Customer Reviews for

Gold: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Ooooooh!

    JUSTIN AN' TALIA SITTIN' IN A TREE! K-I-S-S-I-N-G!!! An' den the same for Piper and Jason! Just like in the Heroes of Olympus series! Mabye. X) Shorry. I'll go away now. I take great pride in creeping people out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Talia

    How abouuuuuuut.... *looks around seeing an elegant silk blue dress that was floor length*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Silverclaw to snakefire

    Do you want me to kill him?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Ravenstar

    Amazing,but im sad cuz I COULDNT FIND PART FIVE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Cherrypaw

    Nice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Jayar

    I can't find it either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    brilliantly gripping!

    I wasn't sure Chris Cleave could top Little Bee, but Gold is a gem of a book. The characters and plot are equally enthralling, and once it was over, I longed for there to be more. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Very Highly Recommended. This is an incredible book.

    Two women athletes, one more naturally talented, the other who will win at any cost. Both have the same coach and they are training for the London Olympics, but only one can go. Pitch perfect character development; brilliant pacing (I couldn't put this book down) and a story that wrings out your heart. Intelligent writing, no sentimentality in the least (huge feat, by the way in this work) and all characters are redeemed. What could you not like? Run, do not walk to get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Fang

    *she kisses his lips.*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Sap

    Thinks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Amylee

    ????????????

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Barbi

    Mvm? What

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Jade

    Lets do individuals, or at least as far as we can get cuz i have to leave in a few minutes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Im not a guy. And im not hor.ney. so ill just LEAVE!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    ARIANNA

    Ya i like individuals.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I finished this book in about 24 hours. It was definitely a page

    I finished this book in about 24 hours. It was definitely a page turner but I found it unsatisfying. In my opinion, the characters lacked complexity and were predictable. Little Bee was not like this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text

    This free sample had absolutely no text of the book, only the title, chapter lists, etc. Disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Finished last place

    To much useless detail and whining. Bick soap opera, it's no LittleBee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Gold

    It was a little slow at first, then became a great story about friendship, betrayal, and dealing with a child's life threatening illness. I never saw track cycling until this last Olympics and dealt with the competitive nature of the athletes and sacrifices they make to achieve gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    I read this as the Olympics were beginning and it was the perfec

    I read this as the Olympics were beginning and it was the perfect read
    for that time. The characters are interesting and well-drawn, but
    Sophie is fantastic! There are lots of twists and turns in the quest
    for gold and it was well-worth my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3