Customer Reviews for

The Going to Bed Book

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Sandra Boynton At Her Best

This book is a truly warm and fun bedtime story. Our family has many of Sandra Boynton's books, but this one is probably our favorite, especially at bedtime. It's read over and over again.

posted by Readingmom33 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

NO ACTIONS

Based on last review I purchased book. Mine does not have any actions with it . The story was very short. Disappointed!

posted by bkwormIA on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Sandra Boynton At Her Best

    This book is a truly warm and fun bedtime story. Our family has many of Sandra Boynton's books, but this one is probably our favorite, especially at bedtime. It's read over and over again.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sandra Boynton does it again.

    Our little grandaughter loves this book. Sandra Boynton writes terrific books for kids. Her books are the ones she grabs when she wants us to read to her. She's 2 1/2 now. The bellybutton book is another excellent one. I can't say enough good things about her books. They are for kids and well written.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    His all time favorite!

    This book was one of the main reason I purchased the Nook when I did. The interactive feature for kids. My 4 y/o grandson LOVES this book. EVERY time I see him this is the book he wants the Nook to read to him. Its such a sweet book. Love when the book "fogs up"

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    BED TIME MADE EASY

    My 2-year-old daughter LOVES this book and has almost committed it to memory! Getting her to settle down for pre-bed story time is easy with this book and its colorful pictures and lyrical story. The board book style lets her take it to bed with her to read to her teddy bear!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    great bedtime routine

    I was looking for a good bedtime stories to read for my 18month old son. I have Goodnight Moon in mind due to its very good review. But when I came across this book, I got more interested on getting this one instead. My son just loved looking at the colorful drawing while I read the beautiful rhyming texts aloud to him. I can even chant it to him if I want to make reading really fun. My son loves the 'with soap all over...they scrub-scrub-scrub', 'they brush and brush and brush their teeth', and most of all, 'they rock and rock and rock to sleep'. I guess he just like hearing repetitive words that rhyme so well. This is our first Boynton Book, and the best so far. I've seen her other books, but not as appealing as this book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I love this book

    I used to read this when i was a kid i love this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    Justins mommy loves this book

    this is great book to read to before.It flows nicely and moves at a good pace.Great for a one year old and older.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's not "Goodnight Moon", but it's WONDERFUL

    This is such a sweet, gentle story that you'll love reading over and over again. I love Sandra Boynton's illustrations and stories. It always cracks me up, in this one, where the pig hides under the stairs so he doesn't have to take a bath. Sandra Boynton entertains kids so well AND the parents! :) Love this one!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    My Kids Favorite

    I buy this book for all of my friends and family as a shower gift. I just don't think you can give a better gift than books, and this is on the top of our list, along with many other Sandra Boynton books! It's an easy to memorize book and your kids will enjoy "reading" along with you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Love it!

    I love the Sandra Boyonton books. We have almost all of them. I know buy them for baby gifts.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Brings back memories!

    This book is a wonderful and exciting story about the rituals of bedtime.
    It is easy to become immersed in it's storyline and it's characters. You can't help but become animated as you read the story to your child. It is truly a classic. I am saving "The Going to Bed Book" to read, & re-read to my children and grandchildren, it will forever be a part of my families lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    My son's favorite bedtime book for years

    Delightful, simple, silly story with child pleasing illustrations and rhymes. A lovely end to the day. We've sent one to every new baby we know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    This book is a classic in our house.

    Since our daughter was born, we have collected these board books by Sandra Boynton. When a friend has a child, it is one of the books I try to get for them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Don't have kids, but my cockatiel loves it!

    This is an all-time favorite of - not my kid - my cockatiel Chipper. You may wonder why I include it, but here's the thing: Seriously, Chipper fell in love with books as a young weanling when he saw how much I liked to read. But he's very discriminating. I've tried all kinds of board books on him. He's actually indifferent to a lot of them. But this one takes the prize, and I keep buying it for him. So if a discriminating bird likes it (enough to chew it to shreds over time), your kid will too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Sandra Boynton Does It Again

    I've picked up many of Sandra Boynton's books and this one caught my eye. It's a great bedtime story to read to your little one. I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    all about it

    The going to bed book shows kids what to do before you go to bed. And it's fiction because pigs can't take showers or rhinos pick out clothes.It's very educating and a great bedtime story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Absolutely My Favorite Children's Book!

    This is absolutely my favorite children's book. My boys are now 14 & 16 and I have never forgotten the fun we had reading this book at bedtime when they were toddlers. It didn't take them long to finish my sentences when I read it and it was a great way to get them ready for sleep. I continue to buy this book for all my friends with wee ones and I still have my original copy. I love all of Sandra Boynton books and also buy her mom calendar each year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    Great Book For Winding Down For Bed

    This is a great book to wind everyone down at bedtime. It is silly and funny and as the story comes to the end the rhyme gets slow and quiet. The illustrations are hilarious. It's not just for beditme in our house it's a favorite anytime

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Time for Bed!

    Ha! This was a great book for my youngest. It seems like such a chore sometimes...doesn't it? I got this book along with another hilarious book, Nose Pickin' (and 50 Other Ways to Tickle Your Brain!). I love to read with my kids!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    One of Our Favorites

    The Going to Bed Book makes going to bed so much fun, we could all climb aboard a pleasure boat and get ready for bed. This and Sandra Boynton's Dogs are my grandson's favorites. He 'reads' them to me! You'll love them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5