss, unpredictable and surprising ending which made me bump my fist in the air and proudly shout a triumphant, “oh yeah”!

    I just have to say it again: this work of art had everything in it that I’ve been begging to see in a flipping phenomenal YA novel. It has pizzazz and all around goodness and rainbows and butterflies. I even liked the cheating boyfriend because the author didn’t make him into an arrogant bad-ass, but just a confused boy (who also confused the heck out of me because I wanted to dislike him, but alas…). And no hot blooded female reading this book will be able to resist Oliver’s charm. I’ll bet my last Orea cookie on that. Plus, Mallory’s grandmother is a riot and a sweetheart all in one; not forgetting Mallory’s wise-for-her-age little sister whose larger than life personality cannot be ignored, and Mallory’s awkward, but quirky parents, and the close relationship Mallory has with all these people. Even her weird friends found a spot in my heart.

    Going Vintage is a book I’ll read again and again just to make sure I didn’t miss a thing the first time around. It has a fantastic story that would make older readers (much older readers) reminisce about being a teen in the sixties, and it would have younger readers heaving a sigh of relief that they live in the era they do. Imagine a life – even just two weeks - without cyber social networking platforms, no cell phones, no internet, no GPS and no microwaves. Well, let me not say anymore as I’m on the verge of including spoilers because I have so much more I want to say. My point is, folks, I want you to read this book. But if you still think this is not for you, then at least get it for your daughter or granddaughter. Fans of books by Meg Cabot, Eileen Cook and Claire LaZebnik will get a kick out of Going Vintage. I, for one, can’t wait for this author’s next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Write more books Lindsey

    I seriously hope your working on something your a great author i reccomend it to anyone and everyone

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Best Book Ever!

    I love this book so much, it's hilarous, sweet and suprisingly had the best fictional family I've ever seen. Great book, couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    AMAZING

    AMAZING

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Fast.Witty.Refreshing.LOVED IT!

    Mallory's social life is about to take an unexpected turn when she first, finds out her boyfriend is cyber-cheating on her, swears off technology, then tries to accomplish ever goal on an out-of-date checklist. The checklist includes things like joining a pep-squad, finding a boyfriend, and sewing her own homecoming dress! Amidst all of this Mallory tries to sort out her feeling for her ex and her ex's all-too-charming cousin who just so happens to be president of the pep-squad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Spelling nazi

    I hate how people just put amazing and dont tell why its amazing and dont get me going on people who do not check spelling or grammar i just cant stand it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1